We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay”
Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I visited Oia for our honeymoon and were upgraded here by our surprise. What an amazing location!! We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was incredible. Food is great, staff is on it, and the views are to die for. 3 great pools overlooking the volcano are amazing as well. At check in, we received a cell phone from the hotel to call in case we needed anything while visiting Oia!

Room Tip: Ginger Ice tea is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Katikies Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mr. Dusko,

Thank you for your glowing review. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed the honeymoon suite and that you had a memorable stay with us in Santorini.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to celebrate your first wedding anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    62
    28
    8
    10
See reviews for
61
651
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I never write hotel reviews but given how AMAZING this hotel is, the location, the property, the service, I had to weigh in. My wife and I came here on our honeymoon just this past month. We couldn't have picked a better spot. It starts at the top with Alejandro, the hotel manager, who is an absolutely wonderful host. The rest of the staff is so friendly as well. The hotel is set right on the cliff with unreal views of the ocean. The place is designed with such taste. The plants, the pools, the grounds...absolute paradise. I have had the fortune of traveling around the world at 5 star hotels and never before have I experienced such an amazing level of service. We miss the staff already and hope we have a chance to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Katikies Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Michael,

Taking the time to acknowledge your satisfaction is an extremely nice present from you, and we are even more delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us!

We will make sure to congratulate Alejandro for taking care of you, as well as our extended team.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mykonos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Everything that I hoped for since first coming across this hotel a few years ago in travel and leisure magazine came true and even exceeded all the reviews, pictures and accolades you see and hear about. Alex and his staff show you why this is one of the top hotels in the world. From the location of the hotel, to the views throughout the hotel overlooking the sea to the white glove service of the entire staff- it is the perfect hotel in one of the most beautiful locations in the world. We were brought directly to one of the gorgeous brand new rooms and from that point on we knew we picked the perfect place to celebrate our honeymoon. The pool, the champagne bar, the dj, the staff, everything was just simply amazing!!! Thank you for a truly amazing experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshuamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Katikies Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Joshuamberg,

Thank you for the kind words and most importantly thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us!

We’re thrilled to read that we've been able to exceed your expectations, then we’ll have achieved what we set out to do.

Congratulations on your wedding and we hope to welcome you and your wife back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I've always heard amazing things about Santorini but when I arrived at Katikies I realized why.

Every detail is thought out. The staff in their pressed white uniforms scaling the hundreds of stairs guiding guests around to their rooms that make up the resort add a pristine effect. We spent three days here and every minute was worth it. Since the hotel is built into the side of the cliff - breakfast must be brought to your room. Not a bad way to wake up with a delicious breakfast awaiting on your beautiful terrace overlooking Santorini's caldera.

The phenomenal service continued by the pool. I got in trouble when I tried to pour my own water from the water bottle! Every time I got out of the pool, a staff member mopped up behind me to ensure no one slipped. I've never felt like such a celebrity.

The clientele is that of a high caliber and I'm sure lives this way year round however it was an incredible treat to be able to feel so important for these few days.

I will absolutely be back to this magical place again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gburn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Katikies Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guests,

We’re thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and that our staff was able to provide detailed touches to your trip that made you feel celebrity like. It is our aim to have guests leave happy and amazed and thinking about their next trip back.

We definitely hope to be able to welcome you again, and take care of you again.

Sending you our warmest and volcanic regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had booked to stay through leading hotels at Katikies with a 21 day cancellation without penalty.
A month prior I called to cancel whilst we were on a cruise and was told reservations was not available but my message will be passed on and if there were issues Nikos in reservations will email me.
21 days prior to the cancelled checkin we get charged $1200 aud , I called them and was told our travel agent had to make any changes and our cancellation was not accepted. So we were charged 1 nights stay which was 50% of our stay. Mind you they sold the room for 1.5 times the initial rate we paid and still would not honour our cancellation a month prior. Rip off, typical Greek hotels they will never learn. Next year I hope they will be empty !
No one is ever available.
Leading hotel of the world allow them to make these rules. It should be 1 rule across the board

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jaqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Katikies Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear reviewer,

Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is greatly appreciated and also gives us the opportunity to restate the policies and the procedures followed by our property.

Following a careful examination of the concerns raised in your review kindly note that:

1) Your cancelation request came only 13 days prior your arrival through a written request by your travel agent. Your travel agent, who already knew that your cancellation request came within the late cancellation period, contacted us through Leading Hotels of World to explain that you were wait listed for a cruise and asked if it is possible to waive the cancellation charges.

2) There are no records of your phone call a month prior. Also note that our front desk is well informed of our policies and, for your own protection, by no means would we ever allow a cancellation over the phone.

3) Furthermore 2 days before your expected arrival, our Reservations Manager responded to your travel agent in a courteous and professional manner that you may change the name of your reservation as requested and send someone else in your place, meaning that we didn’t sold your room as you falsely claim in your review .
Please note that our guests excellent experience of the hotel is of foremost importance to us. In accordance, our policies and procedures reflect our core values and at all times care only for our guests.

To conclude with, kindly note that we totally respect your opinion, however will never overlook the policies of our hotel on which our company values are based.

Once again we thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

LOVE!!! We stayed at Katikies hotel recently and cannot stop speaking about it. The service was exceptional, the apartments beautiful and the pool areas the same. They made a mistake with our arrival date and shifted us to another hotek for our first night- but then upgraded us to the master suite which was out of this world. Staff, including the female assistant manager and Alessandro were the best. This was our honeymoon and already we're planning to return next year. We then spent 5 weeks around Europe in nice hotels- but nothing compares with this!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talitha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Katikies Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Talitha,

We are happy that you enjoyed spending your Honeymoon with us, and extend again our most sincere Congratulations!

We hope to be able to welcome you again, perhaps for a renewal of vows ?!

Sunny Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This property is located in Oia, a famous location for its sunset view. The property is absolutely exquisite. Every room has an ocean view and most rooms have good amount of privacy (except for the top rooms where Oia begins because a lot of tourists stop right above). We arrived in the late afternoon and got a king bed room even though we had requested with the travel agency, a twins room. We immediately asked the hotel about it and were notified that such request was not noted by the travel agency. Since the hotel was full, we could not change the room at that time. However, the hotel had courteously sorted it out and found us a room to change to the following day while we were out.

As soon as we arrived, the concierge came to our room and assist us with any and all reservations. Even though it was Margarita's first few months on the island, she was very helpful and friendly in making dinner reservations, private boat tour booking, and recommendations of places to visit on the island.

After we made a room change, we discovered that neither internet nor phone worked in the room. A receptionist came down to our room to check the service and notified the manager about the problem. The manager promptly came down to our room and checked for herself. Apparently they have just installed a new internet system and it was having glitches. Within an hour, it was fixed. The hotel also sent me some complimentary coffee and desserts for my troubles.

The property itself is the highlight of the hotel. There are total of three pools and they are all infinity pools. When you are by the poolside, it looks like the pools go right over the cliff, into the ocean. The rooms are also very spacious and beautiful for a cave-like room. Breakfast is served in your room and you can order it the night before.

we only had breakfast in the hotel and the food was just ok. We did visit Sunrocks (a sister hotel) one night for dinner and it had spectacular food but the food was not that impressive.

All in all, the hotel was great. The only beef I had with it was the attitude of the male receptionist. He was less friendly than the rest of the staff. We felt like we were bothering him when we had questions or requests.

Room Tip: Don't choose the rooms up high by the pedestrian walkway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lestat529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreea G, Reputation Manager at Katikies Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your glowing review. I must agree with you, the view is just amazing from each corner of the hotel as we have the privilege to overview the volcano and the small islet Thirassia.

Thank you of course for taking the time to write down such an amount of happiness, and thank you for accepting to share it with our hotel trackers! There is no limit, with such a review, on striving to be the best, and to deliver unforgettable experiences to our guests. For all of this, again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.5 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Property: Katikies Hotel
Address: Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#4 Spa Hotel in Oia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Destinology, Hotels.com, HRS, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing