We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every cent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth every cent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel looked amazing on the internet, so while the price was higher than I would usually like to pay, I decided to try it. All I can say is that when the time came to pay the bill I didn't hesitate. The location is amazing though not unique. The layout takes some getting used to with lots of stairs but this is one of the things that gives the hotel a character in synch with its location. The food was very good though I could imagine in peak season the area around the pool/restaurant could get a little crowded. What makes this hotel absolutely stand out from everywhere else I have stayed is the attitude of the staff. Everyone and I mean everyone, was friendly and cheerful. They all say hello, they remember who you are, and continually ask if there is any way they can help. The reception staff were especially helpfull offering good advice and making any necessary arrangements.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    60
    27
    7
    9
See reviews for
56
643
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed in Room 13 May 7-10, 2012 and had such an amazing experience we decided to go back to the same property this year. Last year we booked a double room on expedia.com. We arrived and were shown to our room (13). Service was amazing and breakfast on the terrace was one of the many highlights of our stay. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accomodating. It is a pricey hotel however in 2012 we thought it was well worth it! Unfortunately we made the mistake of returning to the same property May 6-9, 2013. Instead of booking on expedia.com we booked a senior suite on katikies.com because they offered a special price for booking through their website this year. Since we upgraded to a senior suite this year we assumed we would have a better room than last year (including a jacuzzi as advertised) and an equally amazing experience at the hotel. We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours before check in so they held our bags and we walked around Oia to enjoy the afternoon while awaiting for check in. Our room was ready shortly after 2pm. They proceeded to show us to room (#5). We walked in and were disappointed that it was much smaller than the room and bathroom we had in 2012, there was no jacuzzi and we were in a very noisy area of the hotel (directly below the dining room and next to an area that staff worked). We called reception to express our concerns and let them know we didn't feel as though we were in a senior suite. They assured us we were and when I asked where the jacuzzi was they said some of the rooms have showers and some have jacuzzis. This is true as advertised on their website for double rooms and junior suites, however it states that senior suites have 'Opulent bathrooms offer Jacuzzi bathtubs combined with an organic, pure ambience.' It also clearly states on both expedia and jetsetters.com that the senior, superior and honeymoon suites include a jacuzzi. In addition to the jacuzzi the room should have a queen bed and sofabed. There wasn't a sofabed in the room and it seemed to be a double bed. If room 5 is truly a senior suite katikies is guilty of false advertising. I can't imagine that someone would be willing to pay full price for room 5 as a senior suite given the noise, annoying orange emergency light above the door that shines through the room all night, poor wifi in the room, etc. When we spoke to reception my husband thought we had stayed in room 10 in 2012 they informed us this was the honeymoon suite and we knew right away that wasn't the room we were in. They were nice in the beginning and apologized that we were unhappy with the accomodation but said they were fully booked for the nights we were there however they would try to figure something out for us. They offered to move us to Kirini for the last night of our stay and I told them it wasn't necessary but they said they would see what else they could do and call us back the next day. We never heard back. We went to reception our last night and the manager asked how our stay was so I was honest and let him know we had a much better experience last year. We proceeded to tell him we felt we were in a double room this year and again he assured us it's a senior suite. He went on to say that they looked through their records and couldn't find that we had stayed in 10 last year and I explained we gave them the wrong room by mistake and it was actually room 13 we were in. Instead of them checking their records to see where we stayed the previous year it seemed they thought we were lying and simply trying to get an upgrade. It was a poor customer service experience and we will not be returning to their property anytime in the future. My husband thought we should've let them know we were there the previous year via email before we arrived but we shouldn't need to do that to ensure we would have an equally as good experience as in the past. Also we noticed a small baby in a room just above the pool - the child didn't bother us at all but what did is that they clearly advertise on their website and others 'no children under 12' allowed at the property. The best part of our stay was enjoying time by the pool and the delicious food! We also noticed along with a new manager they have a new chef this year. The food is still good but we remembered it being slightly better last year. The day we tried to lay out in the lounge chairs in the quiet area there was a photo shoot happening that was very noisy and distracting which forced us to go back to the pool. Lastly the hotel reserved a car to take us to the ferry port - it ended up making an additional stop to pick up more passengers which was a bit annoying as well. We didn't let our stay ruin our trip to Oia but we'll be sure to try a new property during our next visit!

Room Tip: Avoid room #5 (suppose to be a senior suite but doesn't have a jacuzzi or sofabed as advertised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jandn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los A
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

The Katikies Hotel and its staff deserve recognition for their superior facility and impeccable service. The multiple pools, restaurant, and lounge areas make for a comfortable and luxurious setting to enjoy the most beautiful town in Santorini. The members of the staff were always courteous, knowledgeable, and willing to go the extra mile to make sure that we were taken care of. One of the best parts of our trip was a wine tasting that the hotel puts on, sampling a great variety of local Santorini wines with an amazing cheese and fruit plate. There are not enough words to adequately describe the great feeling that the Katikies Hotel leaves you with during and after your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Canes_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel with awesome view, very sweet staff, restaurant was too good, ambiance is too good, best hotel to stay in. Five star from me. Keep it up. We stayed for 3 days and had a great time with friends and specially my 15 months daughter had enjoyed a lot. And I like the housekeeping also a lot.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tusharsagorika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place! Best view in Greece, best food in Greece, fantastic service! Every need was catered for and any problems solved immediately with sincere friendliness. They just want you to sit back and enjoy your holiday. Thank you so much Alexandro, Maria, George, Edward, Martin, Mike and all the rest.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The most marvelous and unbelievable fascinatig hotel I've ever been. I can't write any disadvantages because there were none of them!!!! Amazing view, friendly and helpful staff, perfect conditions and delicious species. Greetings for everybody from the hotel and island, I hope visit you again. In one word --- JUST SUPERB:)

George from room 41

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Although we were staying at the sister hotel The Chromata we went to see this hotel and say hello to the team who were at the Chromata last year. Beautiful location and it was evident that the dream team of George and Mike in the bar/pool were working their magic.

How lucky this hotel is to have George the Chef. He really can cook and made us some superb tasty bites to go with our drinks. He really is a star of the future and anyone eating in this hotel will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A&JEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#3 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#19 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Property: Katikies Hotel
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing