We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galini-Oia Pansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galini-Oia Pansion
Ranked #18 of 35 Oia B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we got a warm welcome by Ana. She explained us everything about the surrounding and gave us very good suggestions. The pension is walking distance from the centre of Oia. There is a lovely pool. The room is well furnished. Our room had an amazing view over the island. So it has everything you need. We paid only 45 euro
p.night. Value for money, specially in Oia where most hotels are very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willeke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    31
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saluda, North Carolina
Level Contributor
288 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here!

The hotel picked us up from the port but on the day we were leaving they were not able to take us back. No problem, we took the bus. The bus stop is a few minutes walk from the hotel. You take the bus to Fira and then change buses to go to other parts of the island. It is easy to figure out and everyone speaks English. WARNING: Buses always left 10-15 minutes early.

The owner did sit us down when we got there, showed us a map, and told us about places to go and how to get around. We also booked a tour to the volcano and hot springs through her.

Our room was small but clean. The balcony was small but we sat out there often to use the wifi as it doesn't work in the room. Yes, there are old men who live there but they didn't bother us or appear to be staring excessively. The pool was nice and quiet.

Location was good... Close to the bus stop, car/quad rental, mini market, restaurants, and the main pedestrian walkway through Oia.

Our only complaints are that the shower was very small and there was not much privacy. Everything echoed and the balconies are very close to each other.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iselynjenniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Just spent 5 nights here. It's a space to retreat from all the sight seeing and has some nice relaxing communal areas. Our room was tiny and on arrival a little disappointing but we adjusted and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room is for sleeping, showering and recharging not for hanging out in( need earplugs). It's kinda got the camp ground feeling which is cool and its a great stay on a budget.

There is a car/bike hire 2 mins away which we used twice and a handy food market about 4 mins away. The pool is sweet and the view is lovely for that side of the Island. Our room had its own personality with a couple of strange trip hazards (door stops) located in impractical places and we lost power twice but we are easy going and didn't mind.

The service was fantastic. We were collected free of charge from the airport, the power the second time fixed in 1/2 an hour (the first out was area wide, the second a light fault in our room) and when I mentioned it was my wife's birthday I was given a bottle of bubbles on the house. This made up for any of the other....... Oddity's!

We didn't have the breakfast and someone mentioned some old fellas sitting around staring. It's a family business and I think he's the Grandad of the family and he keeps an eye on things. He does stare a bit but just get on with it, who cares.

There are some beautiful walks near by, one around the Caldera to Fira (1 1/2 to 3 hours, we did it 1 .25 one way power walking and 3 stopping to take photos...we are super heroes though!!) we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAIGTHEKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Despite all the good reviews of this hotel yet we had the worst experience ever and we did not get to stay at Galini-Oia. I arrived to the hotel with my husband and 2.5yrs daughter after booking a double room for 2 persons. Anna welcomed us, but was surprised to see that we were 3 persons, not 2! explaining that the double room we have booked can only accommodate 2 persons, not 3! I explained to her that our daughter is very young that she sleeps with us in same bed, and we do not need a third bid or a triple room, she insisted that this is not possible, and it is the law and their policy that they cannot change!

I offered to pay extra money if this was the issue, but a man standing behind Anna (most probably the owner) refused my suggestion and told Anna that this is not possible. when we asked her what should we do now, and that we don't have any other reservation in this busy season, the man standing behind Anna started shouting and yelling at us in Greek, but we could clearly understand that he was kicking us out!!! it was the worst experience ever and first time we encounter such a humiliating situation!! I thought everyone deserves to know.

I respect the hotel policy, but they had no excuse to treat us this way!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fida_Amasheh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, Anna was very friendly and generous. Nothing was ever a problem. Location is good, the swimming pool was fab and overall for the price paid it was good value. There are some quirks and hazards mind you which you may need to put up with, such as a very small bathroom and shower - no matter what we did water ended up all over the floor, a constantly dripping toilet, poor wifi in the room (works fine outside), we also had a couple power outages during our stay and the exposed door stop and balcony door stop (which was sharp and rusty) could both do some serious damage to your toes or feet! The room was made up each day and towels were changed every second day which was perfect. There could have been a little more info provided in the room, e.g. details about the complex, room servicing, laundry options, recommended restaurants, etc, to help make the stay all that better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_Gatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a great affordable option for Oia, with a beautiful view of the sunset. We were picked up at the port by our host, which was most appreciated. Anna, who speaks English very well, gave us a good overview of the island - which was really helpful. Our room had a view across a courtyard to the sea. The small balcony outside was great, as were the deckchairs to watch the sunset Santorini is famous for. The room was compact, but adequate. Anastacia was a ray of sunshine and her extreme helpfulness was most appreciated. The pool and area around the pool were big enough for the guests and great emphasis was placed on not causing a disturbance to other guests.
Something which was a problem in our room, was that other guests slamming doors and talking in the passage-way outside our room woke us up in the middle of the night and in the early morning. Unfortunately the Meltemi wind blew for the duration of our stay, which made sitting on the balcony somewhat
The hotel is in close walking distance to the pedestrian area of Oia - but outside of the heavy traffic zone, which makes it feel more authentic. There is a good car-rental company about 400m away and parking on the premises. The busstop is also very close. Really a wonderful option !

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpostaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Galini-Oia is located just minutes down the road from the town of Oia--making it easy to explore this part of the island on foot. Great restaurants and unbelievable views are easily accessible, yet the pension is situated on a quiet street with pretty views of the sea (especially nice at sunrise). Our hosts were very accommodating, driving us to and from the port and making sure that we had everything we needed. They provided many suggestions upon arrival of places to see and restaurants to try. The room itself was clean and we enjoyed the small porch outside of our room, as well as the pool. This is a great value on Santorini and a fantastic jumping off point from which to explore the rest of the island by car or bus (the bus system is very easy to use). We enjoyed our stay at Galini-Oia.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
1.0 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
1.2 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#33 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finikia Memories
Finikia Memories
#35 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria's Place
Maria's Place
#4 of 72 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galini-Oia Pansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galini-Oia Pansion

Property: Galini-Oia Pansion
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galini-Oia Pansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Galini-Oia Pansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini-Oia Pansion Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing