We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canaves oia October 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canaves Oia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
londoner
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Canaves oia October 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have just spent a week here in this amazing hotel. The view from our private patio was stunning, especially at sunset, and later on in the night, of the sights and lights of Oia twinkling in the darkness. The rooms are spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, a bottle of Santorini wine on arrival, and lovely toiletries. Breakfasts are included in the price ( at least they were as part of our Expedia booking) . The staff are ever attentive, and nothing is too much trouble for them. This is a true gem of a place in today's world, I would highly recommend this place if you want a week of peace and tranquility on a beautiful island, with lovely staff. Especially recommended for couples!
If you have ever fantasised about spending a week in the sun, just sunbathing and reading on a sun lounger, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for room 35 for best overall view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaydee_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    71
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
614
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Staying in Canavas Oia for 2 nights with unforgetable memories. I arrived late evening from Athens and rented a car for my 2 days in Santorini. I pick up the car at the ariport and drive directly to the Hotel at 19:30, the road was so dark and narrow, which took me 25mins to reach the hotel's private carpark. (which parking in Santorini is usually along the main raod).
I called the hotel and they sent the bellboy to come to the carpart with my baggages, which I think is an excellent services for a new visitor to the island, especially at night.
The suite that we stay is absolutely great, which is overlooking the Aegean Sea. The room also have a huge dinning room and a cave bedroom and a upper level with a small window which you can look at the star at night.
The services was great and friendly. The restaurant was great, which they serve both italian and local dishes with the great view, it was denfintly a enjoyable place to dine.
Overall, a great place to stay and dine in Santorini, Greece.

Room Tip: The Suite is much better room compare to Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eskchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Three wonderful days in a very special hotel. We were treated like special guests. Our room and view were just the best. We had a junior suite with a bedroom and a living area with sofa and television and a great view. Ask for Room 20! It was very easy to just stay at the hotel and enjoy our stay after our cruise. The Canaves Oia Hotel made our stay on the island wonderful. The pool area was next to the restaurant overlooking the sea. What a great place for lunch and dinner. The food was well prepared and with excellent service. Breakfast was included and also very nice. Fresh breads, fruits, eggs and meat. Fresh squeezed orange juice. Wonderful wine list. Everything you need to have a great stay. From all we saw, Oia is the nicest place to stay on Santorini. The Canaves Oia has the only elevator, taking away a lot of stair climbing which was great for my husband. We were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 20 with the most wonderful patio and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godschild333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singleton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Oia suites were amazing. We stayed there for about 6 days in the first week of April. We were on the final leg of our honeymoon and wow! Lucky we chose santorini last or we would never of left. When we got to the hotel the lovely lady walked us to our room- which we found out had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite! How lovely!

The restaurant was amazing- the food was beautiful. The breakfasts were delicious! They even got hot chocolates especially for me. For such a picture perfect hotel and place- you still feel the comfort and friendliness of being at home.

I can't recommend this hotel more. We will definitely be back!

6 months on from our holiday and I'm expecting a baby in dec. they may say Paris is the city of love but santorini sure is the island of love

Room Tip: honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannaxdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights while on our honeymoon and it was just incredible!! I did a lot of research on where to stay, and this was recommended by a travel agent as saying that although expensive, it is a great exprerience and located in a wonderful spot. I couldn't have agreed more. We were upgraded to a junior suite which had an amazing view and a balcony. When we went to the pool on our first day, we basically had it to ourselves which was really nice to have space and not feel crowded by others.

The people working there were also extremely helpful and really went above and beyond to help make our stay so enjoyable (especially Veliko).

The hotel is located about a minute walk from the main walking way through the town of Oia and about 15 minutes to walk to the end of the island to watch the sunset.

We are definitely going to stay here again in the future, can't wait to come back!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 394ericab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Santorini was the highlight of our a Greek trip and the Canaves Oia hotel was a spectacular place to experience It. The interactions with Thanassis pre booking and before we arrived were so friendly and helpful that we felt welcomed before we even got there. He really made us feel like valued guest. And the room, the terrace, the view and the overall ambience were amazing. The only tiny complaint we had was that the breakfast terrace was too sunny. (Something I'd welcome back in chilly Melbourne!) The staff were keen to hear our thoughts and did everything to make our stay a memorable one. This hotel was a delight. It feels both modern and historic. Would definitely stay again if ever in Santorini. Thank you for a wonderful stay full of memories we will treasure forever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived very early in the morning to this magnificent place, and what almost should be anticipated our room was not ready as the hotel was fully booked, and we had to wait for the guest to vacate the room before we could check into it, yes it was frustrating as we were tired after long flight, but now 4 days later, I must say that it was worthwhile waiting. The location of this hotel is in my opinion the best in the island ( we drove around). The room we stayed was impeccable , it is is being attended to twice a day, morning and evening. The staff is very friendly, and make sure to please you. The breakfast is good , and it can be improved upon. You can have it on the deck, which is overlooking the most majestic view, or can be delivered to your room at no additional cost. The pool is great, and if you contemplating coming to Santorini, and want to enjoy yourself , book yourself into this hotel, you will never regard it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MidnightinParis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
2.8 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Property: Canaves Oia Hotel
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#4 Family Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically clinging to the cliff face, perched high over Santorini’s caldera, Canaves Oia Hotel has been transformed from 17th century cave houses. Consisting of two sections, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites are 100 metres apart and divided by the pretty cathedral of Oia. Each section has its own pool, pool bar, sun deck and reception and of course the same impeccable service.Enjoy breakfast on your balcony as you soak up the amazing vista. Afterwards, go into Oia and visit the Venetian castle and wander through the steep, narrow streets packed with small boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing