We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect View”
Review of Chelidonia Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelidonia Villas
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed at the Cheldonia Villas for 4 days. The villa was perfect. Had a small kitchenette, a decent sized bathroom, patio/courtyard overlooking the caldera that was simply breathtaking, and a large comfortable bed. The villa also had internet/wireless access (it was a little slow at times, but that's okay).
My only complaint - the stairs to get down to the room. WOW. We counted 60 or so - steep climb with no railing. One slip and it's a 40 foot drop. Ouch.
When it comes to arranging tours be prepared to do that yourself beforehand. The owner sits at the front desk on the main strip. He's good for arranging taxi transfers and that's about it, which is okay if you have a heads up that you have to arrange your tours on your own.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

This place, as well as Rose, the owner, is absolutely fantastic! Good price for a breathtaking view and spacious, clean cave house. A bottle of wine is provided upon check in and Rose was kind enough to bring us a sample of his very own creation! He was very helpful in recommending the best places to eat and providing directions. It's a perfect spot at the top of the caldera. I will definitely make this one of my first choices of accommodation in Oia! I can't say enough good about it! We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kelster111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

4 friends and I took a "Girls Trip" to Greece and stopped in Santorini for 3 nights. Rose, Erica and the rest of the staff at Chelidonia were absolutely wonderful and very accommodating. The villa we stayed in slept the 5 of us very comfortably, had the most amazing views, was perfectly located in Oia (close to all the shopping and restaurants), and I can't say enough about how beautiful the villa was and what an awesome experience it was to stay in a "traditional" hillside home. They offer free wifi, free US calls (in thier office), ironing board on request, in bathroom hairdryer, a kitchenette, and housekeeping service daily.
It was an amazing experience and the hotel was PERFECT! I can't say enough good things about it!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Chelidona Villas for 4 days in August. The hotel is built into the hillside in Oia, which has to be one of the most beautiful places on earth. The hotel itself is gorgeous, with a view from our own villa that was to die for. It was hard to leave the hotel, because we thoroughly enjoyed sitting on our balcony and drinking wine.

We arrived at the airport and the taxi that Chelidonia had arranged was waiting. The owner, Triantafyllos, greeted us. His family has owned the propeerty for decades and we really enjoyed our time with him and learning more about the history of the island. Our villa was fantastic. It was meticulously clean, had a large patio facing the Caldera, kitchenette in our room, very comfortable beds and linens, and free wifi. Service was excellent and helped us arrange tours, RV rental, and dinner reservations. Every detail was taken care of. The villas were very centrally located in Oia with all the restaurants and shops within steps. There was no swimming pool, but we preferred that as we visited many of Santorni's beaches. There are beaches within walking distance and the water was incredible.

As an example of the tremendous service, our flight out was to leave at 10pm, nearly 11 hours after check out. Triantafyllos arranged for us to shower and rest at his own villa before our flight, so we could still enjoy the full day in Santorini. He went above and beyond to make our trip and experience wonderful.

We travel extensively, and this place ranks at the top of our list of places to stay. If you want a perfect vacation to an enchanted place, this is it! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My Son and I stayed at Chelidonia Villas for a week this August. The most perfect location In Oia, wonderful and comfortable villas and the loveliest host family. Highly reccommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa06880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This is absolutely one of the most memorable places we've ever stayed.

First, let's make a few things clear: there is no pool, TV, shower curtain, or breakfast buffet. If that's what you're after, look elsewhere (but you'll probably spend double to find a place that has those things, as well as a view and cave-house experience like Chelidonia).

The caldera view, from an ideal location in Oia village, is stunning. Our villa was spacious and clean. We used the kitchenette to cater our own breakfast.

Wi-fi works well but only reaches into the porch and living room. Don't be surprised if curious cats wander into your room. The towels are like sandpaper, probably from being dried in the sun. Who cares? We really, really loved it here and barely left our porch the entire three days we were in Santorini.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelonious2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My wife and I recently returned from our honeymoon, and this is the place to stay. Best resort/hotel on our 2 week trip through Greece and Italy. The view is amazing, the hosts are so hospitable, the town of Oia is charming, everything was great! When we arrived they even gave us a free upgrade, free wireless internet, nice porch, kitchenette, it was perfect. The highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sublasto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.2 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
1.8 mi away
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
#21 of 58 in Oia
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#27 of 58 in Oia
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelidonia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelidonia Villas

Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#9 Family Hotel in Oia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £127 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelidonia is a family run set of carefully restaurated traditional dwellings on the caldera cliffs in the heart of Oia, Santorini. We offer panorama and privacy for individual travellers who contact us directly. We are proud to have been recommended by the New York Times as the preferable accommodation to stay on Santorini island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelidonia Villas Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing