We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We stayed here years ago, and still dream of going back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perivolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Perivolas
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We stayed here years ago, and still dream of going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have to say that we stayed here two times, with two years in between, and I miss it terribly!!! I wish they had a 6 star rating for "best ever", because this place would be it. Unbelievably stunning views, peaceful, magical, romantic, serene, indulgent, warm, inviting, delicious, relaxing. I can only think of one place in the world that would pull me into a plane and entice me back for thousands of dollars in airplane and transfer fees, and Perivolas would be it! The "rooms" are caves that were dug out of the side of the hill and lived in by fishermen and were winery storage at one point. Now the "rooms" are like being inside the womb of the side of the earth. You are literally inside the side of the island, and when you open your front door you are standing on a flattened part of tiled dirt that is cut into the side of the island hill! Unreal. Just make sure you do not get the rooms to either side of the office, or your experience will be different. Still nice, but less romantic. We stayed in one of those rooms for a few nights, but it was worth the transfer to upgrade. I am sure now this would not be possible, as they book months in advance now. The breakfast is world class and included, and the drinks by the poolside are just this side of decadent. The pool is one of the islands first infinity pools ever, and they did it just right. Not too flashy, and has the feel of being inside a natural hillside pool. The service is impeccable. The town of Oia is charming, artistic, and unreal in it's charm & beauty. Eating in a restaurant under the full moon overlooking the water, with a volcanic island in the center, has got to be on the top of any romantic's bucket list. Not too mention the tales of Atlantis - they seem to whisper in the wind here no matter how much of a non believer you may be. Do go often into town, and bring extra spending money because you'll need it! Our home has some wonderful memories of this place that I would not trade for anything. The only big advice for staying here would be not to arrive during the Cruise ship season. If you're ok with weather which may not always be perfect, late May is a great month and the prices are more reasonable here (and all over the island). Make sure you spend at least 5 nights here. Once you arrive, you'll want to cancel other reservations and won't want to go anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    29
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
226
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at the Perivolas (late June-early July). Wow - what an incredible location, view, and experience!!! The hotel provide transfers from and to the airport. The first view when you come down the main staircase to the check-in office is just breath-taking and the views just keep coming! The ladies who work in reception could not be more friendly or helpful. Any questions about tours, restaurants, or transportation are immediately addressed. We really enjoyed the welcome glass of champagne! The view at the pool is just like on all the magazine covers - but even better in person! I have never spent so much time in a pool (the weather was really hot which may have contributed to this:-) - and I never got tired of the view of the caldera:-) We stayed in a junior suite. The traditional cave rooms are cool, white, and, and minimalistic in design and furnishings - which seemed just perfect for the setting. The mini-fridge is well stocked and the the hotel provides all the bottled water you want - something I really appreciated. A carafe of local vin santo is also available in your room, along with homemade chocolate crunch candies that come with the turn-down service. What a nice treat! Our patio area had 2 cushioned loungers and another breath-taking view. The colorful flowers, cactus, and other plants are all over the property and really add to the ambiance. I enjoyed watching new people check-in and watch them react to where they were. I'd hear things like: "this is the most beautiful place I've ever seen!" Like all of Santorini, there are stairs to deal with. I considered this a great way to work off my meals, but it is a consideration if you have mobility problems. Breakfast is included and is large! Greek yogurt, fresh pastries, and eggs cooked to order are available. The restaurant provides lunch and dinner. We took advantage of dinner at one of the private tables along the caldera edge. Oh my - what a great experience!!! The service was excellent. The fresh catch of the day, grilled to perfection and filleted table-side was delicious. The memory of enjoying some Santorini wine, staring at the caldera and the lights of Oia, and the incredible setting are priceless. Oia is about a 10 minute gorgeous walk. Overall, Perivolas is a special place that we hope to return to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTCOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The view is amazing, my husband and I absolutely loved the pool and terrace. But, that is all this hotel has to offer.

Ther service was less than expected and the rooms and amenities left much to be desired. We mentioned three times that we were disappointed with the service and lack of amenities (as stated via their website) and asked to speak to a manager. Day 5, we finally had a chance to voice our complaints with an accountant on property. There were no apologies or desire to improve our experience - she just reiterated that they are the best hotel on the island and there are plenty of people who love it.

Bottom line: you can get another hotel on the island for 3/4 of the price with better service and amenities!!! Just take a short stroll for the view.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank J067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed twice at Perivolas, within a month. It is sensationally located, with views over both the town and the sea which are hard to match. For my wife and me, the real difference was the reception, with its superfriendy, engaging ladies, ready to help on anything at any time. In particular, Aphrodite was absolutely outstanding, delivering performance on par with the concierge desk of the Four Seasons in NYC. Your want to learn more about the very impressive Greek restaurants in Santorini? She has her own Michelin guide of the island. Need advice on the live music scene in Athens, including you tube links? No problem either. An approach to service, difficult to find anywhere in the world. That actually makes one accept the rather steep pricing of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejhfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

This was our second visit to Perivolas, the first was 8 years ago. We loved it as much as the last time. It is a wonderful luxury hotel in an absolutely beautiful location. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful and welcoming without being in your face. Breakfast is included and is delicious. Lunch and dinner were excellent as well...probably the best food in Oia. We felt very, very pampered in a lovely way...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JET067_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed at Perivolas in the first week in May, and would not hesitate to do so again. Others have already said it, but the location, views (oh the views), accommodation and staff make this worth (almost) every single Euro. From the pick-up at the port, to the drop-off at the airport (both included in the cost) everything worked, and brilliantly. We had a Superior Suite (number 15) which was light, airy, with separate bedroom, and wonderful large terrace where we spent a great deal of time. The pool was cool in the first week of May (not helped by unseasonal weather) but was still lovely. We ate in the restaurant or had room service several times - the choice was quite limited, but the quality consistently high, and the prices very reasonable. Breakfast was excellent and served in the restaurant or on our terrace. My husband was somewhat under the weather and the staff could not have been kinder or more helpful to us. I don't think Perivolas is for everyone - if you need lots of drawers and wardrobe space, hate steps, must have a bath, or like cosy hotels and carpets then this is not for you. But if you value quality and simplicity (the photos on the website tell it as it is) and want day-long views to die for, this must be the place to be in Oia. The hotel is located about 10 minutes easy stroll from the middle of Oia.

Room Tip: Away from the restaunrt/pool area is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Very mysterious place, a perfect hideaway within walking distance from the beautiful little town Oia on the north shore of Santorini. Built into shore with traditional Santorinian rooms built into the rocky mountain. Nothing for people having problems with stairs (but that actually applies to the whole island) this hotel has everything - a stunning infinity pool, steam sauna, retreaments, gym, jacuzzi a nice little restaurant. Rooms are amazing, the better ones (whereby there are no really bad rooms) come with indoor jacuzzi bath tube or even private swimming pool (but that is getting really cost intensive). The hotel is not overly cheap but you definitely get good value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.8 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivolas

Property: Perivolas
Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#11 Spa Hotel in Oia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#20 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Perivolas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and intimate Perivolas Hotel is the ultimate in the relaxed and elegant simplicity of island living. Combining breathtaking views with the luxury of absolute tranquility, beautiful architecture, warm hospitality, excellent cuisine and an inspiring land and seascape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Perivolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perivolas Hotel Oia
Perivolas Santorini/Oia
Perivolas Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing