We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views, Stylish Hotel”
Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We booked Katikies as a well deserved break following our sons wedding. This is a peaceful, beautiful place with good food, great service and we were able to just sit and relax with the amazing staff looking after every need. It really is one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had! We wandered into the main part of Oia most days, just to take a break from the hotel and have a beer in a bar looking out across the Caldera and then would return back to the peace of the hotel and away from the sunset-seeking crowds! The sunsets really are incredible and the hotel arranged for us to have dinner down at the 'Sunset' Restaurant. It has a lovely atmosphere and with the water lapping just by your table it makes for a special evening (its not cheap but the location more than makes up for it). We found lots of good restaurants when we ventured out for dinner so although the hotel has really good food on offer (we did the Prix fixe meal with only 4 tables which was really outstanding) don't hesitate to try other places! A word on the hotel itself. Yes, it really is a classy, elegant hotel with great service (the staff are definitely their biggest attribute). It is immaculate, cleverly styled and the rooms although minimalist are in keeping with the whole feel of the place. The balconies are small (unless you have a honeymoon suite) and they are overlooked but we didn't think it was a problem in room 35. The steps are steep!! Quite daunting when you first arrive but you do get used to them!
We really did love the hotel, beds really comfortable, bathrooms well equipped etc and Oia itself is pretty with some nice shops to look around. There was only one thing that was very irritating.... Yes, it's been mentioned before - SUN LOUNGERS! We do not holiday in Europe very often (apparently it happens a lot in Europe...) but the practice of 'reserving' sun loungers around the pool was very annoying. We are early risers and liked going down to the pool for breakfast. They have just a few tables outside by the pool (most guests like to have breakfast brought to their own terrace) and each morning there was never a problem having our breakfast peacefully gazing out at the view. We would then watch as various guests appear, put books or magazines on a pair of sun beds and then obviously go back up to their rooms! They would often not return to the pool area until nearly midday!! This is ridiculous! On one occasion we saw 8 out of the 10 beds 'occupied by books or various items of clothing'! You can understand why guests get frustrated on the first day that this happens and then unfortunately have to adopt the attitude 'if you can't beat them, join them'! The hotel management should sort this out. It somewhat cheapens the place if people have to squabble over sun beds! I should point out that there are sun beds on other terraces but they are a few flights of steps away from the pool and if you like to dip in and out then its nice to be near it! I think if there are people actually on the beds then fair enough, I can accept that I have to go and sit somewhere else but its very annoying when they are just empty but reserved (sometimes for hours)! This did not spoil our visit as we didn't let it and I am still giving Hotel Katikies 5 stars as it really is a wonderful place and we would not hesitate to recommend it. Just sort this issue out and it would be PERFECT!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good! We chose a Senior Suite to have a bit more space and had a loft bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennywhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

My wife and I had gone for a big,fat Indian wedding to Mykonos end Sep '12 and from there we went for something more private to Santorini. We chose Katikies through tripadvisor reviews and what a sensational choice it turned out to be!
Having travelled far and wide,it was simply the most beautiful hotel we have stayed in. We stayed in Honeymoon suite Room 24 which we thought was by far the número uno unit on the property. The views were breathtaking,the service magnificent. Everything we asked for was answered by the words "of course,we can sir/madam."
Santorini is super,Oia is the best part of Santorini and Katikies is the crown jewel of Oia.
Thank you,Alexander,for a truly memorable stay....we will be back with our boys.
Rekha & Mahesh Tourani

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I've just returned from a week at Katikies and the hotel is magnificent. The hotel is located just as Main Street starts in Oia. The entire hotel faces the sea and is in the perfect spot for sunsets. The white washed rooms are minimally furnished in Oia's manner but you will love the comfy beds, large baths and your own deck. Our suite came with a hot tub as well. One nice option is that brekfast came with the room rate and they were happy to deliver for no extra charge. Not only is that nicely romantic, Santorini is built on steps and otherwise breakfast would be a hike. Three swimming pools, plenty of places to sun and the best service you could imagine. We ate either lunch or dinner in over a dozen place places on Main Street but the best food we had was either the casual pool side service or the expensive fancy restaurant with a prix fixe menu. By the way, the weather was perfect in October - highs in the 80s, cooler at night and not a drop of rain. Bring your sweetie, bring your camera, it's what life is about.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iphonenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I just returned to Manhattan from 6 nights in Oia... Katikies was definitely one of the highlights. I might be the only single traveler during my stay, but was treated equally attentively. Absolutely loved the special dinner in the hotel restaurant (only served 4 tables a night); massage was like nothing I ever had (exclusive for the hotel guests; I was alone in the spa :); took on the semi-private boat ride from the hotel's recommendation (will easily do it again!). The property was kept extremely clean and everything was tastefully done... I absolutely enjoyed my daily breakfast in my balcony with the most spectacular view while reading and writing. Admired the health conscious choices. The staff made up a big part of the wonderful experience; Alexender (manager, who remembers every guest's name), Michael (front desk), saki (food and room service) and many more I did not get the names...; thank you for a fantastic vacation. This is the first time I have ever written a review for a hotel, and I travel internationally on a regular basis... It was such an unique experience that I feel it deserves my recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZoeTheLoneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The Katikies group of hotels includes The Katikies Hotel, The Kirini Hotel, and Villa Katikies (all of these are in Oia) plus Sunrocks Hotel (in Firostefani) and Chromata (in Imerovigli).

It's important that you know this and that you focus in on the differences between Oia, Firostefani and Imerovigli. Why? Because there's the chance that you'll book into one of these hotels and then be moved to another. That's what happened to us-- and from reading reviews it's happened to others. Having read the reviews we were prepared to be moved so that when it happened we just rolled with it. As it turned out, we were in better rooms than we had booked and we enjoyed seeing two hotels (Katikies and Kirini). But I can imagine that some travelers might be upset by this.

The bottom line on the hotels is that they are superb. Truly extraordinary. Gorgeous rooms and bathrooms, excellent staff, wonderful breakfast.

Santorini's cliffs and caldera are dramatic but the rest of the island is not particularly attractive (compared to other islands). Most importantly, be prepared for crowds-- even in late September (we arrived on September 25).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Katikies provided the perfect balance of luxury, service and privacy, with a casual friendly atmosphere with absolutely no pretensions.

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 6 nights in a senior suite with the most amazing views. We haven't got anything but praise for the hotel and it's staff, the attention to detail is top notch.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a special occasion holiday as it amply copes with the expectations you will have.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigtimejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at Katikies on our honeymoon. What a phenomenal hotel. The staff, rooms, views, pool, food, - everything was exceptional. We had wonderful service and truly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The infinity pool provides a stunning view. The spa was also fantastic! What a great place to escape, celebrate, relax and indulge. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a senior suite, over looking the water. Very spacious, great bathroom, exceptional view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#16 of 56 in Oia
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#8 Spa Hotel in Oia
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £346 - £940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing