We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelieveable Hotel on the Edge of a Surreal Landscape”
Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable Hotel on the Edge of a Surreal Landscape”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

In short Katikies Hotel is an absolute must if your travel budget can accommodate this stop in your itinerary. The Service is amazing, the Rooms are fantastic, the setting of the hotel is surreal, everything adds up to an unbelievable and unforgettable 5 star experience (I would give 6 stars if I could)

Perched on the side of the Caldera in scenic Oia, Santorini, the landscape almost defies comprehension. The dramatic cliffside views from all of the rooms and particularly from the beautiful infinity pools placed throughout the hotel are jaw dropping.

The rooms are spacious, traditionally set yet well appointed and modernly styled.

The a la' carte breakfast service at the hotel is excellent, essentially anything you want can be provided. Breakfast can be taken at your private table (in your room, or on your private patio) or at the main area alongside the scenic main pool.

Speaking of the pools - they are without question the perfect place to unwind and soak in the Santorian sun. The service at the pool is remarkable with every need seemingly predicted and fulfilled before being requested (exaggeration of course), but overall simply amazing. The Waiting staff is amongst the most friendly and most helpful we've ever met on our Travels.

Overall, the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and beyond helpful.

The one and really only downside I can list is that the hotel does not have a fitness facility. Although this is of note, there is a fantastic Hike from Oia to Fira which can be done, and a scenic and personally recommended road side jog you can take from Oia along the essentially untravelled secondary highway to Paradisos (5km round trip) or Koloumpos (10km rt). This of course if the stair climbing throughout the hotel does not give you your fill for fitness. I would not reccomend jogging along the main highway, traffic is considerable and it can become very congested.

Of final note, The hotel is in the advanced stages (as of May 2014) installing elevator access throughout the hotel. From what I saw during our stay, this will essentially permit stair free access throughout the majority of the hotel when complete should you require.

Our thanks to Katikies for an unforgettable experience, when we return, this Hotel will be an anchor to our itinerary again.

Room Tip: Katikies is a beautiful hotel however you make your way around the hotel with a lot of steps and lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coltron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    65
    29
    9
    10
See reviews for
65
665
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Got back from Greece a couple of weeks ago. Katikies Hotel is no doubt the Best place to stay in Santorini. Spacious rooms with great views. Very friendly staff and exceptional service. Have only seen this level of service at Armani Hotel Dubai.
Gohar Salam

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gohar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were here when things were pretty tough in Greece, hence we got a great deal on a place that would've otherwise been well out of our price range. After years of doubting it I can now confirm thanks to Katikies that you do indeed get what you pay for!
The service was great, the rooms are superb, the facilities are phenomenal but all this is nothing compared to the views- yes, they really are THAT good. Go on, treat yourselves!

Room Tip: They all have spectacular views and many have private balconies- you seem to either get a private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nakiboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have stayed for 1 night in Fira, then moved to Oia -Katikies Hotel.
The experiences in Katikies are unforgettable, we enjoyed every moment under the blue sky and white colored world with Professional Hoteliers.

We knew the Katikies from Japanese Travel magazine -they didn't doubt, this is the excellent hotel we ever stay.

Unfortunately, the season is not came fully (a bit cooler we expected), but we could enjoyed a lot!!
Lay under the Beautiful sky (by the pool), relaxed in the room, see Sunset from Oia town -the hotel is located outside of town center, but it is still within walking distance and can feel calm.
Only one thing to check before your travel -this season, hotel or shops on island are not fully opened, so some services are not available same as you saw on website or guide-book. (But we like quiet place and lazy days, so we choose to stay before high-season come)

We would recommend you not to walk around outside too much! Just relax -wake up with excellent breakfast, late lunch at poolside bar, reading books, then go to see Sunset by walk!

If we have chance to back to Santorini, we definitely choose to stay at Katikies again!

===

フィガロの地中海特集でKatikiesを知り予約しました。
サントリーニ1泊目はFira、2泊目~(3泊)はOiaにステイ。
スタッフのみなさんは、海外ではなかなかお目に掛かることのできない「間を読む」ことに長けた方々ですが、その一方で、とてもファミリアでもあり、滞在中はとても快適に、安心して過ごすことができました。
シーズン到来前の4月中旬に滞在したため、肌寒かったことと、SPAなどホテル施設がフルオープンではなかった点が残念でした(が、人ごみを避けるためには、ちょうど良かったと思っています)。
街の中心地から離れた場所に位置していますが、島の先端(夕焼け鑑賞スポット)までも徒歩圏内です。
贅沢な朝食のあと、ゆったりと静かにホテルで過ごして、夕方に徒歩で夕焼けスポットを探しに行く・・・
という贅沢な時間を過ごすことができます。
もし、サントリーニへ戻る機会があるならば、またKatikiesに滞在したいと思う、素晴らしいホテルでした。

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumi_sawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Beautiful boutique hotel in Oia.. my favorite town on Santorini. Gorgeous rooms all with views.. everything is white so the light reflects everwhere. The staff is so attentive.. the ambiance is fabulous.... very personal.. lots of steps.. but that's Oia.. and partially why I loved it. Truly a special, special place. I would advise anyone staying in Santorini to stay here without question. We had the kids with us.. and they too loved it...

Room Tip: There was no fitness center which was the only drawback.. I think all rooms are likely spectacular..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsbunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

In my opinion, this is THE place to stay in Santorini (I did a lot of reserach and visited some other hotels during our stay). First of all, Oia is really beautiful, not as touristy or crowded as Fira and also more convenient regarding restaurants and shops etc. than Imerovigli. And in Oia, Katikies just has it all: The property is perfectly located at the beginning of the marble path that leads you to the centre of Oia. This bears a lot of advantages: Not only will you be transported right to the front of the hotel and you don't have to hike for another 10 minutes with your luggage. Its also very convenient to access your rental car or taxi. Also you can easily walk on the marble pathway and do not need to walk on the street with no sidewalk just to get to Oia (e.g. Perivolas).

The property is dramatically perched on the volcano rim offering breathtaking views of the Caldera and Thirassia. It has been upgraded for this season: The cave-pool has vanished. There is another big infinity pool instead on the same level. So, it's three (!) infinity pools now and there is plenty of room for lying down by a pool (compare: Perivolas only has one main swimming pool). The hotel is so tastefully designed. It's all white, very minimalistic but still providing the utmost in luxury and comfort. We stayed in a junior suite: Big room with king size bed and small sitting area. Nice terrace overlooking Oia and the Caldera. Suite provided BOSE Hifi with an iPod shuffle and some music playing everyday when you came back from your activities. Separate spacious dressing area with safety box. Bathroom very simple, shower only, but plenty of towels and great Bulgari (Thé vert) cosmetics (the big bottles). Also, a big bottle of water everyday, on arrival a bottle of white Assyrtico (thats the local wine) and fresh fruits and cookies delivered. Also, handwritten welcome note by the manager. Breakfast is included in the price and a la carte. You are allowed to order as much as you want. It is either delivered to your room and you can have breakfast on your own terrace or in the room. Instead, you can also go down to the pool and have breakfast there.

The highlight about our fabulous stay was actually the service: I have not experienced any place where everyone seems so genuinely friendly and interested in making your day. Front desk was awesome, esp. Sophia, Maria and Nikos as well as the manager himself. We arrived very early in the morning (7 a.m.). Since our suite wasn't ready by then, we were offered complimentary (!) breakfast by the pool. Everyone was even very apologetic about not being able to give us a room at 7 a.m. We got the our junior suite No.12 at 11 a.m. and were offered a possible upgrade to a senior suite after another hour. We declined since the junior suite was great. Also, instead of booking a taxi for visiting the Akrotiri excavations, they offered us their own hotel car at a price cheaper than a taxi as they were worried we would have a hard time finding a taxi for the way back since the Akrotiri excavations are in some kind of remote location on the other opposite side of the Island. The hotel's driver Dimitris was very nice! He even waited for us during our visit to take us home again and would not charge extra for the waiting time of approx. 60 minutes. We had a very nice conversation during the drive. When we asked about the opening hours of the museum, they would not just look it up but also ring the museum to inquire the actual opening times... On our last day, since we booked a late flight to Athens, late check out was offered at 16:30. And we were able to used hotel facilities just before our departure... Shortly before our departure for Athens, Sophia from the front desk even wrote us a list with things to do in Athens and places she thought we would like there.

I have become a big fan of Katikies and it's incredible team: Thank you so much for a wonderful (albeit too short) stay. We will be back soon, for sure!

Room Tip: Junior suite is fine! Double rooms tend to be a little on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank xiaocai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel Katikeis was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Not only were the facilities excellent but the staff were exceptional - attentive to every detail, friendly and made you feel at home. I cannot say more about Assistant Manager Sofia, Manager Alejandro and Maria. They fully accommodated our every need and always with a smile and warmth. The service at the pool was exceptional. Very professional and concerned to ensure that you were comfortable and having your needs met.

The location is impeccable and the facilities , view, pool, ambience and service top notch. I have already recommended to friends and Collin and I plan to re-visit.

We feel like we have become a part of the Katikeis family. We could never stay in another hotel on Santorini. Thanks Sofia, Alejandro, Maria and all your wonderful staff at the pool and chef for making this the best vacation I have ever had.

Hope to see you again this year!

Room Tip: a room with a balcony and view is worth it, if you want to have some privacy while taking in the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
3.1 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Property: Katikies Hotel
Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#8 Spa Hotel in Oia
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing