We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing hotel ever”
Review of Perivolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perivolas
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
816
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Our jaws dropped when we first arrived. We were initially greeted by the concierge who gave us a tour of the property. Breathtaking. We felt so special from day one. We loved the hotel so much, we never left. Cancelled all our plans. Aside from the impeccable view, the rooms were so adorable! One negative is that the staff can be a bit snooty. One lady in particular- although the rest were very kind.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Perivolas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

It's been four months since my wife and I visited Santorini. We can't get it out of our mind. Perivolas is the perfect cliffside perch from which to "take in" Santorini's spectacular caldera. With its icing-dipped walls and authentic, minimalist, almost reclusive feel, it was truly perfect.

Perivolas is pricey. We felt it was worth it. To be fair, it is not, by any stretch, the only place in Santorini or Oia to command spectacular views. Most hotels in this area seem to cling to the cliffside. I can't speak to them. I can only say that Perivolas was exactly what we wanted: no TVs, a small, close setting, spectacular views, faithful architecture and design, capable and friendly service.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior suite. We loved it, but I can truly say that you should push your wallet as...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PresumedRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The views from this hotel are spectacular, some of the most amazing scenery I've seen. Set into the cliffs, the hotel is full of charm and character. There aren't many amenities but you really don't need much else when the setting is so perfect. We went for their suite with private pool which was well worth the price. The interior was quite basic but very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5StarJunkie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Perivolas is a small cave hotel on Santorini. I have seen pictures of it and wanted to go there for a least 6 years. Finally, this October, we made it. I must say, it lived up to all my expectations. We would like to have stayed forever. However, we did stay for 3 nights. Originally, we thought we'd check out the ruins, wine vinyards, shopping. Except for a day of sailing around the island, we never left the hotel. It was just too beautiful. The view from our room was exquisite, especialy the sunsets. We ate breakfast each morning overlooking the infinity pool (shown in many travel magazines) and lunch outside on the upper terrace. It is definitely the place to unwind. Service is excellent and the "cave" cool and comfortable. I'm already looking forward to returning. However, with all the steps, it is probably not the place for children or the infirm.

Room Tip: We looked at several rooms and found them all charming. We did not stay in the big "Perivolas...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here in early October for the first week of our honeymoon and I don't think there could be a more perfect honeymoon hotel. We had originally booked a Junior Suite, but they upgraded us to a much larger and more private Superior Suite. We were welcomed in our room with a complimentary bottle of wine and fresh fruit then given a welcome champagne cocktail by the pool as the staff showed us around the property. Everything about our stay was perfect. The view, the scenery, the food, the drinks and the wonderful staff. They assisted us with anything we wanted, making dinner reservations, bringing food and drinks to our room, arranging rides to different places on the island, and even helping us to collect a missing suitcase from the airport. The complimentary breakfast buffet is not to be missed! This is a truly special and unique place. It is definitely a bit pricey, but the experience is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My life partner and I spent 2 nights at the Perivolas and loved every moment. Our cave room was beautiful with an indoor jacuzzi and seperate bahroom. It had a kitchenette and minbar and was stocked. All water was complimentary and a fruit bowl was filled when we arrived.
Although many of the rooms are fairly open to passers by, ours was extremely private. Because the traditional houses are built into the side of the mountain, expect lots and lots of steps wherever you go on Santorini.
We made use of the pool which is as perfect as they come and has been used in many photo shoots and adverts. The breakfast was simple but top class and the pool side lunch was as good The complmentary dessert wine was a nice touch.

A short walk and we were in the village of Oia with lots of options for dining and shopping.

The staff were always very helpful and very pleasant and nothing seemed too much trouble.

The only negative was the airconditioning, which could not cope with the heat.



Our entire trip was filled with memorable moments.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SuperSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Santorini is a magical island and Perivolas is where you want to stay to experience the magic. The location is great. The rooms, renovated caves, are unique. The view is amazing. The service is wonderful. But what really makes this hotel special are the people in the front office. Bessy and Sophia make you feel like guests in their home. They know the island well -- where to eat, what to see. They take personal pride in making sure that you enjoy yourself to the max while on Santorini

Room Tip: Ask Bessy to help you choose your room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blipsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#14 of 56 in Oia
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#11 of 56 in Oia
669 reviews
2.9 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivolas

Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#11 Spa Hotel in Oia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#20 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £392 - £1,748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Perivolas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and intimate Perivolas Hotel is the ultimate in the relaxed and elegant simplicity of island living. Combining breathtaking views with the luxury of absolute tranquility, beautiful architecture, warm hospitality, excellent cuisine and an inspiring land and seascape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Perivolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perivolas Hotel Oia
Perivolas Santorini/Oia
Perivolas Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing