We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if your on a budget!”
Review of Galini-Oia Pansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galini-Oia Pansion
Ranked #16 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great if your on a budget!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Just spent 5 nights here. It's a space to retreat from all the sight seeing and has some nice relaxing communal areas. Our room was tiny and on arrival a little disappointing but we adjusted and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room is for sleeping, showering and recharging not for hanging out in( need earplugs). It's kinda got the camp ground feeling which is cool and its a great stay on a budget.

There is a car/bike hire 2 mins away which we used twice and a handy food market about 4 mins away. The pool is sweet and the view is lovely for that side of the Island. Our room had its own personality with a couple of strange trip hazards (door stops) located in impractical places and we lost power twice but we are easy going and didn't mind.

The service was fantastic. We were collected free of charge from the airport, the power the second time fixed in 1/2 an hour (the first out was area wide, the second a light fault in our room) and when I mentioned it was my wife's birthday I was given a bottle of bubbles on the house. This made up for any of the other....... Oddity's!

We didn't have the breakfast and someone mentioned some old fellas sitting around staring. It's a family business and I think he's the Grandad of the family and he keeps an eye on things. He does stare a bit but just get on with it, who cares.

There are some beautiful walks near by, one around the Caldera to Fira (1 1/2 to 3 hours, we did it 1 .25 one way power walking and 3 stopping to take photos...we are super heroes though!!) we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAIGTHEKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    32
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Despite all the good reviews of this hotel yet we had the worst experience ever and we did not get to stay at Galini-Oia. I arrived to the hotel with my husband and 2.5yrs daughter after booking a double room for 2 persons. Anna welcomed us, but was surprised to see that we were 3 persons, not 2! explaining that the double room we have booked can only accommodate 2 persons, not 3! I explained to her that our daughter is very young that she sleeps with us in same bed, and we do not need a third bid or a triple room, she insisted that this is not possible, and it is the law and their policy that they cannot change!

I offered to pay extra money if this was the issue, but a man standing behind Anna (most probably the owner) refused my suggestion and told Anna that this is not possible. when we asked her what should we do now, and that we don't have any other reservation in this busy season, the man standing behind Anna started shouting and yelling at us in Greek, but we could clearly understand that he was kicking us out!!! it was the worst experience ever and first time we encounter such a humiliating situation!! I thought everyone deserves to know.

I respect the hotel policy, but they had no excuse to treat us this way!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fida_Amasheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, Anna was very friendly and generous. Nothing was ever a problem. Location is good, the swimming pool was fab and overall for the price paid it was good value. There are some quirks and hazards mind you which you may need to put up with, such as a very small bathroom and shower - no matter what we did water ended up all over the floor, a constantly dripping toilet, poor wifi in the room (works fine outside), we also had a couple power outages during our stay and the exposed door stop and balcony door stop (which was sharp and rusty) could both do some serious damage to your toes or feet! The room was made up each day and towels were changed every second day which was perfect. There could have been a little more info provided in the room, e.g. details about the complex, room servicing, laundry options, recommended restaurants, etc, to help make the stay all that better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_Gatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a great affordable option for Oia, with a beautiful view of the sunset. We were picked up at the port by our host, which was most appreciated. Anna, who speaks English very well, gave us a good overview of the island - which was really helpful. Our room had a view across a courtyard to the sea. The small balcony outside was great, as were the deckchairs to watch the sunset Santorini is famous for. The room was compact, but adequate. Anastacia was a ray of sunshine and her extreme helpfulness was most appreciated. The pool and area around the pool were big enough for the guests and great emphasis was placed on not causing a disturbance to other guests.
Something which was a problem in our room, was that other guests slamming doors and talking in the passage-way outside our room woke us up in the middle of the night and in the early morning. Unfortunately the Meltemi wind blew for the duration of our stay, which made sitting on the balcony somewhat
The hotel is in close walking distance to the pedestrian area of Oia - but outside of the heavy traffic zone, which makes it feel more authentic. There is a good car-rental company about 400m away and parking on the premises. The busstop is also very close. Really a wonderful option !

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpostaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Galini-Oia is located just minutes down the road from the town of Oia--making it easy to explore this part of the island on foot. Great restaurants and unbelievable views are easily accessible, yet the pension is situated on a quiet street with pretty views of the sea (especially nice at sunrise). Our hosts were very accommodating, driving us to and from the port and making sure that we had everything we needed. They provided many suggestions upon arrival of places to see and restaurants to try. The room itself was clean and we enjoyed the small porch outside of our room, as well as the pool. This is a great value on Santorini and a fantastic jumping off point from which to explore the rest of the island by car or bus (the bus system is very easy to use). We enjoyed our stay at Galini-Oia.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The whole point of a review is to notify people of the good and bad points. So, I consider this a fair review.

Pros: Cheap. Good sunset view. Owner lady is very informative. Short walk to Oia and some shops. Clean.

Cons: We specifically asked for a double bed and got two singles. Very loud every morning with main access door constantly slamming. Internet connection is TERRIBLE! We had to go to a cafe in town to use Internet. The pool area is a silent area... Don't make noise when using it. No splashing or playing or fun. There are some old men that seem to live on the property and they just sit in their seats all day and night and stare at people. Didn't want to go on the balcony for this reason. Every time we opened the curtains to our room, the old men were staring at us.

Unlike other travellers have mentioned, we were not offered a lift to the port.

And lastly... We travelled to 6 different countries over 4-5 weeks and on our final day we ate breakfast at Galini Oia. HUGE mistake. Our stomachs were turning for the rest of the day. We were both very sick.

Summary - Had an 'ok' stay, but defintiely would not return.

Room Tip: Maybe at the end of the corridor if you get an upstairs balcony room, as then you are less likely to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ttttrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This place was such a great deal for the money. The rooms are big and clean and have views of the sea in the distance and sunset in the summer from your balcony (though not a view of the volcano side). There is a beautiful pool you can use next door at Maria's place but pay less and stay at Galini. It is just a 2 minute walk to the bus stop to get around Santorini and to the market and a 5 minute walk to the pedestrian walkway in Oia and the amazing views. It takes about 20 minutes to walk all the way to the end of Oia for the sunset but the walk is so enjoyable and beautiful. You also get a/c and a refrigerator in your room! Finally the owner Ana is amazing and super helpful. She sat down with us when we arrived and suggested things to do and explained the island and answered all of our questions. They even picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry dock (45 minute drive) for free. We would definitely stay here again.

The only minor problem is the internet is weak and we often had to go on our balcony to get a stronger signal. Also like most European bathrooms there is no shower curtain for the shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christy1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.4 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
1.0 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
1.0 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
1.2 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#46 of 56 in Oia
45 reviews
3.9 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galini-Oia Pansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galini-Oia Pansion

Property: Galini-Oia Pansion
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galini-Oia Pansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galini-Oia Pansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini-Oia Pansion Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing