We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is it possible there is heaven on earth?”
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Canaves Oia Hotel
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Is it possible there is heaven on earth?”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

What an amazing stay at the canaves oia suites. The staff couldn't be nicer for any request, big or small. The view couldn't be better of the volcano and town. The room was delightful with the outdoor hot tub. Breakfast-- delish. Lunch -- delish. Even the wine tasting in the cave was wonderful. Couldn't have hoped for better and exceeded even this well traveled travelers expectations. A must stay hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedShoesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    72
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
79
631
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We could not be happier with this hotel. The views are stunning, the rooms are lovely, service is great, food terrific.... We can't wait to come back. 25 years ago, Fira was the town to stay in Santorini. But these days, Oia has grown quite a bit and is much more upscale.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed in one of the suites at Canaves. Spacious and cool and pretty private for Santorini. Even in August I would recommend this place for couples wanting a peaceful romantic escape.

Dinner served on the poolside terrace was very good with unforgettable views over the caldera.

Above all, staff were cheerful, professional and incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy_Bell_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and i stayed 4 nights in early August. Had a wonderful time. The property is beautiful, the staff are excellent, and the location is amazing.
The property: i stayed in the honeymoon suite, which has wonderful view of the Caldera. The room itself was very grand and airy, yet cozy.
The staff: I can't stress enough how friendly and professional the staff are.
The location: Canaves Oia Suites, commands a perfect location in the beginning of the pedestrian walk in Oia. Very conveniently located without the pedestrians walks passing by your balconies.
I would like to very highly recommend this hotel and thank them for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Room twenty is the highest room with the most privacy and best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q8AHOLIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here in mid may 2014 for 3 nights and all I can say is it was fantastic! The staff treated us like royalty, we were offered an upgrade with a private heated plunge pool, we had daily breakfasts on our own balcony overlooking the greek islands and spent endless hours relaxing and exploring Oia. This place was everything I dreamed the Greek Islands to be! So white! So blue! And so luxurious!! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here two nights in a Family suite recently - it was amazing! The views are incredible everywhere you look. We had a loft BR and bath with a lower level BR and bath plus seating and a mini-fridge. Even a flat screen TV in upper level loft. Best part was the private pool and outside seating just above the restaurant and main pool. Ate room service breakfast on our private terrace each morning (included in price), room service dinner, and at the hotel restaurant for lunch. Can't say enough about the staff, the rooms, the view, even a modem/router in each room for perfect WIFI. Even enjoyed watching a wedding at the hotel on the Saturday. We had previously spent 4 nights in Rhodes and continued to 3 nights in Athens. Could have spent the entire time in Santorini. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownwood, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great English speaking staff! Location is great and setting is stunning. Our room was comfortable, clean and unique. Handy location near shopping, strolling, and bus stop. Touring company within steps for nice excursions. We chose to catamaran around the island and see the sunset from the water one night....Fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holskeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
2.8 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#5 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Property: Canaves Oia Hotel
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#4 Family Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically clinging to the cliff face, perched high over Santorini’s caldera, Canaves Oia Hotel has been transformed from 17th century cave houses. Consisting of two sections, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites are 100 metres apart and divided by the pretty cathedral of Oia. Each section has its own pool, pool bar, sun deck and reception and of course the same impeccable service.Enjoy breakfast on your balcony as you soak up the amazing vista. Afterwards, go into Oia and visit the Venetian castle and wander through the steep, narrow streets packed with small boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing