We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“katkies is nead only our money”
Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago
116
Reviewed 8 July 2006

you must have a big wollet and it not somethink spesial as a hotel don't go there oit cost the cheaper room 500 E

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2006

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for seven days in the Honeymoon suite which was very well appointed with a large terrace and fantastic views. The staff, food, service and pool were all first class. However, our holiday was spoilt by a lack of security and privacy in the Honeymoon suite. We were constanlty overlooked from the road which allowed non hotel guests to sit on the roof our room and look directly down on us whilst we were trying to relax on the terrace. Regardless of the time of day visitors to the island would sit on the wall of our terrace, look down on us from the road or even try and climb over the wall onto our terrace to ahve their phto taken. It was such a shame to have the most beautiful terrace and view I have ever had but not be able to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JJ400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
southern california
229
Reviewed 5 July 2006

This hotel has some positives. The views are amazing. But, there are amazing views EVERYWHERE on Santorini (we rented a car for 3 days and can vouch for that). The breakfast was very good. But, other than that, we were highly underwhelmed with the Katikies. We stayed six nights on Santorini, but only two at the Katikies. What we learned by staying at another place for the 4 nights prior to arriving at the Katikies is that you DO NOT need to spend $500+/night to have a lovely stay on the island. Our room at the Katikies was unbelievably small (especially the bathroom) and loud. We could hear the people above us walking around, the wood floors were incredibly squeaky, and we were woken up during the night by the sound of pumps (not sure if they were Katikies or the facility next door).
I had read trip advisor reviews before going, but we had already booked our trip. The negative reviews about this place are right on target. I wish we had saved some money by not staying here. I have stayed at some nice hotels around the world, so I feel like I can give an accurate assessment. Other points to highlight (also pointed out in some negative reviews I read and agree with) are that the hotel only recommends it's own restaurants which are completely overpriced, the pools are gorgeous but there is limited seating, the stairs are steep, and you feel like the staff is constantly watching over you. Yuck.
Wouldn't stay here again. We "found" this place from a travel agent who said it is the best and we disagree completely.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2006

I'm a travel agent and I've had the opportunity to travel extensively. Katakies hotel exceeded my expectations. It is an absolutely beautiful location overlooking the caldera but the best thing about Katakies is the staff. The friend that travelled with me had broken her leg 8 weeks before we left for Greece. She could barely walk and had to have a wheelchair just to get through the airports. A couple of guys that work at the hotel actually CARRIED her to her room while she sat on the seat of her push stroller/walker! They were great! They checked in with her to make sure she was having a good time and brought her frozen fruit drinks and magazines.

The staff always greeting us with a smile, provided exceptional service, and were a major part of what we'll always remember about our vacation in Santorini.

3  Thank Carmensol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Marina del Rey, CA
112
Reviewed 26 May 2006

My wife and I spent 4 days at Katikies in oia on the island of santorini and we had the time of our lives! The grounds were immaculate, the room was charming, but the views and the service were unforgettable. The staff genuinely cares for the guest. They sincerely want to make sure that you enjoy yourself. The town of Oia is more like a village, great shopping and food (incredibly fresh seafood). You will hear about the steps and yes it is a workout but that's not necessarily a bad thing on a vacation. 90% of our time their was positive but here are some things to be aware of: a taxi driver took us literally 3 minutes up the road and charged us 10 euro (13 bucks)... we expect to spend money on a vacation {we've frequented Four Seasons and Ritz Carltons) but that was simply a rip off... also some of the restaurants were more expensive than you would think especially considering they didn't have a fine dining atmosphere. I highly recommend Ambrosias which did have a wonderful atmosphere to match its great food. We also took a boat to the hot spring - that was a blast! This Hotel and the views will stay with us forever... not to mention the sunsets! I highly recommend Katikies.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2006

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Santorini, with 2 nights in Katikies hotel in Oia and 2 nights in Sun Rock hotel in Fira. This is our first time to Greece or Santorini. I hope below info is helpful to those first timers too.

We paid 325 euro a night for a superior room in Katikies and 300 euro a night for a honeymoon suite in Sun Rock.

Let's talk about Katikies first. It's in a very good location, by the cliff side and at the entrance of a walking alley which leads you to the very west side of island where you can watch beautiful sunset (the most popular site for watching sunset). The hotel is beautifully decorated in a simple style, with very good view at almost everywhere, the pool, the sun tun decor, your own terrace. Hotel staff are very helpful and service is excellent. I saw many people mentioned its excellent breakfast. Sure it is. They always keep pool water warm so that you can swim in April like what we did.

The only thing that I won't give a full rating is its room space. We are from Asia. If you are used to spacious 5-star hotel room(especially toilet) in asia and US, you need to adjust your expectation here. By using European standard, it's not bad at all. And although it's small, it's nice and elegant. In the end, it's the atmosphere that we like the most. We'll definitely choose it again. By the way, we stayed at room #5, overlooks the beautiful pool and sea. Because there are limited number of rooms in Katikies hotel, room reservation can be an issue. We booked ours 2 months in advance.

Now let's talk about Sun Rock. On the contrary, the honeymoon suite we got is spacious comparing the room in Katikies. The living room is specially big, with a huge breakfast table. Room terrace is very big as well. And there is a jaccuzi inside the room. We like this cave style room a lot! And staff there are also very helpful. There is a CD player in the room while we did not bring any CD with us. The hotel staff lent us 2 Greek music CDs. Wonderful music! In Sun Rock, you have a even better(a real panorama) sea view than Katikies, especially at its pool/decor area, or in its restaurant. We did not swim here as the pool water is cold (they did not get it heated). In terms of location, Sun Rock is about 1km(or maybe longer) from Fira town. There is a cliff side walking road which leads you from the hotel to the town. In day time, it's a very pleasant walk with scenic view. But at night, it's a bit dark as there are not so many street lights. In short, Sun Rock is a very good choice for spacious room and great view!

If you are the first time to Santorini, both Oia town and Fira town should not be missed. Although you can always rent a car or take a taxi between two towns, the best way in my mind is to stay few nights in each town.

Last but not the least, it's really windy in April/May in Santorini. Though it's very warm in day time, it can be cold at night. So don't forget to bring sweater and jacket.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
41  Thank YJ2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Katikies hotel for a week in October during our honeymoon. It was nothing short of fabulous. The service, views, decor, and food were fantastic. Katikies is a splurge hotel -- a special place for a honeymoon or anniversary trip. It seemed like the majority of guests were honeymooners. We spent most of our days lounging by the pool and enjoyed the complimentary afternoon fruit smoothies. Breakfast was truly decadent--you can basically order anything you want and it will be delivered to your terrace at the specific time requested! We were very glad that we also did their private rooftop wine tasting! What an experience tasting fabulous wine and eating yummy nibbles while watching the world-famous Santorini sunset. For our last night, we had dinner at the Katikies restaurant (not the cave) and it was an incredible meal. Katikies and Santorini are VERY special places!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank victoriasw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kirini Santorini
Kirini Santorini
#9 of 58 in Oia
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
5.6 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#9 Spa Hotel in Oia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £346 - £1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing