We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Katikies, once they changed us out of the moldy room!”
Review of Katikies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Katikies Hotel
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We arrived at Katikies and were blown away by the grounds of the hotel as well as the lobby. However, once they took us to our room, I could immediately detect a moldy scent. When I brought that to the managers attention right away, she looked at me blankly and pretended to not smell it. I mean, there was a humidifier sitting on the floor right there! Come on. When I informed her that we could not spend the night there, she was very sympathetic, but unfortunately all of the rooms were booked. We ended up finding a nice hotel down the road where we spent the night (Alexanders Suites) and checked back into Katikies the next morning. This time, the room they gave us was beatifully decorated ( superior suite), quite a bit overpriced, but nontheless we enjoyed it immensely! The service was wonderful, the pool was breathtaking and the views were unbelievable!
We spoke with some other guests there (most guests were American) who told us that they were warned not to book a room with a loft because someone knocked her head in the low ceiling while making a pm bathroom trip and got a concussion. When booking please make sure you dont get room #23!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank bubadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2006

The property at Katikies is absolutely beautiful, and they do treat you very, very well...champagne upon arrival, courtesy mobile phone to keep with you during your stay, guided tour of the facilities, attention to every need, great food...it's hard to find fault with the property, other than the two I noted --the rooms are smaller than you might expect for what you're paying (our junior suite felt like a normal room), especially the bathrooms -- and there simply isn't enough lounge space by the pools. You feel like you're lying on top of the people next to you (although, in fairness, it was the high season). The views are breathtaking, you can easily walk into town for dinner if you don't want to eat at their restaurants (although the lunch and dinner we had at the casual/pool restauarant were excellent), and they will attend to any and every need you have...the service is really over the top, I couldn't complain about any of it. It's lovely how they bring breakfast to your terrace/balcony every day, and the food is plentiful and very well prepared. Easy to see why it's classified as an SLH, it fits the bill in every way...

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank nycity016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

My Husband and I finished off our honeymoon in this amazing hotel. We started off in Athnens, went on to Mykonos and spent our last 3 days at Katikies. Everything was top notch! It was a very relaxing, romantic and beautiful place to stay. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. The breakfast was very nice and we loved to have it set up on our balcony. The infinity pool overlooking the caldera was breathtaking. We had the pleasure of dining in the cave restaurant which was unbelievalbe. I would definitely recommend it. the food/wine was spectacular, the service was wonderful and it was extremely romantic. If we have the opportunity to go back to Greece this place is definitely where we will stay. It is 100% worth the price!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Jigglyfrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago
116
Reviewed 8 July 2006

you must have a big wollet and it not somethink spesial as a hotel don't go there oit cost the cheaper room 500 E

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for seven days in the Honeymoon suite which was very well appointed with a large terrace and fantastic views. The staff, food, service and pool were all first class. However, our holiday was spoilt by a lack of security and privacy in the Honeymoon suite. We were constanlty overlooked from the road which allowed non hotel guests to sit on the roof our room and look directly down on us whilst we were trying to relax on the terrace. Regardless of the time of day visitors to the island would sit on the wall of our terrace, look down on us from the road or even try and climb over the wall onto our terrace to ahve their phto taken. It was such a shame to have the most beautiful terrace and view I have ever had but not be able to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JJ400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
southern california
229
Reviewed 5 July 2006

This hotel has some positives. The views are amazing. But, there are amazing views EVERYWHERE on Santorini (we rented a car for 3 days and can vouch for that). The breakfast was very good. But, other than that, we were highly underwhelmed with the Katikies. We stayed six nights on Santorini, but only two at the Katikies. What we learned by staying at another place for the 4 nights prior to arriving at the Katikies is that you DO NOT need to spend $500+/night to have a lovely stay on the island. Our room at the Katikies was unbelievably small (especially the bathroom) and loud. We could hear the people above us walking around, the wood floors were incredibly squeaky, and we were woken up during the night by the sound of pumps (not sure if they were Katikies or the facility next door).
I had read trip advisor reviews before going, but we had already booked our trip. The negative reviews about this place are right on target. I wish we had saved some money by not staying here. I have stayed at some nice hotels around the world, so I feel like I can give an accurate assessment. Other points to highlight (also pointed out in some negative reviews I read and agree with) are that the hotel only recommends it's own restaurants which are completely overpriced, the pools are gorgeous but there is limited seating, the stairs are steep, and you feel like the staff is constantly watching over you. Yuck.
Wouldn't stay here again. We "found" this place from a travel agent who said it is the best and we disagree completely.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2006

I'm a travel agent and I've had the opportunity to travel extensively. Katakies hotel exceeded my expectations. It is an absolutely beautiful location overlooking the caldera but the best thing about Katakies is the staff. The friend that travelled with me had broken her leg 8 weeks before we left for Greece. She could barely walk and had to have a wheelchair just to get through the airports. A couple of guys that work at the hotel actually CARRIED her to her room while she sat on the seat of her push stroller/walker! They were great! They checked in with her to make sure she was having a good time and brought her frozen fruit drinks and magazines.

The staff always greeting us with a smile, provided exceptional service, and were a major part of what we'll always remember about our vacation in Santorini.

3  Thank Carmensol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.3 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#16 of 56 in Oia
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katikies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katikies Hotel

Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#8 Spa Hotel in Oia
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £347 - £946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Katikies Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katikies Hotel in Oia Santorini is renowned for its leading luxury, unparalleled services, warm atmosphere and sense of romance uniquely combined in an exceptional setting and natural environment in Oia Santorini, inviting its guests to experience moments of pure luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Katikies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katikies Hotel Oia
Katikies Hotel Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing