We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Everything about this hotel is amazing! The staff are very friendly and are at your service around the clock! There are alot of stairs from the reception area to the rooms, but that was fine for me. There are three pools, two of whIch looK over the water. One of the nicest and cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scoothand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    62
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
59
644
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Over the top service, rooms, food, amenities, location, view.... It does not get much better than this hotel! Each room is dug into the hillside as they were formerly cave like apartments. The hotel has maintained the individuality of each unit and none of the 28 are the same and every room is fabulous. The breakfast was amazing and delivered each morning where ever you choose to eat that day - by the pool, on your deck, in bed... The attentive staff always at the ready near the pool was like having your own private pool boy. Definitely a splurge but oh, so worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunnys_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We have waited 5 years to holiday in Katikes. It met every expectation and more. It really is a dream to stay in such a beautiful, intimate hotel in a spectacular location. Holidays do not get any better than this. If you are seeking a quiet, relaxing holiday then look no further. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming, lead by Alex, the Manager, who made the whole holiday so special for us. He always made the time to talk to his guests and help in any way to make the holiday that extra special.
Katikes tumbles down the inside of the old volcano with views over the caldera from every room and pool/jacuzzi (of which there are 4 to choose from). Our room was just as the brochure pictures showed with a cave shower. Each morning breakfast is brought to your room and laid out for you on your private patio. Days around the infinity pool were spent reading and swimmimg whilst music played and waiters supplied your every need. In the evenings you can dine by the lit pool or treat yourselves to a special dinner in their 4 table dining room. Expensive ? Yes. Worth it ? Definately. If you can tear yourself away, there are many places to eat in Oia, many postioned to maximise the views.
Santorini is a small island, which we now feel we have seen and probably would not revisit if it weren't for Katikes. The thought of not being there again is too painful to think about so we will be returning.
My only cautionary note would be to say that there are many steps within the hotel and within Santorini itself.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TantasticSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

my wife and i just returned from our honeymoon, 4 nights of which was spent at villa katikies. after considering katikies hotel, perivolas, among the other leading hotels in oia, we chose villa katikies and to say that we were pleased with our decision would be a grave understatement. we wanted to stay in accomodations that were private but that did not lack all of the amenities of a larger hotel. service was stellar from the minute we arrived when Valentino helped us with our bags and Panos greeted us with welcome drinks. the high level of service continued throughout our stay. Panos made a number of terrific dinner suggestions and booked reservations for us happily. he consistently went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that our stay was as pleasurable and memorable as possible . the breakfast was terrific - with the option of eating on our private terrace, in our room, or on the main hotel terrace, we always opted to eat on the hotel terrace. the pool was small and private which was exactly what we were looking for. for those who desired more "action", the various pools and all other amenites at the katikies hotel were always available and a mere 30 second walk away. the other hotel guests were all very friendly and pleasant, and we left our stay with many new friends spanning all of the other guests and the hotel staff. we would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a heavenly stay in oia.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GINYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I was prepared to be critical to offset the ecstatic reviews on here, but after staying a week I must confirm that all the raves are fully justified, and I found nothing of substance to complain about at all. It really is wonderful.
You will already know the views are stunning and the location perfect - far enough into the town to be off the road ( which makes it that bit better place than its rivals Canaves and Mystique which are a bit further out and just on the road with tourist coaches passing nearby), but as its on the edge of the main part of Oia its isnt at all afflicted by the tourist hordes in the daytime. Ideal placement.

We had the most affordable of the suites, the junior ( No 33). Smaller than you'd get by paying more no doubt, but lovely in minimal white, laid out on 2 levels with bed downstairs and sitting area upstairs, flatscreen TVs in both areas. Upstairs led out to a lovely terrace which isnt overlooked at all ( some are a little but not to the extent it's an issue). The closest I can get to criticism is that the toiletries/sewing kit etc are a bit so-so for this class of hotel, but no big deal. You do get wine and fruit on arrival to help you setlle in.

A highlight of staying here is the fabulous breakfast - we sat on the terrace every morning eagerly awaiting the white uniformed strongman carrying an enormous tray and clambering over the rooftops to reach our upper level terrace wthout dropping anything. Order the night before at reception and have a full spread of continental or Greek goodies plus whatever you want to add, eggs, bacon, etc. Omelettes are very good.

We loved our suite as it's located near the smaller second infinity pool and indoor hot tub which were rarely used by anyone else so they felt like an extra part of our suite !
The main pool is beautiful and when it got busier we moved to other quieter areas with beds laid out for greater peace in the afternoons. Music round the main pool is an odd mix of mainly classical in the mornings , moving into typical Greek chillout later, with oddly variable volume from day to day. I'd rather have none myself, as most people bring their Ipods to the pool nowadays. There are 2 other pools around the other levels of the hotel too , 1 hot and 1 cold, rarely used while we were there. It never felt too busy .

The real reason for maximum star rating here is the impeccable service. They pull off the tricky balance of being professional, friendly, attentive but never overbearing. Nothing ever seems any trouble, whether moving beds around, putting sun umbrellas up or down, or bringing drinks and food. Alexander the manager gets namechecked on here alot, and now I know why. He shows a genuine interest in guests' views and is very helpful. He really wanted to know what we thought of all aspects of the hotel. If only more hotels showed such genuine interest.
The only negative we told him was that we felt the price of dinner in the exclusive 4 table terrace restaurant was rather too high and had put us off with the impression it is only for honeymooners who will pay top price ( 85 Euros) - Alexander made us a lovely generous offer to try it and then feedback what we thought of it - yes it is expensive but the quality of the food is truly outstanding and beautifully presented. Terrific king prawn, lamb and steak . You wont find food this good anywhere else in Oia and will work hard to beat it anywhere else either. Recommended if you would pay this much for a special dinner.

All the staff were lovely throughout our stay . Lunches by the pool are terrific too, the club sandwich was enormous and the open salmon sandwich fantastic. Reasonable value compared with the much more average food at fairly high prices in most of the cafes and restaurants in the town.

Restaurant tips - Best food was Ambrosia and Nectar, Feredini. Go to Kastro once for the sunset views, get there early for a table, food surpisingly better than we feared in such a 'tourist trap' location. Red Bicycle has good food but very pricey and the service doesnt quite match the prices for food - having no wine list at all is odd, unable to cope with payment by card at the table. But Katikies food was better than any of these!

If you are thinking of coming here, do it, you will love it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank roy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We spent a couple of weeks in Greece for our honeymoon, and while we visited several places, the Katikies was by far our favorite. Santorini was our last stop before heading back home, and we felt so lucky to spend our last honeymoon days in such a perfect location. We loved our hotel in Mykonos, and didn't expect anything to be able to top it-- until we got to the Katikies. The hotel itself is gorgeous, and Alexander and his staff made it an amazing experience. The staff is attentive, prompt, and polite, and Alexander was truly fantastic. They gave us delicious restaurant recommendations, and made us reservations at the best tables. Our room was impeccable and spacious, and our private hot tub and patio area made it difficult to force ourselves to explore the rest of the island! Breakfast each morning (and lunch too) was some of the best food we had during our entire Greece trip. We've never had such a difficult time leaving a hotel-- we could have stayed forever. I hope we'll be returning to Oia and the Katikias (maybe an anniversary trip!), and we'd recommend it to anyone headed to Santorini!

Room Tip: Room 25 is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BWandA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stunning, simply stunning. The attention to detail was superb and all the staff were fantastic. They did little things, like discretely adding ice to your glass of water and generally looking after your every need.

There are lots of steps in the hotel - although it's so beautiful you might not ever need to use them! But if you're physically impaired, any hotel in Santorini will need some researching.

The pool area is stunning and although there aren't huge numbers of sun loungers directly by the pool, there are loads of comfortable 'beds' with equally awesome views. And don't worry, there's absolutely no towel saving chairs allowed!

You're given a phone to carry around with you to save you having to go back to your room if you need anything. And as for the room wow! We stayed in 22 which was a superior 1 bed suite. It has a large lounge area and a room with a large jacuzzi in it just off that. Stairs were beautiful: lively White stone leading up to a bedroom, bathroom and dressing area. The rooms even come with an iPod already downloaded with great chill out tunes.

The food is beautiful; loved the breakfasts which they serve to your room - or by the pool if you prefer. Try and experience the Katikies dinner as it was well worth the 85 euros.

Can't wait to go back. It exceeded expectations, which when it cost so much is hard to do. a 2nd honeymoon!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samthediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#21 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Property: Katikies Hotel
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#4 Spa Hotel in Oia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing