We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming spot, lovely staff, breathtaking views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canaves Oia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming spot, lovely staff, breathtaking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Canaves Hotel came recommended by Small Luxury Hotels, and endorsement I take seriously as they only include well-run, unique boutiques style hotels. Canaves Oia is a great compliment to their portfolio of distinctive hotels and they take their affiliation with SLH very seriously.

The location in Oia is very nice, overlooking the caldera, but just far enough away from the daily onslaught of cruise buses to give it more privacy but a few minutes walk to be in the center of the town. From the reservation manager, Thanassis to the charming and friendly staff, I was treated as a special guest. I was traveling alone and at the last minute and they made sure that I felt welcome, safe and happy.
My last-minute reservation was accommodated with the only room available, a sign of a popular place as the season has not yet officially begun. My room was small but comfortable, plush bed and crisp sheets and wonderful view from the patio of the Caldera.
The daily breakfast was served looking out at the splendor to the Aegean Sea and volcano. The staff recommended several activities and restaurants that were hits- all of them- the favorite being a semi-private sail around the islands.
If you seek extraordinary hospitality in an idyllic setting, friendly attentive staff that makes you feel warm and welcome, this is the place in Oia.

I don't generally like to repeat trips, but this one I would do again if only to see my friends in Oia once again.

The gods and I found heaven on earth!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    71
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
614
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at the Canaves Suites in June 2013 for 3 nights. I can not say enough about how fantastic this place is. The suite was beautiful with a great view and outdoor Jacuzzi and 2 bathrooms. The restaurant was outstanding. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful.
Vassili, the food and beverage manager, was educated in the US. He extended us a warm welcome. He and his staff, in particular Dorota, George, Sergei, mario and Jenny, were all outstanding. In addition to the included breakfast, we ate two dinners there as we felt we could not do better in a restaurant along the pedestrian path. Great food, great wine and superb service. Mariana and Sophia at the front desk were wonderful.
An absolutely delightful and memorable holiday.
Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: We were in Suite # 20 which was very spacious with 2 bathrooms and a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritwick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in #38 for 4 nights in June. This was a fabulous end to our 30th anniversary vacation. We found the entire experience to be wonderful! The staff was especially helpful and attentive. Dined in the cave one night, the good was great! Loved having breakfast outside with the breathtaking view.
We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

In summary, excellent courteous and friendly staff, a pleasant view from room terraces, breakfast and pool areas. This was let down by rooms, especially bathrooms, misrepresented on the website. If you value a modern bathroom and stand alone shower, this is not the place for you.

I had booked in a Superior Double room in Canaves Oia (not Suites) part of the hotel, on the premise that these had been 'freshly renovated', and based on the photo of a modern style, renovated bathroom on the website. Upon arrival, we were informed that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite at Canaves Suites, in particular room 30. This 'suite' was a completely different style - traditional, unrenovated, loft bedroom reached by ladder-like 'stairs', and worst of all, a tiny old bathroom with a hand held shower head over a bath with shower curtain. When we informed the staff that we had specifically booked in Canaves Oia as we wanted the modern style room, we were told they were fully booked and we would have to wait until the next day to change rooms.

The next day we were moved to the Canaves Oia side of the hotel, to a (honeymoon?) suite with a jacuzzi. While this room was a lot brighter and renovated, still no sign of the modern, glass-screen shower as shown on the website. We still had a bath with a hand held shower head. This meant the entire bathroom got wet every time we showered. I felt like I was showering in a dark cave.

As a place for rest and relaxation, it is imperative that accommodation make guests feel comfortable. I did not feel this was the case here, and in all honesty, this probably tainted my overall experience in Santorini. It is unfortunate that the hotel should have such inconsistency between rooms. If they have such a wide spectrum of different rooms and bathroom styles, they need to show this on the website. Not doing so is misrepresentation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCC1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at the Canaves Oia Hotel & Suites for 4 nights in a beautiful suite with a large king size bed, outside jacuzzi, separate lounge room and outside balcony over looking the Caldera. The hotel is situated right on the edge of the cliff top and built out of the local volcanic lava. We were close to all the main shops, restaurants and little alleyways of Oia. The staff were extremely helpful and made our stay a very memorable occasion. We cannot recommend this hotel enough and is a magical place to stay. We cannot wait to return and would highly suggest you make the Canaves Oia your first choice if you are coming to Santorini.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 and we would suggest the suites!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I just came back from a wonderful experience in Santorini! I stayed in oia at canaves oia hotel for 7 nights and i rcannot describe how much me and my girlfriend enjoyed.
The goal of the trip was to get away from routine and the city! What we were looking for was realaxation, relaxation, relaxation
I think we found it at canaves, everything there is so peaceful!! The view the hotel the suite. I have not slept like that in years! I really value a good night sleep when i stay at a hotel
What i enjoyed the most at the hotel was how discrete and polite the staff was...
We chose to have room service breakfast by our balcony by the caldera!!
See you guys next year!!!

Room Tip: Get a honeymoon suite which has an amazing river like jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had 3 nights at Canaves Suites to round off a 5 week trip and just relax. It was a perfect ending to a fabulous trip. Our suite was very comfortable, clean and with uninterrupted views of the caldera. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast by the pool with its magnificent views was magic.
The location of the hotel is just right for those with heavy suitcases - its the closest good hotel in Oia that you can access by taxi, without having to lug a suitcase. There is a central walkway through Oia, and the Canaves Suites are at the beginning of that walkway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Property: Canaves Oia Hotel
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#4 Family Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically clinging to the cliff face, perched high over Santorini’s caldera, Canaves Oia Hotel has been transformed from 17th century cave houses. Consisting of two sections, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites are 100 metres apart and divided by the pretty cathedral of Oia. Each section has its own pool, pool bar, sun deck and reception and of course the same impeccable service.Enjoy breakfast on your balcony as you soak up the amazing vista. Afterwards, go into Oia and visit the Venetian castle and wander through the steep, narrow streets packed with small boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing