We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location. Impeccable accommodation”
Review of Perivolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perivolas
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights. Situated on the edge of the caldera, looking out over the water, this "hotel" is unlike any I have been to before. The rooms are carved into the face of the hill side with whitewashed walls and curved ceilings. We stayed in a deluxe suite (They upgraded us) Large; well appointed and very comfortable. Wifi was 5/5 in the room. HUGE spa bath, sauna and massive shower. Complementary wine on arrival.
The staff are excellent and knowledgeable.
We walked into Oia every day (15 minutes on an essentially flat path). Tried several of the local restaurants (as recommended by the hotel).
Breakfast was memorable for the amazing view. Dinner at the hotel - out around the pool - incredibly evocative. The pool - possibly the best horizon pool in the world according to reviews - I cant dispute that.
Santorini is a spectacular place to visit; if you are wanting to stay near Oia (and you should!) this is the creme de la creme of what's on offer. HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: Get the best room you can - Delux is great. Also contact them direct - they mnay have a special deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oztack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at 2 hotel/resorts while staying on Santorini for our honeymoon - Vedema and Perivolas. We loved the Perivolas - the views plus the quiet privacy were exactly what we were looking for. We spent 2 entire days on one of their private terraces and enjoyed baking in the sun, reading, and taking in outstanding views of the caldera. My wife actually wished that we stayed another night or two here.

Some might complain about the short walk to town (Oia), but we enjoyed the walk - and it was only a 10 minute walk. We'd definitely suggest going into town to enjoy some of the Red Bicycles food and atmosphere - the staff, food and views were amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supostabothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed in Perivolas with my boyfriend for 4 days. I come originally from Greece, live in London and have been to Santorini more than 10 times as it is my boyfriend's favorite destination. It was the first time that we stayed a bit further away from the centre of Oia and it was the best thing we could have ever done.

A ten minute walk from the extremely busy centre of Oia, Perivolas is in a few words the Best Hotel in Santorini! It has everything. Relaxed atmosphere, amazing views, great staff, fantastic breakfast. It is so simple and yet so welcoming and relaxed.

We have been to quite a few 5 star hotels in the past, in different places but that was absolutely fantastic. Some people might think that it is very expensive and very simple but it is definitely worth paying for it. Perivolas is for the people who really want to enjoy what Santorini stands for and not for those seeking a luxurious hotel.

Next time we will visit Santorini again, and this will be very soon, one thing is certain that we will be staying at Perivolas again!

Room Tip: Any room is good. All the rooms have fantastic views. We stayed in room number 12, just above the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

All, my girlfriend and I spent 7 amazing nights in Perivolas and will clearly be returning next summer. First the things we found weird when we arrived; there are NO TV'S, AWEFUL INTERNET and generally no internet connection anywhere......BUT

This place is amazing, it is a complete departure from reality and sitting on the deck with Nico and Chrissa bringing you fruit concoctions and chatting about the culture is just amazing. Bessie and Vanda (A lovely Portuguese woman who's name I can't spell) planned all of our dinners and arranged a private snorkling trip.

Constantine who runs the hideaway took us on what turned out to be a 6hr journey throughout the caldera that ended with us downing many pints of FIX a local beer at a tiny pub on a remote island opposite Amoudi bay called Mexico city while having a deep conversation around greek socio economic policy verse the united states.

These were the most amazing 7 days you could ask for....

Two requests for next summer,
BAN CHILDREN UNDER 18 from either the whole property or just the pool
FIX THE INTERNET
MASSAGE & SPA NEED MORE VERSATILITY (No just holistic massage)

Love you guys....Jon & Rebecca

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is a very lovely place. My husband and I enjoyed a visit while celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. It is very romantic and just perfect for detaching from the outside world, enjoying God's beauty, and one another.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAN_4Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Perivolas was a fantastic 3-night experience for us. It is located on the quiet end of about a 10 minute walk to Oia which was perfect for us to stay away from the influx of cruisers and sunset watchers who visit this pretty little town daily. All rooms are unique and well-appointed. Free wifi with intermittent reception. The infinity pool and view are spectacular. The staff are all welcoming but discreet. It is as though they are there, but not there, which we found to be just perfect in this totally relaxing hideaway. The gym was just average but the view from the gym made up for it. Going for a from outdoors from this location is either uphill or down, challenging and a great workout. This hotel is 100% worth it. We would love to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite above reception. This has an amazing view of the sunset and is easy to come and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittylovesFken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed as a couple one week in July 2012 for a "romantic escape". We stayed in a superior suite, very private and with an amazing view (all rooms have views) and cool, relaxed design. It´s ranked as one of the world´s best hotels, and they certainly deserve it.

I could not agree more with the other reviewers about the view, location, rooms/caves, service and food. It´s all perfection, and even better than the pictures (especially the pool). So I will not repeat all of that. But here are some other impressions. There are only 20 rooms/units, so the atmosphere and ambiance is very intimate, quiet and relaxed. The staff soon learns your suite/room number and your preferences and will offer the very best of attentive and effortless service. They take care of everything so you don´t have to worry. A seamless, pleasant guest experience, no formalities, no worries. "Just relax, you´re on vacation", as the host Bessy (faboulous service!) told us, as she made sure our luggage, flight transfers, reservations, taxi etc etc was all taken care of. The experience starts and ends at the airport (they have a private van for transfers).

Many guests tend to stay at the hotel because it´s simply the best location in Oia (and all of Santorini), but it´s never crowded, full or busy. Always sun-chairs available. No children (when we were there). Always quiet around the pool, just quiet conversations. Guests seem to be sophisticated and "experienced travellers" from around the world, and are relatively young. Most were (like us) in their 30s-40s-50s. With the intimate atmosphere it´s easy to start a chat with the others if you like, and equally easy to stay private.

We found that the food was better at the hotel than any other place in Oia we visited. We also ate at two of the top rated restaurants in Oia (one "italian" and one traditional greek) but we found the hotel had the best dinner meals. Also, make sure you reserve your romantic private table overlooking the ocean or the pool. Even the Oia attraction of the sunset actually looks amazing from the top of the stairs of the hotel. Best sunset view in our opinion, as you get the sun setting behind the contours of Oia town. It´s a 15 minute, and very nice and picturesque, walk into Oia which is by far the most charming and relaxed town on the island. The evening walk back to the hotel after dinner and drinks is both romantic and beautiful.

There is a minimarket only 5 minutes walk from the hotel (fresh fruit, snacks, drinks etc). The rooms also have a well stocked minibar, and there is room service until 23 (11PM). Water bottles are free and unlimited, and restocked daily. Housekeeping staff are equally amazing, very discreet and you´ll usually not see them, but you know they´ve been there twice daily, because everything is just tip-top in the room. The fitness center and spa are the "weak spots" in my opinion. Just a multigym machine, a cycle and a treadmill which didn´t work. "Spa" is a massage table, steam bath and sauna.

An insiders tip (which we didn´t get a chance to try): The hotel owner will take you out on a sunset (or daytime) cruise with his boat, and share stories about the hotel and the area. You need to book. He´s 2nd generation owner, and looks like a cool surfer-dude. They also have a James Bond-like "hideaway" on a neighbouring island which you will get to see.

We agreed this was the best place we´ve ever stayed, and you will be equally impressed I am sure.

Room Tip: Suites are more private, but all rooms/caves have views, balcony and quiet. We stayed in superior su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OlePetterNyhaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#15 of 58 in Oia
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kirini Santorini
Kirini Santorini
#9 of 58 in Oia
682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivolas

Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#11 Spa Hotel in Oia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £447 - £694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Perivolas 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and intimate Perivolas Hotel is the ultimate in the relaxed and elegant simplicity of island living. Combining breathtaking views with the luxury of absolute tranquility, beautiful architecture, warm hospitality, excellent cuisine and an inspiring land and seascape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Perivolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perivolas Hotel Oia
Perivolas Santorini/Oia
Perivolas Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing