We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2007

We arrived in Santorini and caught a public bus to Thira. Then we caught another bus to Oia. A short walk from the bus stop is Oia Sunset. Panos is the manager and he is the most hospitable person we met on our 7 week trip to Europe. The rooms are very clean, beautiful, large, everything we wanted our Greek Experience to be. We stayed for 3 nights but we would have loved to have stayed longer. The rooms are self-contained with kitchen, bathroom, lounge and bedroom. Make sure you have a Gyros for lunch and walk to Amoudi Bay below Oia for lunch at the tavern. I couldn't recommend 'Oia Sunset' more highly. It doesn't have a view of the Caldera but that didn't matter to us. Ghia Soo.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Steve_Hubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2007

Oia's Sunset is a beautiful hotel. Clean, spacious rooms with plenty of windows to let the breeze in. Christine and I traveled to Santorini on our honeymoon. We stayed half our trip at the Oia Sunset. We wish we would have stayed the entire time here. It is centrally located in Oia. Step outside the Oia gates and you have shops, restaurants and markets. From our room 14, we had a wonderful view of the sunset. What makes this stay wonderful is experiencing Greek hospitality thanks to Panos. He is always by the pool bar waiting to greet you as you come and go. Thanks Panos. Eric & Christine.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ericcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2007

Great hotel, smack bang in the middle of Oia. Close to all the major attractions of Oia and fantastic views of the sunset from the balcony. Host Panos is also great and will go out of his way to make your stay enjoyable with loads of tips and suggestions of things to do in Oia and Santorini in general.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bbbrutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2007

Great value considering the prices in Oia and Santorini in general.
Hotel was clean, rooms comfortable and close to bus stop and supermarket and restaurants.
Panos is a wonderful host and Hotel Manager. He was very welcoming and friendly and funny and made you feel right at home and helped out with any information you needed about where to go and what to do, where to eat etc. Nothing was too much trouble for Panos. Again - a fabulous host. Totally enjoyed my experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Alleycat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2007

Brisbane, Queensland , Australia

My family of 4 (including 2 adults, one teenager and one 10 year old) and a family friend (20 years of age) spent 3 wonderful nights at Oia Sunset, Oia, Santorini. Oia Sunset is set back from the caldera but is within walking distance via a small alley way flanked with shops displaying interesting wares and authentic Greek restaurants. At the top of the walkway is the courtyard of one of the most significant Greek Orthodox Churches on the island. One of the purposes for visiting Santorini was to spend time with the locals as they celebrated the Greek Easter festival. On Good Friday evening, the Epitaphios, the symbolic representation of Christ's tomb was carried through the village in an amazing candleit procession, followed by the priest. A spectacular fireworks display occurred as we walked. To the south, we could see the village of Pyrgos alight with candles. On the outskirts of Oia (within a short walking distance from Oia Sunset) is a small bakery which we frequented every morning to buy delicious treats. My children particularly enjoyed the Bird's nest and they were very interested in the traditional Easter plaited bread rolls with red painted eggs in the centre. After purchasing our breakfast, we would sit on the terrace near the pool at Oia Sunset to eat and to discuss the itinerary for the day. When my children are asked by enquiring relatives and friends about their favourite place in Europe, they both say that Oia Sunset was the best. From the moment we arrived, Panos (manager) made us feel at home. He was very attentive to our needs and made a special effort to accommodate our family in two suitable units. Our teenager was very impressed when Panos gave him a basketball and encouraged him to play on the local basketball court only 100 metres from the hotel . We all had a great time shooting hoop inbetween sightseeing trips. Within walking distance of the hotel is the most stunning spot to see the famous Oia sunsets. Oia Sunset Hotel is a very suitable place for families to stay on Santorini.

Stayed: April 2007
5  Thank SatisfiedTraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Oia Sunset is fantastic. This was the last stop on a trip to Europe with my boyfriend, our first trip together. The studio style room had beautiful white walls and bedding with blue windows and accents. There was a seperate small eating area and kitchen including refridgerator. Days were relaxing - with the kitchen in our room we could do a breakfast when we wanted, we were within steps of the sunset and the twisting, winding streets with little shops and restaurants. At night, oia is amazingly beautiful, with all the white cubist style buildings lit up and reflecting off the water.

Panos was immensly helpful and charming. He provided us with ideas of things to do such as a hike to Fira town and booked our boat ride to the volcanic island in the center of the caldera and our airport transfer. He went above and beyond, getting our dinner reservations, including suggesting restaurants, and pointing us to the grocery store where the locals go.

Additionally, Panos was very responsive to my emails while booking the reservations.

We were surprised to find that each studio had a patio with two chairs. We lucked out in that our room was on a second story and had a patio that was not located off the courtyard but off the steps to the room, so it was somewhat more isolated - though with only 13 rooms or so, any patio is beautiful and relaxing.

Finally, an earlier posting I had read said that the bathroom was a typical mediterrean bathroom in that it was "wet" meaning the shower drained to the middle of the bathroom floor. That was not the case and in fact we had fantastic hot water. And in another post I read, it mentioned that there was not a coffee maker or hot water heater in the room - we did have one of these, though we are not coffee drinkers so did not use it!

I hope you get to stay at Oia Sunset. It is perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uncittybit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2007

When people saw the pictures we took of the hotel, they were jealous. We stayed here for 3 nights and we wanted to stay so much longer, we were truly sad to leave Santorini. The town of Oia was recommended to us as it's known for its beautiful sunsets. Oia Sunset was 1 block away from the local bus stop (you can take the local bus from the main port to Fira and then transfer to another bus that takes you to Oia) Even though the bus stop is close, it wasn't noisy at all. We were in a 3 bed apartment even though there were only 2 of us and we made reservations for 1 bed, Panos, the awesome owner, hooked us up with a bigger place for the same price. The room was simple, the bathroom and shower were really small, but the room included a small kitchenette and a dining table. We had a really nice balcony looking onto the courtyard/pool area. This hotel doesn't face the caldera which didn't bother us because it's so much more expensive to stay on that side of Oia and to see the caldera, it was only a 1 minute walk. The pool looked nice, but we didn't go in because it was a little too cold for me. My best advice if you stay here is to ask Panos for local recommendations. With his help, we booked a day boat trip to see the volcano and hot springs located within the caldera one day and another we booked a snorkeing trip which took us to the other side of the island. We didn't know about these tours until Panos told us about them, and he made the booking process extremely easy for both. I highly recommend this hotel for its value, Panos' expertise and it's location in Oia. Also, go to Thomas Grill across from the hotel for great, very affordable dinner and drinks. Mezze had the best red wine I had the entire trip, it's up the hill from the hotel towards the caldera. Take a left on the main path and it's on the left-hand side. Ask Panos, he probably knows exactly where it is.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GtownHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
3.8 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
7.1 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
707 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oia's Sunset Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oia's Sunset Apartments

Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Oia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £75 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oia's Sunset Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Oia's Sunset Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oia`s Sunset Hotel Oia
Oias Sunset Oia
Oias Sunset Hotel Oia
Oia's Sunset Apartments Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing