We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Chelidonia Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelidonia Villas
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I travelled to Santorini, Greece August 2012. On recommendation from our family friend we stayed at Chelidonia Villas, Oia. As quite the apt travellers our experience was second to none. The villas/rooms were an absolute treat. We stayed in a one bedroom villa that had what we believe to be the best views on the island, absolutely stunning to wake up to each morning. It was very clean and the up-keep of the rooms was impressive. The service was very easy going from Leandros, our very charismatic go to man who was helpful from everything to handling all of our luggage to giving us fantastic advice for the best activities, to the very professional Erika and Rose who made our booking so easy! They were kind and friendly and went out of their way to cater to anything we wanted or needed. Their hard work certainly pays off as they were a big part of the success of our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
177
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My friend and I were travelling for two weeks in Greece and Santorini was top on our list to see. Chelidonia Villas was recommended to me from a good friend that travels to Greece almost every other year so we decided it was a must. The second we arrived we felt like family. Rose and his family take such amazing care of their guests while they stay in their private villas. Their villas are unique and absolutely beautiful. They pay attentiont to every detail and it shows. I am in the hospitality industry and can be a tough critic but I was blown away but their place. We even were upgraded to a larger villa that happened to be the home that he grew up in. They had excellent customer service while also making you feel like part of their family. The views from their villas are absolutely astonishing!! Couldn't have picked a better location and we got to enjoy the beauty right outside our villa every morning and evening.

Thank you, Rose, for making our stay unforgettable! We will be back!! Yia Mas!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Excellent location and amazing staff! We woke up to breath taking views every morning and a private terrace to take it all in. Will definitely stay here again. Love this place! We appreciate the hospitality and small town feel in such a busy area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spudluv03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We arrived very early from the bus and asked directions to the villa reception and found it. Rose (owner/manager) met us there and took us down the steps to our little cave. We were the first cave on the path. If you can't walk many steps, we suggest this room. It also known as the 'bakery' (as this is what it used to be!). Very cool place! One room had a small kitchen area, cupboard for clothes and a separate bathroom, shower only. We shopped for breakfast and lunch items nearby as our room had a fridge; sink; and two element cook top with kitchen dishes etc. The view from this establishment is beyond words. You MUST stay on the caldera if you're travelling to Santorini. Isn't this the reason you came to this island? We love beach places and resorts, but Santorini is the exception! The bus terminal is very close by which takes you back and forth to Thira and other points of interest. This location is right off the square - perfect. You won't see the sunsets from this spot but you'll walk and wind the 5 minutes through the shop district to get where the view is awesome. Rose is very helpful with everything - he allows guests to use his internet whereby we could contact home daily. There are a few bakeries, one is close by. You'll be surrounded by plenty of restuarants and you may see a few Weddings take place as you stroll the caldera boardwalk. You will also see the massive cruise ships come in with hoards of tourisits. You'll feel like a 'local' as you'll know when and where to be before the onset of them. Great place to stay and neat experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 863Romantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We spent a wonderful 3 nights in a 1 bedroom villa at the Chelidonia and highly recommend it. The villa was lovely with a patio overlooking the caldera and the proprietors could not have been nicer. We enjoyed talking to both of them and felt very much at home there. Oia is just beautiful and if we are lucky enough to return, we will certainly return to the Chelidonia.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just got home from honeymooning in Santorini at Chelidonia Villas. What can I say- my honeymoon there was definitely worth mentioning. We arrived early in the morning and were met by the owner with coffee and juice. It was fairly quiet and the owner explained to us that it was the start of the season and therefore the best time for honeymooners.
We stayed in the honeymoon villa which was incredible. The room was huge!, clean, jacuzzi and spectacular volcanic and ocean views- just like a movie!
That night the owner (super friendly without being overbearing) recommended a restaurant in the village square (30 steps away) called Kadouni which serves a scrumptious slow cooked lamb.
I would recommend this hotel to all couples and honeymooners.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schenectady
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is exactly the experience I was looking for in Santorini. Our villa had an amazing view with a large patio covered in flowers. The room was very clean and well kept, shaped like a cave, so perfect! Rosa was incredibly accommodating and brought us wine, milk, fruit etc. It was very nice talking with him and learning about the renovation process he took on all by himself! A very hard working man, he takes care of every detail. I would highly recommend Chelidonia Villas to anyone visiting Santoroni for an authentic experience

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#43 of 56 in Oia
390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#34 of 56 in Oia
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Ifestio Villas
Ifestio Villas
#4 of 34 in Oia
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelidonia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelidonia Villas

Property: Chelidonia Villas
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#9 Family Hotel in Oia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelidonia is a family run set of carefully restaurated traditional dwellings on the caldera cliffs in the heart of Oia, Santorini. We offer panorama and privacy for individual travellers who contact us directly. We are proud to have been recommended by the New York Times as the preferable accommodation to stay on Santorini island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelidonia Villas Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing