We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but overpriced”
Review of Perivolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perivolas
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Perivolas is lovely, the infinity pool is amazing, the milkshakes are delicious... but when you're paying this much you expect perfection and therefore tend to look at places with a slightly critical eye:

Make sure you get a transfer as the place is not the easiest to find. The rooms are lovely but there are a few things that are a little rough round the edges, worn, tatty, and not quite up to 5 stars in terms of attention to detail. That all said, the evening meal overlooking the sea brought it back. We had a lovely time but I don't think I'd return.

For those looking for more luxury at a cheaper price then San Antonio in Imerovigli was far better value for money. With Perivolas you are paying a lot for the location and reputation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Perivolas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

Every aspect of this lovely hotel amazed us; the food, location, view and service. We were greeted at the front gates upon arrival, feeling the upmost welcomed. The service was exceptional and the staff was very friendly and helpful. A several minutes walk away from the center of Oia, the Perivolas hotel has the perfect location. It was quiet and beautiful, while still being very central. There is an exclusiveness about the hotel, that makes it very private -- ideal for a relaxing vacation! We could not have chosen a better hotel in Santorini. We found the town of Oia, to be less touristy than the rest of the island, while still having good shopping and culture. The food at the hotel restaurant was amazing, we stayed in most nights, selecting our own private table somewhere on site -- magical! While we explored the town and island, we found it wonderful to come back to the Perivolas to relax, with a book and a variety of cocktails, served poolside. The rooms were also lovely; nice and cool in the old caves, painted white. There were delicious chocolates left out for us every night, with turndown service. It must be noted that this is not a children's hotel. The many rock stairs and no other activities besides the spa, gym and pool, makes it a poor "family-style" hotel. But with only one teenage daughter, for us this was not a problem. We are looking forward to going back in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I can't say much more than what has been shared in other 4+ star reviews... the service is outstanding, the location is excellent, the views are amazing, the infinity pool is perfect, and the overall ambiance helps remind two people why they are together.
A wonderful stay and we will be back.

Recommendations: be prepared for stairs, which is a reality in most of Santorini, and hire a good babysitter so you can leave your kids at home for this trip.

Room Tip: Call the property and tell them what you're looking for. I could've spent more, but based on...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Perivolas hotel & staff have embraced us for a one of a kind vacation.. We have enjoyed every minute of our stay with the personalized treatment, staff's smiles, breathtaking views, great architecture, proximity to Oia's city center, and the feeling of royalty while staying at Perivolas.

A special thank you goes to Sofia, Bessy, Vanda & Dionysia -- these ladies are outstanding !!! They have offered my mom assistance far before our visit and guided her through planning our family vacation. They were always there for us and also helped my mom find the best restaurant to celebrate a special birthday occasion.

- The guest rooms and suites make you feel at home - the housekeeping staff always leaves a special touch to the rooms.
- Breakfast at their restaurant is always delightful- fresh and homegrown ingredients start your day right.
- Their infinity pool is remarkable- the panoramic view that always offers a Kodak moment.
- The front desk/ concierge office is always attended by a well spoken and knowledgeable ladies ( most of them are mentioned above).
- the restaurant staff is fantastic .

To sum it all- Perivolas Hotel is one of the best hotels we ever stayed at .. I would recommend it to any seasoned traveler looking for perfection.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunsetblvd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Suited in an exceptional location is this fantastic hotel - Perivolas. It is the original hotel based on traditional Greek house architecture.. A lot of others have cropped up subsequently. Situated in a quiet part of Santorini in the village of Oia, you can spend your time just soaking in silence and beauty - a most therapeutic combination. What sets this place apart is the incredible service that you receive and the attention to detail in everything you experience. The size and impeccable quality of the room, the taste of the food and cocktails, the delicious welcome wine, the amazing infinity pool all speak volumes of the commitment of this place to guest experience. Every single person here is committed to giving you memories that will last a lifetime and they do that passionately. Every thing just gets done and seemingly effortlessly.Excursions are not a "one size fits all" and care is taken to ensure that they fit your requirements. We spent an amazing day on a boat that took just us out to various places where we could snorkel and swim. And we could stop where we wanted and do what we wished with an experienced Captain looking out for us. My personal highlight was when one of the team at Perivolas understood my passion for photography and volunteered to take me out at six in the morning to get some great shots. It takes a passion for service excellence to deliver such an unique experience. Our five days here were just so memorable that as I left, I made a promise to myself to come back again soon. To relax in a little bit of heaven, you must come here!!

Room Tip: For a small family room number 15 is great. And for a wonderful view take room number 18.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheilaVSingla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay at the Perivolas. The accommodation and service is excellent.

Some specifics:
- we both had massages - brilliant and highly recommended. Very easy to book at reception.
- we had dinner in the hotel 3 times.. Stunning location and amazing to sit outside and eat with such a lovely view. The food and service was excellent and staff turned up to clear plates and serve wine without undue waiting. I have no idea how they did this as the table was so private!
- breakfast was simple and tasty. Eggs beautifully cooked to order.
- staff were all friendly and helpful.
- rooms are lovely they have a Lovely airy feel.

The views are what really makes his resort ... You find yourself stopping mid sentence to gaze at it.

The other notable issue with the resort is the number of day (and cruise ship) visitors there for the view. If you stroll into town for dinner you are likely to get caught in traffic as visitors rush through the town looking for a location from which to take photos.

We had mixed experiences eating out in the resort. we felt most restaurants were very speedy to the point we didn't find anywhere to just sit and chill with a drink before or after a meal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186338Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We extended our stay in Oia by 2 nights and stayed at this lovely cliff-hanging paradise. It was more local to the 'other' hotel we stayed at... a more B&B experience in our view but no less wonderful. The room was spacious and cozy at the same time... all the things you require for a relaxing time to rest those tired feet after hours of sight-seeing. Goes without saying that the views are amazing. Do not forget to take some lovely snapshots of yourselves by the pool.... how often does one get a chance like this! Breakfast was a little basic but still very decent. We found the local touch here more pronounced than the other establishment we stayed at and that made for a better experience all round.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LundGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#14 of 56 in Oia
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#11 of 56 in Oia
669 reviews
2.9 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivolas

Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Oia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#20 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £392 - £1,748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Perivolas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and intimate Perivolas Hotel is the ultimate in the relaxed and elegant simplicity of island living. Combining breathtaking views with the luxury of absolute tranquility, beautiful architecture, warm hospitality, excellent cuisine and an inspiring land and seascape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Perivolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perivolas Hotel Oia
Perivolas Santorini/Oia
Perivolas Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing