We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic atmosphere, great fun, brilliant value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oia's Sunset Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, great fun, brilliant value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

No, it's not a luxury hotel, no, it doesn't have a caldera view, and yes, sometimes the hot water pressure in the shower leaves something to be desired. If you're the kind of person who expects the monogrammed towels to be folded into an ornamental swan each morning then go elsewhere; and while pretty much anywhere in Oia is stunningly beautiful, the location is a bit close to the square where all the big tours get dropped off, so there are definitely more secluded/romantic spots. But none of that matters because this is a completely brilliant hotel nonetheless. It's a lovely, cosy place, a collection of traditional-looking apartments piled on top of one another around a small but deep and spotlessly blue pool, each with a little balcony/sitting area outside. The rooms themselves are clean, comfortable and air-conditioned, if somewhat basic. For breakfast I think there were a variety of options available but we never got beyond the delicious fruit, yoghurt and local honey!

What really makes the place, however, is the atmosphere. It's run by Panos (with assistance from the inimitable Stavros while we were there) who is nothing short of a legend. Before we even walked in we had drinks in our hands and a warm, jovial welcome; there was a party of sorts in the bar every night; and Panos was full of recommendations for where to go and what to do without any of the normal sense that we were just being pushed to the people paying the biggest kickbacks. Pretty much wherever we went on the island, his name raised a happy smile of recognition. I've stayed in a wide variety of hotels of varying qualities, but I've never experienced such completely genuine hospitality anywhere before. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peregrinatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    86
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
94
212
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

My boyfriend and I were looking for a hotel in Santorini that was affordable, centrally located and not too stuffy. We found all of these things and more at Oia's Sunset!
This affordable hotel is located in the heart of Oia and is within walking distance of dozens of shops and restaurants. While the hotel does not have rooms with caldera views, the most exquisite caldera view in Oia is a mere 10 steps away from the hotel.
Our stay wouldn't have been the same without unforgettable management and staff - especially Panos and Stavros. They made this hotel the most fun and inviting hotel
we've ever stayed in! It was as if we were staying with family! They also gave great advice about restaurants, beaches, and things to do around the island.
Thank you Panos and Stavros for being such wonderful hosts!!! We hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madkr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Panos and Stavros were great! So much to do and see and everyday they were there to help.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDTDMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Great location and service ! Very friendly staff. Located in the old city centre of Oia. It does not have views to the Caldera bay, but the views are 2 minutes walking as well as restaurants, markets and shops. We had an excellent time there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megadayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed in Oia for 3 nights. We arrived late at night and the room itself was very basic but comfortable. The next morning we were welcomed like old friends which immediately made us relax (after a good breakfast and cocktails!) The hotel is located right in the heart of Oia (it can get a little noisy in the mornings so don't expect to lie in!) so a short walking distance for food, drink, shopping and taking in the beautiful scenery. We had a fab time chilling by the pool in the late afternoons before heading back out with Panos and Stevros looking after us and giving us all the info on where to go and helping us booking tours and making sure that we had everything we needed for our 4 days. The Sunsets are truly amazing. Would definitely come back to Santorini and Oia Sunset as it is a great chilled out place and also to catch up with Panos and Stevros who are a credit to the place! Thanks so much guys! S&V from London

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSVPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We ended up here because Aris Caves was booked and she suggested Oia's Sunset among others. Getting there was easy. We rented a car, took it to a busy square to unload, and the entrance was a short walk. We were able to park for free very close by.

Panos and Stavros were great hosts. Panos speaks very good English. Both are very helpful. They showed us two units and gave us a choice. The units are actually full apartments with kitchens, which was ideal. Plenty of windows, great ventilation, our own porch, clean and tidy rooms. Not to mention our occasional visitor, a friendly cat we named "Mike." We loved our unit #4 across the alley from a restaurant, I actually ordered appetizers through the window and the waiter brought them over! Another night, a group of women sitting in on the restaurant's patio sang several old Greek folk songs which were a joy to listen to.

There is a clear blue sparkling pool which we rarely used. The view of the sunset from the apartment was okay, but you will want to take the short walk through the car-less streets to view the sunsets with the crowd, from the old fort or other nearby perches. We walked down the steps to the harbor during one of the sunset nights and left the crowds behind, gaping at amazing vistas, and stopped for a lovely dinner at one of the fish tavernas in the harbor.

Oia's Sunset is in a busy area, so if you like it deathly quiet you might not like it. But since there was no immediately adjacent automobile traffic, all we really heard were voices. It made us feel like we were in the heart of Oia. We would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BaddMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

This place looks very nice on photos - and it's true, the exterier and around the very small plunge pool - which was usually filled with kids screaming) does look nice and cute. But get to the rooms and you will be dissappointed. Although the rooms did come with semi-cooking facilities, these rooms were dreadful. The mattresses probably haven't been changed since this place opened - paper thin and lumpy... dreadful night's sleep. Our view was overlooking a busy restaurant - Panos (everyone here is called Panos) advised us that we had one of the best rooms - I'd hate to have seen the worst. The bathroom is tiny. Best said - extremely basic rooms.

This leads to Panos (his real name was Stavros); who greeted us with us dragging our suitcases up all the stairs - no help. Didn't have our booking so fortunately (or unfortunately) cancelled someone else out of a room who hadn't turned up at that point. The man reminded me of an annoying Uncle who was always drunk (and he was always drunk) - babbling and talking over us... not what you want after a long journey to this place.

Overall - this was poor value for money - even on Santorini. You could find a much nicer better valued place to stay (and if you do let me know because I do plan to return to the beautiful town of Oia - just not this hotel).

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.6 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
3.2 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
4.5 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oia's Sunset Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oia's Sunset Apartments

Property: Oia's Sunset Apartments
Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Oia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oia's Sunset Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Oia's Sunset Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oia`s Sunset Hotel Oia
Oias Sunset Oia
Oias Sunset Hotel Oia
Oia's Sunset Apartments Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing