We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you exactly know what kind of room you are going to book, then go enjoy santorini”
Review of VIP Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
VIP Suites
Ranked #46 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

I booked a room for 4 nights from Sept 10-14 at 59 euro a night with VIP Suites. Thinking that I found an excellent bargain, my guts dropped when the check-in staff told me that I actually booked a beach villa which was 4km away from Oia town center. Initially, I refused to accept the room on the basis that they only showed the pictures of the caldera rooms on a travel site. The manager, Tia, then pointed out that there was some text description that clearly showed it was a villa on the beach. A refund was not possible, as it was me who made the mistake. She did, however, listened to my request on using my payment to stay in a caldera room for the last 2 days of my time in Santorini. She was also nice enough to help me to find an alternative accommodation for 2 nights in a nice family run B&B at a very good price. Even my mistake made the beach villa unavailable to other potential guests for at least one day, I was not charged for their loss.

Talking about the suite itself, it's simply amazing. The single room suite is small yet very clean and functional. There is a kicthenette with an oven-stove, fridge, cook wares and even oil and seasonings! There are sea view 3 suites in my current location with 2 balconies overlooking the southern part of Santorini and the volcanic island. The view is so great, that I have been sitting here in the lower balcony to enjoy it since I checked in 3 hours ago. Note: the smaller 2 persons suite has no balcony but a hardly accessible rooftop sundeck.

The price for staying in these suites aren't the cheapest in Oia but you can always offset it by cooking your own meals in the room. If you are planning to go to Santorini and don't mind to pay a little extra for accommodation, book a suite with VIP Suites.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryc194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecorama, Manager at VIP Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Dear guest,

The accommodation facility that you have booked by mistake as a VIP room has been clearly advertised as a house located in the very near proximity of the beach coast of Oia (fact that it could have been quite easily deducted following a very short inquiry on the Caldera side and the opposing beach side of Santorini Island).
The description of the villa that you have booked contains the specification that the house is not located on the caldera cliff side but along the wide beach, being accompanied by the associated pictures - which also justifies the significantly lower price charged for this type of accommodation.
Nevertheless, in order to avoid any other future confusion among our potential guests when booking one of our accommodation facilities, we already took the measure to remove the said lodging from the list of apartments advertised under the VIP suites category. At present, the house in question is being advertised as “beach front villa in Baxedes area”.
We would also like to emphasize once again that the distance from the village to the said location is short enough to be driven in a few minutes.
We are glad that you enjoyed the caldera view suite on the second part of your stay and we believe that the ratio between the range of various types of accommodation offered and the associated charged prices is quite equitable for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for VIP Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Location was the best thing about this place. Beware of the very steep stairs to the rooms. Views from the balcony were to die for!! And sunset point is just outside the main gate to the suites!
The actual suite was clean and spacious. Would have been nice if they supplied basic toiletries in the bathrooms! Kitchen was way too tiny and it was a a tight squeeze for even one person trying to do anything in the kitchen.
Would recommend staying here, a different kind of feel, living in a place carved out of the rocks. We preferred staying in Oia compared to the other towns.. It is a bit remote, but loved being away from the crowds in the other towns. In saying that though, Oia does get very busy during the day from travellers coming in from the cruise ships.
Staff at the reception area were somewhat strange and we got the feeling we never wanted to get on their bad sides!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kits8701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We were in a hurry and didn't bother to confirm the exact location of the room. We felt it would be ok so long as it's somewhere along the south coast, as shown on the Google map. It turned out that the room is at the north side of the island that cannot be reached by walking. The travel agency - Ecorama Holidays - where you check in for VIP Suites, is also a pain to deal with. They are inefficient and unprofessional, seemingly helping, but only after putting a lot of ifs and buts. Our memory in Oia is marred by the unpleasant experience with VIP Suites. There are better ways to save money than risking your vacation. Think twice before you book with them. And confirm everything. What follows is an account of what happened to us, in case anyone is curious. It is not disastrous, but bad enough to ruin our memory of the once in a life time tour to Santorini.

As some other reviewer mentioned, the travel agency is a lousy place, with dubious local people hanging around outside the front door. It did not help when the lady in the agency wrote down my name and passport number on a scrap paper for checking in. After inquiring about the location of the room, we asked for an upgrade in town right away. In the middle of hustle and bustle of all different requests from the customers, the lady finally managed to contact the owner of VIP Suites and said that there is a room available, with €70 extra per night. We refused because of the price. She immediately asked if €50 is ok, we would otherwise need to rent a vehicle to get around anyway. We agreed with the price and waited about 30 minutes for the owner to pick us up. The room they showed us is about a third way down to Amoudi Bay and still needs a 15 minutes climb to get to the main street. This is not the usual staircase climbing common in Santorini, it's a steep dusty traffic road with no pavement for pedestrians. It's difficult to get to this lodging without a vehicle also. We didn't even check the interior, but simply told the owner that we would like to switch back to the room we booked. It took another 10 minutes wait for him to drop us back. And he couldn't stop mentioning what a big favor he did for us to drop us back. Well, it is indeed, as it would be most undesirable to walk back uphill with two heavy luggages at noon under the heat of August's sun. The owner left us at the travel agency, talked to the lady and kissed her goodbye. When we told the lady that we decided to go with the original one, she looked bewildered and asked why the owner didn't drop us there. Well, how would we suppose to know? Now we have to wait for another person to pick us up. While we were waiting, we thought we need a way to get back to town, so we asked to rent a scooter. The lady insisted that we need to have an international driving license *for scooter* in order to rent one. Eventually she agreed to take the US driver license for a car rental. We waited another half an hour for the car to arrive (it turned out later that the car rental company is actually just one block away). Now that we were renting a car, it seemed like that person who were supposed to pick us up never need to show up? In any case, another lady accompanied us to show us where the room is. It is about 20-25 minutes drive northward. The area is so deserted you almost feel that the room is haunted. There is no phone, of course no internet. The hot water did not work. (We knew about the switch to turn on hot water from previous hotel. The lady forgot to tell us. But it did not work.) There was no bathing kit. The bed sheets and towels seemed clean but everything else felt a bit slimy. Even the water is salty. No cleaning service also the next day. So we really don't know when the room was last cleaned either. Since there is nothing nearby, we had to shop a bit of grocery in case of emergency. It would probably be an exciting camping adventure, but that was not we went to Oia for.

On the day of checking out, the agency didn't arrange the transfer for us as promised, and we had to wait. They will charge us €50 if we want to drive the rented car to the port. Eventually we talked to the car rental company directly. They agreed to let us drop the car at their office near the port without extra cost. So even if you book the VIP Suites, avoid dealing with the travel agency for other services.

Room Tip: Confirm about the type and location of the room you book.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pearl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecorama, Manager at VIP Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

This was one of our more difficult reservations in the 9 years of running Vip suites. The initial booking was for beach front villa with half price of our other accommodations that are all located on the cliff which make it ever more visible( with the exact photos of the house inside and outside ), the location of the establishment where you were driven was the correct one ( according to your statement it was not you that made the booking but your companion which she has numerous times reminded you on the time of the check in that this was indeed the right accommodation booked ) . The promoted description of the lodging corresponds to the villa you have visited together with our staff. Nevertheless, since you did not agree to the location of the villa on the grounds that it is too far – although the distance to the premises is of maximum three minutes driving which is significantly less than the one specified in your review (around 2,5 km of open road without traffic ) - you have been offered an alternative, more near to the heart of the village which again you have denied on the same grounds although the location in question is within walking distances ( 300 meters ) from the center of Oia.
However, since you opted for the originally booked accommodation, we would like to insist on the aspect of the villa and the nearby area described in your comment as being “deserted” and “slimy”. The villa is located on the beach within a quiet residential area, next to private owned houses while it’s interior has a cave style layout and it is traditionally decorated with antique furniture arranged according to the local Greek style. As regards you request of renting a vehicle through the travel agency, you have been informed on the car rental regulation applicable in Greece. Thus, in accordance with the Greek law, the rental of any vehicle may be performed exclusively by holders of international driving licenses. The choice of car rental owners to rent cars to holders of any other category of driving licenses belongs strictly to them and it is done their own responsibility with the bearing of associated consequences in case of traffic accident, damage or injury.( It was extremely uncomfortable having to attend an homeric fight between you and the car rental company which lasted half an hour ,trying to get back a few euros from the extra gasoline that the car was filled with )
Concerning the transfer issue you have mentioned in your review, we would like to specify that since you have booked the transfer for 9 o’clock in the morning and you finally came at 10:30, it would have been impossible to for our staff to meet your needs at that specific time since the transfer car has already left and hour and a half before as previously agreed, situation that cannot be categorized as not honoring a arrangement. We do try to accommodate our guests (or potential guests) as far as we possibly can......and as we did for this Reviewer.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The room was a sort of mini-apartment (just a few sq meters), with an incredibile view on the caldera. The comfort of sleeping was not the best, since there was just a mattress on the wooden loft (with the steepest stair I have ever seen, be SUPER CAREFUL!).

All in all it was a good bargain, especially for its amazing location.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view of the caldera and you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heliosmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

a cute boutique hotel in the caves right in the winding cobble streets of oia. fantastic central location, the place was hidden down a quiet alley just of the main street by the infamous blue round temples.
check in was at the tourist office just by the bus station. a strong porter carried our luggage to our room. which would of been impossible without him. clean, quiet, modern, beautiful decor in the rooms. there is a hot tub and a small pool (i wouldnt call it a swimming pool, its more like a dipping pool). i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceinwonderland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The views are great, but I guess that's Santorini for you. Rooms were small, smelly, dirty and the beds are rock hard. Would stay here again. The reception is the Tourism Office at the bus square, so we guess it is a bunch of rooms/apt's run by the office (time share style). The crews are friendly and speak good English.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravellingCaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the VIP Suites and I have to say it was amazing! We booked it throu the tourist office on internet. Fantastic view, rooms very cosy and romantic for the price we payed! We had a two bedroom suite, perfect for à family with airconditioning! Breakfast served till 11am! There is all you need. Two ladys taking care of the buffet with fresh eggs all the times. The two jacuzzis at the reception are very nice, our kids loved it, there is no pool. The hôtel is quite far away from the tourist office (10min walk with a lot of stairs) but there is Elvis (concierge) who is taking care of the luggage and knows everything! Very nice man. I reccomend to take him when you are leaving...If you want to go to Fira, just take the public bus in front of the tourist office for 1.60€ in 15min you are there. Oia is à very nice place to stay! Only desadvantage, there is no baar and restaurant but as there is a fridge and a lot of shops around this is not really an issue. I will come back!

Room Tip: We had 112 and 111 (two bedroom suites) all very nice furnished and very nice view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Suites

Address: Oia, Main Street, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Price Range: £47 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated traditional suites are tastefully furnished with traditional and modern overtones, awash with light and host 2-6 persons in comfort and privacy. Make your stay a memory to cherish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your VIP Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Oia
Oia Vip Hotel
VIP Suites Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing