We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience, but a few things you should know”
Review of Perivolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perivolas
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Just back from 4 great days at Perivolas. First of all, early September is a glorious time to be in Oia -- great weather, everything is still open, but not nearly as crowded as high season. A terrific vacation.

We really enjoyed Perivolas and would go back. We were pretty sure this would be the case after having read the reviews, but we were quite curious what we would ultimately think about the various aspects of the property given that the reviews were somewhat mixed. Here's the truth in our view. For context, we are very seasoned travelers in the US and abroad, have been fortunate to stay in many top-tier properties around the globe, and tend to notice the details. In the end, we suspected that personal tendency toward noticing certain details is probably the reason for the mixed reviews on this property.

The general property is stunning and unique, a classic as others have rightly noted. The pool area, which is the central focus of the hotel, is really nice with a gorgeous view, and the infinity pool is everything you would imagine. It's a pretty quiet and serene setting, with the adults only policy (welcome from our view) and only 17 units on site. The rooms are very nice, generally well kept up (it doesnt feel like a new property, but it doesnt feel poorly maintained), and you'll get a good sense for the aesthetic from the pics online so judge for yourself. We thought they were pretty cool and unique. We lived out of suitcases (Oia is super casual, even at upscale restaurants, so not hard to do) and so we didn't mind the absence of drawers etc. The fact that the shower unavoidably soaks the whole bathroom is an unnecessary and silly design feature with no obvious aesthetic benefit (fix this Perivolas!) as many have noted. Irksome but not the biggest deal in the world for us. Also, if you are picky about your location for laying out by the pool (e,g, do you want access to an umbrella for some shade), you will want to get there on the early side and snag a spot -- only an issue for us once, but a bit disappointing to have to think about this. I suppose keeping the pool area fairly small contributes to the boutique feel of the property, so understandable from our view.

The food was spectacular. Breakfast was good -- we thought not quite to the level that others have written up here -- but very good omelets and the buffet spread with yogurt and fruit etc. was nice. But we did not have a single thing at lunch or dinner that we felt was other than exceptional. While we had a lot of enjoyable means in town, we didn't have any other meals that rivaled the food at Perivolas. Menus are a nice combination of simpler and more complex dishes, lighter/heavier, etc. Fun to explore various restaurants around Oia, but definitely worth having several lunches / dinners here. Book dinner tables in advance for best view.

The one area that stood out for us as a place where improvements easily could and should be made was the service. While it didn't bother us much, we tend to be attentive to this kind of thing, especially when paying these kind of rates. Perivolas was twice the cost of our top-end hotel in Mykonos, for example, and the service was not nearly as good. You would think the property would strive for excellence in this area. The general problem seems to be in staff hiring / training -- they are all quite nice and are trained to be good -- but not excellent. Just a few examples of service lapses: (1) Our "complimentary transfer" from the port was a taxi driver who smoked the whole way to the hotel -- everywhere else we stayed in Greece had a shuttle service. Why not Perivolas, or at least make sure there is quality control if outsourcing this? (2) When we arrived, there were flies in the complimentary vin santo in the room. A bit gross. We asked for this to be changed out, and it eventually was, but there were no apologies at all ; (3) Seems like there is not enough staff generally. For example, we saw one couple lugging in their heavy bags since there was nobody to greet them on arrival. Disappointing at any top-end property, but at a warm-weather resort with a lot of stairs and reception a good distance from the drop-off point, we would have been really annoyed if this were us; (4) When we needed something from time to time (e.g., an ipod dock that we had been told was available, or keys to the rental car that had been arranged), the general presumption was that we would come to reception to get it rather than they would bring it to our room; (5) cleaning staff often talking among each other in an loud and animated manner around the property as they are doing their jobs, disrupting the serenity of the setting. Individually none of this was a big deal, but in general we found indicative of service at a level below the best. Perhaps more importantly, concierge was generally quite helpful. Not perfect (e.g., failed to highlight for us that there would be an extra charge for fuel on our boat trip), but generally quite good.

All this having been said, I don't think there's anywhere better to stay in Oia from all we saw and heard. We had originally considered Katikies as an alternative, and we visited the property to have a look. It was nice, but not nearly as unique a property as Perivolas. The decor felt a bit generic, the environs felt far less boutique-y and private, and the property was much more difficult to navigate. We heard very similar perspectives from others.

So, all in all, from our perspective Perivolas was very good and a special place, and we would go back. However, we were a bit unclear on what to expect in reading the reviews beforehand, so thought this perspective might help clarify for others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
32  Thank traveler111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Perivolas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

We just got back and had a great time here. We didn't even explore Santorini because we just wanted to stay at the resort. This is a beautiful, intimate hotel. The property & pool are gorgeous. The rooms are very intimate and traditional. Outstanding views, much better than the views if you go a little closer into the heart of Oia. It's so quiet and serene, we whispered the whole time. If you are looking for a "resort" or a place with lots to do, this is not for you. This is a place to relax, unwind and lay around. The rooms are expensive and traditional, don't expect huge space. I think you pay for the hotel grounds, views and location. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and it was very good. The staff was very helpful, but they leave you alone and are out of sight unless you need them. All in all an amazing place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lizla21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

amazing views, great setting, wonderful rooms, relaxed atmosphere, not too big, attention to detail, ideal location to wonder into town, just perfect for a couple of days to explore and enjoy Santorini

Room Tip: any room is good, as they all have their own terrace, and lots of privacy
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanfromG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were excited to stay here, we had spent months researching and speaking with people about their experiences. If you are looking for the ideal combination of service, location and absolute luxury then this your place. It feels like a bed & breakfast with a relaxed but very attentive staff. The breakfast was great, very plain and simple European style with excellent Greek Coffee. The walk into town is only 10mins, we walked to every dinner to the vineyard (which was a little long but still nice). The staff was really helpful in finding a restaurant that was not in the tourist books, we were the only English speaking couple there. Remember before you go that they don't have TVs, if you need a TV at night to sleep (like me) bring your IPAD or DVD Player. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoBagsChecked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We are just finishing a 7 night stay. What a wonderful hotel! Fabulous staff, great food. A view that is just majestic. We stayed in the New Perivolas Suite with infinity pool. We hardly ever left, but when we did wander into town, the restaurants were just great and the village has a warm & inviting vibe. I would come back here in a heart beat. Even if you get a lesser room, the main infinity pool is awesome and I'll bet all the rooms are great, excepting perhaps the cheapest ones, which might lack a bit of privacy. That notwithstanding, this place is terrific. It's expensive and worth every cent. I gave it the highest ranking in every category and would have gone higher if I could have. If you don't like this place, your living in some other universe. The website accurately portrays the unique beauty and informal luxury of this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: get the best suite you can afford
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We highly recommend this hotel for families with children no younger than 16, which is the hotel's policy anyway. We were warmly welcomed. Every question was answered to its best. The service is excellent. The staff are friendly and very helpful.
The grounds are beautiful with the pool area being the main attraction at the hotel. It is not a very big pool but the view from it is breath taking.
Oia is a beautifully quaint village with many nice restaurants and shops. A beautiful destination to come back to many a time we hope.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParisKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My wife and i spent 4 nights here to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We had suite 15 which was fantastic. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are kept scrupulously clean several times a day and the view is spectacular.

Only shame was we couldn't strech to a plunge pool. Mind you, the infinity pool was a pretty spectacular alternative option.

Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#14 of 56 in Oia
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#11 of 56 in Oia
669 reviews
2.9 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivolas

Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Oia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#20 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £389 - £1,712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Perivolas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and intimate Perivolas Hotel is the ultimate in the relaxed and elegant simplicity of island living. Combining breathtaking views with the luxury of absolute tranquility, beautiful architecture, warm hospitality, excellent cuisine and an inspiring land and seascape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Perivolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perivolas Hotel Oia
Perivolas Santorini/Oia
Perivolas Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing