We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming little bookshop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Books

Atlantis Books
Ranked #1 of 21 Shopping in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming little bookshop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

A charming little bookshop along the main shopping stretch of Oia which offers books in a variety of languages (including some English first-edition prints!). Lots of warmth and character in the shop which is sadly missing these days in this generation of e-books and e-readers, plus a nice timeline of the bookshop's history painted on the ceiling. Definitely worth going in to have a look if you're walking by!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jkfliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    21
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skien, Norway
1 review
“I want this bookstore in my town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We noticed the bookstore from the wall paintings outside, and the inside did not disappoint. We chose this store over the sunset that night because of the crowds. We looked around for a long time and enjoyed browsing titles and the great atmosphere. It is small, but felt just like a bookstore should!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RagnhildFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly staff, quirky atmosphere- must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Even for non-book lovers this little bookshop is a must visit! It is located very conveniently in the centre of Oia and will be passed on the way to the view for the sunset. It is a quirky shop with beautiful unique decorations, open books flying on the ceiling, funny quotes and phrases dotted all around the shop, a little staircase leading to a rooftop view of the sunset, first edition copies of worldwide famous books, a wide variety of different books from different countries, cute uniqe note books, cards and bookmarks. Prices are not too bad- depends on what you buy but we stayed in Fira and even considered returning all the way to Oia again just to visit the bookshop with more money.
The staff were very friendly, and were actually having dinner when we arrived at quite a late time in the bookshop- this added to the lovely homey feel and quirkiness of the bookshop. Despite this they were more than happy to chat with us and discuss books. We asked whether they had quite an obscure book available and he apologized saying they did not but proceeded to tell us all about the book, which we knew little about. The staff know their books well and are a wonderful addition to such a lovely shop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A nice cozy book shop, very unique. Hidden. Offered books in several language.
Bought 4 about Greek myth and legend.
The book shop alone is a must see, you’ll know what I mean when you’re in it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eugenie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Uniquely designed, Friendly Craig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Although a small bookstore, I was pulled into the shop by its design. I was with a friend of mine who is a bookworm like me.

We both browsed along the place and I was impressed with the way the place was done up- with some inspirational saying on the wall, to their story written in a timeline on the wall to their jokes about rent-a-cat! :-) There are books in Mandarin too!

Craig was very helpful in finding English books about Greek philosophers and had a quick but interesting conversation about how they ended up opening up this bookshop.

All the best guys!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atlantis Books also viewed

Oia, Santorini
Akrotiri, Santorini
 

Been to Atlantis Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing