We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifetime Favorite”
Review of Perivolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perivolas
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2007

I've been to many places, and this is hands-down, no question, my favorite. I think it will be hard to ever beat. HIghly recommend if you are looking for beauty and relaxation. The "rooms" are actually like white caves carved into the mountainside, and couldn't be more tastefully decorated. The people are beyond gracious, and the views are stunning. There have been so many times when I've seen pictures of places, and when you actually arrive it is obvious that the "ugly" parts have been cropped out. Not so here. The gorgeous photographs you see are indicative of what to expect. A+++++++

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank VeryPickyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Perivolas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2007

My wife and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon last year. I know it's late, but I just have to write a review about this place, as I have not stopped thinking about this hotel since I left. The view itself is simply amazing. The grounds are tastefully decorated. We felt so tranquil and serene here. No noise, no kids, no "all-inclusive" people. Just our cave and the view. And the pool of course. It was a wonder in itself, just sitting down outside our room in the morning, sipping coffee, reading, talking. As for the staff, they seemed fine. Didn't have too much interaction with them, which is fine. I really don't understand any negative reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank macsima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

From the moment we booked this hotel, until the end of our stay, we were looked after really well by all staff at Perivolas. It's set along the cliffs, with a beautiful view of the caldera, and the prettiest town in the world, Oia. Sunsets were amazing, by the pool (which feels like is your own private pool as there is no more than around 4 people in the pool at the same time). We stayed in a Junior Suite, which had two beds, a sitting room, kitchenette, and bathroom, in a traditional cave-style apartment. Breakfast was served either at the restaurant balcony, or at your own private balcony, and they consist of fresh Greek yoghurt, pastries, muesli, cornflakes, fruit salad, different juices and bread with a selection of jam.
Sure, the price is expensive (we were hesitant when first booking) but when we got there, the scenery, the environment and the service made us want to stay for more!
Ok it's not modern, and it's quiet - but that's why you're there! To relax, forget about the stress from work, family, etc, and enjoy the serenity of the place. Afterall, this is more like a retreat, than a resort.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

One of our all-time favorite views and settings of any hotel we've ever been to.

This is a hotel that's all about relaxing. It's quiet (we liked this) and serene. We enjoyed lounging on our terrace and hanging out by the pool. The nightly glass-of-wine-as-we-watched-the-sunset-from-our-terrace was pure bliss.

We loved the easy and scenic walk (10-15 min.) into the cute town of Oia, and ate dinner most nights in town.

The breakfasts were lovely, and you could have them either on your terrace or at the little restaurant.

The rooms were cozy (we slept so well!) and charming. Our only complaint - which others have noted - was that the showers were a pain. The whole bathroom gets wet when one of you takes a shower. But alas, we'd still stay here again in a heartbeat! (It just takes a few extra towels a day and a minute or two to dry off the bathroom a bit...not too much of a pain).

We loved this, and have already recommended it to others!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bielie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

Perivolas was our first hotel we stayed in to start our honeymoon, it was perfect. After traveling for 24 hours, and arriving at the Santorini airport, we had our transfer waiting to bring us to the hotel. We checked in to our junior suite after being given a tour of the property, and welcome drinks.
The view was amazing, breakfast was good with a variety to choose from, the staff was very helpful and friendly. I had emailed the hotel prior to arrival to make dinner reservations. The reservations were made when we got there, and they called us to remind us every day.
The hotel is a short walk to town, which is great because your still close enough to town but away from all the noise and tourists coming in from the cruise ships.
We had a couples massage on our second day and it was wonderful.
The pool was great.. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to get away, and relax and take in the spectacular view.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SRJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

We just returned from a three week vacation to Greece. We had the hardest time trying to pick a hotel in Santorini (Perivolas,Katikies,Kirini). This has always been a dream destination for us & wanted to stay at the perfect hotel. We emailed Perivolas with some questions when we were first researching hotels. Kelly from Perivolas was so quick to respond & more than happy to answer any questions we had. We were so impressed by Kelly & her service that we decided on Perivolas. It turned out to be the right one. This place is truly special!!!!!

When we very first stepped on the grounds at Perivolas, WOW!!! Our jaws dropped, the grounds & views are simply breathtaking. The hotel area was nicely landscaped & the view was remarkable at any spot. It did not feel like a hotel but more like a little village w/ little homes. We stayed in a Suite w/ a private Jacuzzi. The décor of the room was simple yet modern. The views from our room & terrace were just glorious.

The pool is spectacular. You can very easily lose track of your day sitting by the pool staring out to the caldera. The staff who worked there were extremely polite and always available if you needed anything. They would come around with complimentary cherries, grapes & iced tea around the pool area daily.

Complimentary breakfast was served daily in an area around the pool with a selection of fruits, juices, meats, cheeses, pastries, breads, cereals, yogurt, etc., and they would also cook omelet’s and other hot breakfast items to order. You could also order breakfast to be room serviced. The lunch & dinner menu is also very good if you want to dine at Perivolas. The sunsets are magnificent from the hotel.

Although Perivolas is in Oia, it is not right in town. This is actually nice b/c you are away from the road and the hustle and bustle of tourists. It’s just a ten minute walk which we quite enjoyed.

Yes, there was not much closet space & yes, the bathroom is a stereotypical European bathroom. But the simplicity of it all actually contributes to the ambiance.

If you are looking for a large resort with lots of action, this is not the place for you. This hotel is the exact opposite, its absolute peace and tranquility. Everyone spoke in whispers...as if not to disturb the natural beauty and serenity.

Truly a magical place!!! Would return in heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CharlotteTraveler810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

We stayed at Perivolas July 18 - 23

Room: Our room was very nice. Upon arrival they greeted us with a complementary bottle of wine along with a fruit and cheese tray. We stayed in the executive suite. My husband and I went, along with a friend of ours. We had two bedrooms. After being there a while, I realized there was no television in our room. I thought this would bother me b/c I usually like to watch tv before bed. However, there is so much to do in Santorini and I was very tired by bedtime, so who has time for tv? However, we did have a cd player in our room. (If you like to have your music with you, it's a good idea to take your iPod and speakers with you.) The shower was on the bathroom wall (about waist high, like the typical European showers), with no walls around it. So, if you use it the entire bathroom floor gets wet. However, our suite also had a really nice steam shower that was enclosed, so we usually just took our showers in there. We had a private pool which was very nice. We had a great balcony area with the pool and a table.

Sidenote: They had a converter for American appliances, but it didn't work. Luckily we took our own. My friend who recently went to Europe had a converter, but her Chi iron still melted. So, I took a straightening iron with different temperatures and set it on the lowest. It seemed to get really got even on the lowest temperature.

Staff: Very accommodating. Room service is prompt. Kelly at the front desk is a Greek-American. She is very nice. Front desk staff is very helpful. The room service staff brings what you request, quietly and inobtrusively.

Pool: We had our private pool, so we didn't really use this one, but looks very nice. We went to it one afternoon, but it was really quiet (and we're not, haha) so we went back to our pool at our room. The pool temperature was nice, for the few minutes I was in it.

General: This is a nice hotel. It definitely has great views of Santorini. It was a little to quiet for us, but I'm sure this is just what some people are looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luci_1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#14 of 56 in Oia
963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#11 of 56 in Oia
669 reviews
2.9 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivolas

Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Oia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#20 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £390 - £1,717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Perivolas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and intimate Perivolas Hotel is the ultimate in the relaxed and elegant simplicity of island living. Combining breathtaking views with the luxury of absolute tranquility, beautiful architecture, warm hospitality, excellent cuisine and an inspiring land and seascape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Perivolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perivolas Hotel Oia
Perivolas Santorini/Oia
Perivolas Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing