We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...”
Review of Canaves Oia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canaves Oia Hotel
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We began our honeymoon with a three night stay at Canaves Oia. It is nestled approximately 150 yards from the entrance to the shopping/dining area of the town of Oia. Our room overlooked the caldera and we had a private patio. The service was amazing. We lost our luggage en route and we simply mentioned it to guest services and we didn't have to think about it until it arrived in our room two days later. We asked for a recommendation for dinner our first night and they made reservations for us at Katina, who hold a special table for Canaves guests right next to the water. We asked how to rent a car and they had a rental company deliver a car to the hotel, where we filled out the paper work. In the evening we returned the car to the hotel parking lot and the keys to the front desk and that was the end of it. And then we dined at the georgeous Canaves Suites the following night. Never in my life have I had a more romantic, wonderful setting for dinner. And the food was fantastic. I would definitely recommend Canaves to anyone looking to travel to the Greek Islands.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawler1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2010

What a background!
We had a dinner experience NOT to forget at this hotel's magnificent restaurant. First of all, service in any aspect exceeds every level of expectation! Chef's Kostas Sakkas choices were a step ahead our wishes as every next dish was topping the previous ones! As a part of this industry for many years, I would describe myself everything but easy to sattisfy. How wrong did that feel at this fabulous place.. A gastronomic heaven located right in the middle of what one would have guessed heaven looks like! A cocktail lover will have a challenge to face once meeting Natalia, a lovely girl taking care of mixing spirits with flavours, according to your preferences and meal.
Briefly, that dinner topped surprisingly the -anyway spectacular- famous sunset at Oia, fading it to our eyes and finally placing it to the second spot of our things-to-see-and-feel-list regarding Santorini! It seems like the owners have being wise while selecting their staff carefully and that's what it shows off.
Excellent is a small word to describe this experience, well-done!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-G-Bon-viveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We just got back from a 3 night stay here with our two sons age 23 and 20. The views were terrific, the service was excellent and accommodating and the room was very comfortable, even the beds. We stayed in room number 1 which was a suite and the only complaint is that the master bath didn't have a stand up shower but had a hand held one. no big deal as the view from the master bath was incredible. the location to Oia was fantastic and the hotel staff couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argboys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed at Canaves Oia a couple of weeks ago, andit didnt disappoint. Its location is a real plus; just far enough out of the main 'tourist' street in Oia but less than 10 minutes walk away, and thats in a pair of heels!
The hotel has 2 parts and its worthwhile ensuring you see both because they are quite different. The small terrace and pool is great when there are only a few people; there is a little bar and snacks and salads are served during the day. The view is magnificent.
The other part of the hotel has a larger pool and jacuzzi and tables for the restaurant right on the clifftop. We ate at the restuarant one evening; not cheap but a beautiful experience and the food and wine were excellent.
The breakfast experience at the hotel is lovely; served on your own terrace overlooking the bay.
Oia is definately the place to stay ...its very expensive but having visited other resorts on the island its understandable. The views are to die for; the town is classy with some lovely gift shops and the restaurants are high quality and there is plenty of choice. Its also sheltered from the wind which can blow persistently on the other side of the island. Thira is definately worth a visit; the town has cobbled streets and lots of shops and bars and the furnicular is terrific down to the port. We also visited Perissa which has a good beach and is more family oriented.
All in all Santorini is one of the most beautiful and relaxing places we have stayed and I would highly recommend Canaves Oia.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugar-fitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My wife and I just returned from a two week honeymoon in Greece. We stayed at four different luxury hotels throughout the Greek Islands, and Canaves definitely stood out as our favorite of the bunch. Not only is the property breathtakingly beautiful, but the staff is amazing. They could not have been more friendly and attentive. I would suggest this hotel for anyone looking for the perfect romantic retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in service was superb as was the location. The rooms were beautiful and the view of the sunset was incredible I would highly recommend this hotel....I want to go back now.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I have been to Santorini once before, but have never stayed in a place quit like Canaves. Oia is without a doubt the most beautiful part of Santorini. The views from our room and patio were breathtaking. We woke every morning with fresh fruit, omelettes, hot tea and coffee delivered to our room and ate our breakfast while enjoying our ocean view on our patio. We had double doors off our private patio that lead into our two level room. We had three people total. Two downstairs and one upstairs. This would also work for a couple and two children.

The staff here was so friendly and would help us with anything we needed. Thanassis was our go to guy for any recommendations around Santorini. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is a 5 minute walk into town to all the shops and restaurants.

The hotel felt very secluded, even when we went to the main pool. I mabye saw two other guests my whole 5 day stay. The hotel is on the side of the cliff, so the rooms are very spread out. It is truly a place to come and relax. Everything was very clean and well taken care off. I was sad to leave this place. I will hopefully be back soon! We had a wonderful experience here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LALauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.4 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#48 of 58 in Oia
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 58 in Oia
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#15 of 58 in Oia
989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canaves Oia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaves Oia Hotel

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £325 - £1,383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Canaves Oia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canaves Oia brand began with the launch of Canaves Oia Hotel, which led to the property’s “boutique” concept. 18 uniquely designed suites are complemented by uninterrupted caldera views and a pristine pool with hanging chandelier, among other assets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Canaves Oia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaves Oia Resort
Canaves Hotel Oia
Canaves Oia Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing