We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A memorable honeymoon at Canaves Oia!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Canaves Oia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Madeiras
1 review
“A memorable honeymoon at Canaves Oia!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

We stayed there in august 2009 for our honeymoon. The hotel was truly on the tip of the cliff with a breathtaking view of the volcano. The ambience of the restaurant was ideal for a romantic dinner and the food was delightful. Try the lamb dish. The reception team was very helpful and accurate with some excellent recommendations about activities on the island and they surely met our expectations with their restaurant bookings. Last but not least the staff was really professional, friendly and willing to fulfill all our wishes. I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to live a dream!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    71
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
78
614
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

We chose this hotel for our first vacations in Greece through a travel agent in the our country.We were a little suspicious since it was a first our first time in a greek island...
By the time we reached the hotel by taxi(the hotel with an additional cost has a transfer service but we were never advised by the travel agent...)somebody was waiting for us.The taxi driver had contacted the hotel when we were picked at the airport.
They helped us with the luggage and after less than 5 minutes in the reception they showed us our suite.The room was spacious,the view superb and both the receptionist and bell boy more than helpful.
The staff of the restaurant was waiting for us with a glass of champagne in the room and welcome us so warmly...The same night we ate at the hotel's restaurant.The food was maybe one of the three best we got on the island.You should also try "1800" and "Ambrosia"...
We stayed mainly in the hotel lying by the pool drinking cocktails and only visited Fira(the center) for a day.Oia has a lot of things to see and do and a huge variety of shops(this is not always good for us men..!.).
We strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Santorini(especially couples) and we ll definetely come back...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my family for a week in September. The service is excellent . We never had to ask for anything twice. The food prepared by the restaurant was delicious. The reception staff do their best to get you in your room with ease. The staff are very attentive and do everything to make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLisa39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Amazing place. My and my wife spend 3 days there as part of our honeymoon and we realy loved the hotal. Endless views, great service, nice people, ideal location close to the village. Perfect in every way. Strongly reccomended

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FABIOITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

We spent 12 days in Greece for our Honeymoon, and this was our first stop. Without asking, they upgraded us to the Honeymoon Suite, which was beautiful, romantic, peaceful, private and had the most amazing view of the Caldera. Breakfast by the pool every morning was a highlight, the staff was attentive without being intrusive, and the food was delicious. The hotel is conveniently located at the end of the pedestrian walkway, just out of the main flood of tourists. Be sure to explore Oia, walk down to the seaside tavernas for dinner or lunch, and visit the vineyard. We absolutely loved our stay and hope to make it back some day.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattString
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Santorini is a required stop on our trips to Greece.
We always stay in Oia and have stayed in a few of the hotels, always with a view of the Caldera.
We loved this place. The view, the service, the quality of our room, everything was top notch. A few points that we really liked was there were not as many steps as some of the other places - which is a great thing for someone with bad knees and hips from a motorcycle accident, and it is closer to the village of Oia then some of the others.
Santorini and Oia itself has become a victim of it's outstanding view, with thousands of folks coming in on cruise ships and some of the charm has been lost, but if you are going to stay there it is hard to beat this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingkindaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

This is a classic case of paying for a view. We stayed in supposedly new part of Canaves. It looked like it was decorated by a grandmother in the 80s; think dark furniture, mauve and slate blue. Our room was far from luxury as is advertised. The two bathrooms were the size of shoeboxes and what made it worse is how they were decorated. Clearly, they were designed over 20 years ago with a small shower stall. The bed wasn't much better. It had an egg crate on it - this is NOT luxury. The room safe couldn't hold anything beyond a wallet. The modern traveler takes things like IPods, computers and other things that should be locked up. This would have been OK, if we had not paid over 300 Euros a night. To top things off, the staff was less than friendly. It took a while to get our bags to our room. They didn't smile when serving breakfast and furthermore barely acknowledged us. To sum it up, if you want a view - stay here; otherwise, stay at a neighboring hotel. This place is not worth what they charge.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hip_Midwest_Momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCHAI, Owner at Canaves Oia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Management’s note:

Dear Travellers,

We would like to thank you for all your reviews and the constructive comments, which we always encourage and take under great consideration.

Therefore, this winter we have implemented major renovations into both sections of our hotel, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites. We have also upgraded the facilities and services of both our sections in order to meet your expectations and needs.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at Canaves Oia Hotel and reverse your impressions.

Thank you,

The management
Canaves Oia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Property: Canaves Oia Hotel
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#4 Family Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically clinging to the cliff face, perched high over Santorini’s caldera, Canaves Oia Hotel has been transformed from 17th century cave houses. Consisting of two sections, Canaves Oia and Canaves Oia Suites are 100 metres apart and divided by the pretty cathedral of Oia. Each section has its own pool, pool bar, sun deck and reception and of course the same impeccable service.Enjoy breakfast on your balcony as you soak up the amazing vista. Afterwards, go into Oia and visit the Venetian castle and wander through the steep, narrow streets packed with small boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing