We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!”
Review of Perivolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Perivolas
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
suburbs of Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Where to begin?! We went August 6-11 2009. The hotel picked us up at the airport and took us to Perivolas. Our room was ready, room 6. It is right next to reception, which we were worried about, but it was always quiet and private. The room was a Jr. suite, not big at all, but that was fine by us. Just a word or 2 about the rooms. This hotel is not for everyone, nor are the rooms. If you like the Ritz and the Four Seasons, this is not the place for you. This is rustic luxury. The shower has no curtain, not easy to angle it so the whole room isn't wet. I didn't love that. The shampoos and soaps are all L'Occitain, (spelling??) Just WONDERFUL! Your rooms were made up 2x a day.

We got a welcome drink in our room, which we used for an evening drink each night on our veranda while we watched the sun set.

The Pool was AMAZING! A little cold for my taste, but once you were in you didn't want to get out! There were people at then pool, but everyone was respectful and quiet.

The food, breakfast was good, but it got old after day 2. Yet I ate the same each day... juice (not a coffee person), cereal and milk, 1 hard boiled egg, some cheese and a mini croissant. We ate with the most amazing view each day. We ate lunch around 3PM each day. The best thing I had was the spinach salad with sun dried tomato dressing and manouri cheese. We also had the tomato mozzarella sandwich and the fete sandwich, good too. I liked to keep it light because it was VERY hot and I didn't want to eat much. We never had dinner at the hotel, we went into town. Our favorite place was Rocca, off the beaten path. We didn't got to the famed 1800 and Ambrosia, we didn't want American style in Greece. The food out of the hotel was OK, nothing to write home about.

All in all it was FAB! The view from our room, the privacy, the food (hotel only) and the pool. We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The perfect setting
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sedrait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    29
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
239
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We honeymooned at Perivolas. Our exquisite experience began with our booking and lasted until we left the island. Majda was the most accomodating and welcoming hostess. We felt as if we were greeted by long-lost Greek family members. We had a regular room (not the most expensive), and even the simple accomodation was really other-worldly. No matter that our luggage was delayed for 2 days, we swam sans clothes in a setting where nobody really noticed or cared. The cave bedroom made for great sleeping. Upon waking and opening the doors, you saw the topaz-blue Agean from the bed. The private deck was wonderfully peaceful, as was the breakfast room and covered porch. Breakfasts were delicious - with hand squeezed juices and cappucinos - and much more. The pool is the best you will find - we really spent all of our time there. Never mind the sand beaches, this pool with it's view is paradise. A quick walk in the morning to the little groceria for a newpaper and some Mythos for later at the pool and we were set for the day. Perfect strolling distance to the town center of Oia. We long to return with our two sons and await the notice that they have relaxed their policy of kids 16 and older! After this experience, we are afraid to make the journey and stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmolinandSouthworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

i actually went here last summer, but as a new member to t.advisor thought i would share this info with you.Best hotel in Santorini.......abit expensive but theres a mini market on the corner where you can get very good wine and grocerys for very little....sunsets are to die for here.Oia is the best part of the island..for me anyway...by the way, i live in Greece..trust me

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreeceBen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We really liked Perivolas and were glad we opted for staying here for
3 nights rather than at Katikies (the other place we considered). The
cave house we booked was very cozy and charming. The staff and the
service were top notch and very friendly. I don't think you can
expect any less if you're willing to shell out some serious clams for
staying at a place like Perivolas. Certainly unique and not anything
you probably have ever stayed in. The place
exudes a quiet luxury. Just relaxing by the pool and enjoying the
scenery is blissful. The property is very quiet.

One downside of these cave rooms is it got kind of humid at night. Not so humid to where it became uncomfortable, but it was still noticeable. The A/C unit didn't really help that much (got coooler, but still humid). I think this is due to the fact that moisture from the shower doesn't vent out and also because the room is a cave. Also, this is compounded by the fact that the bathroom area can get very wet (no shower curtain). Some might also find the houses a bit clastrophobic, because
these dwellings are carved into the cliffside. but this may all
depend on the type of the house you get.

The sunsets were spectacular here. I disagree that Fira's sunset is
better--yes it's more central, but with part of Oia in the backdrop
the view provides for a spectacular canvas of colors and hues. Our best sunset pictures were taken from right outside our room's balcony.


Another fellow traveller made a comment that she didn't feel like Perivolas nickel and dimed her--and I agree.

There's free wireless (though you need to be in the public area/hotel office to get reception...suppose the cave walls are too thick) in the main office which also houses a small collection of books (mainly from previous travelers--we left a book there too) and a desktop PC with Internet. There's a nice little work out gym with free weights etc and a suana room. The bar/eating room has a basket of fresh fruits (apples, pears, bananas and plums) you can eat.
Breakfast is delicious and you can them send it up to your outside balcony to eat.

This place is very soothing. We could have spent days just lounging around reading a book and drinking cocktails at this property. This place has a very charming quaint feel to it. I feel it was well worth the extra price, but having to pay in cash or traveller's check was an inconvenience. The people that work at this property are all fantastic and super friendly. All of them seem to have wonderful attitudes and excellent customer service. Rhea, Kelly, Madja (though sadly never got to meet her in person), Philia, the bartender, and the chick who speaks espanol were all very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Perivolas, holding our wedding ceremony on the second night. We had already had 3 wonderful nights at Pantelia Suites in Fira, so it was difficult to imagine that Perivolas could be much better...weren't we surprised! Our room was spacious and exuded sexiness from every angle. It was obvious no corners had been cut during renovations, and the minimalist decor fit Oia to a T. The paint was the most soothing shade of white, and the antiques fit the mood perfectly. The floors were finished in the most odd way. Some sort of (concrete?) treatment in a green/gray...really lovely and special.

Staff was very lovely, making omelettes to order, bringing pitchers of cold water to you poolside, even lemon sorbet in the most wonderful mini-martini glasses.

Don't even get me started on the pool...too wonderful for words!

You must go to Santorini, you must book in Oia, and you must stay at Perivolas!

*Sidenote...if this is your first trip to Santorini, a night or two in Fira makes it easy to see the sights at the southern end of the island. Oia is a sight in itself and not to be missed, but it is quite a distance from Red Beach, Akrotiri, and the black beaches. Might not hurt to split your time!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2009

top of the line luxury resort with unbelievable vistas, flawless facilities, excellent food and service.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearandbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

It was our 10 year anniversary and we finished in Santorini. It was a gorgeous hotel. Pricey but well worth it. Our view was amazing and with
the infinity pool, you felt like you could see to the ends of the earth. The last night we had dinner at a table set for us with votive candles overlooking the cliffs of Santorini , with the sun setting , it was a memorable moment!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
927 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
2.9 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perivolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perivolas

Property: Perivolas
Address: Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#11 Spa Hotel in Oia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#20 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Perivolas 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and intimate Perivolas Hotel is the ultimate in the relaxed and elegant simplicity of island living. Combining breathtaking views with the luxury of absolute tranquility, beautiful architecture, warm hospitality, excellent cuisine and an inspiring land and seascape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Perivolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perivolas Hotel Oia
Perivolas Santorini/Oia
Perivolas Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing