We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in such a romantic setting”
Review of Chelidonia Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelidonia Villas
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location in such a romantic setting”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a wonderful 5 week european holiday. We finished our holiday with 3 amazing days staying at Chelidonia Villas,Oia on Santorini. It was a very difficult decision deciding where we'd stay, however, with us visiting Santorini for a day while on our mediterranean cruise, it was the perfect opportunity to have a look at some of the villas while briefly there. We stumbled across the Chelidonia reception office on the main thoroughfare in Oia. It was charming and so was the Greek owner "Rose" who immediately welcomed us in well spoken English and a big smile. What a delightful man. He was more than happy to show us one of his villas and we were sold on the well kept, freshly painted & perfectly positioned villas. It was so unique for us to give him a deposit of whatever was in our wallet & he wrote a receipt on a scrap of paper, all in greek. I had know idea what it said but we had an agreement.

We arrived on an early flight a couple weeks later with the day just happening to be my birthday. Finding Rose's office was easy & in a blink of an eye his wonderful staff were carrying our bags down the path around the corner down many steps and so on ( anyone reading this who's been to Oia knows the many meandering paths to all the cave apartments & hotels) It didn't matter that it was probably 3-4 hours before the correct checkin time which the bigger more famous hotels adhere to strictly. Rose escorted us personally and showed us all the trims. The villa was gorgeous and just what we wanted - a traditional cave house in the best of positions. There was even a welcoming bottle of wine in the fridge and cooled water - how thoughtful. Rose also gave us so many recommendations eg, where to get groceries, bakery items, where to have dinner and the list goes on.

Our next 3 days were perfect, with the smiles never leaving our faces. Our stay was romantic and so restful even if we did walk 100's of steps every day. Sitting on our balcony in the evening a highlight, with the lights twinkling, listening to the soft murmur of voices and the clinking of glasses across the caldera. We enjoyed the fabulous cafes, particularly the little one directly to the right ( with the orange chairs) at the bottom of the stairs at Amoudi Bay. Unbelievable grilled Calamari and fried Zucchini - Yummo. Jumping into the sea off the rocks there was also lots of fun.

Chelidonia was the perfect finish to our European holiday. Thankyou to Rose & his wonderful staff who serviced the villa each day and to his cute, cheeky son ( sorry I never did find out your name) who thoughtfully carried our bags up to the office the night before departure so we didn't have to struggle the following morning. Thankyou Thankyou. We'll be back, however next time for at least a week.

Paula & George Hatchman,
Sunshine Coast,QLD.
Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    24
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
173
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is our first time in Santorini, and we wanted to stay at a place that celebrated the traditional cave housing that locals have lived in for generations. Chelidonia certainly offered more than we could have imagined. From our private terrace, we stepped out to a breathtaking east-facing view of the Caldera where you could inhale the magic at sunrise (NB: our villa did not face the west side where the famous sunset can be viewed). It was the perfect place to enjoy tranquil mornings, listen to the calm waves of the Aegean Sea below, just before cruise ships arrive with tourists. At night, the whole Caldera is bathed in warm lighting from restaurants, shops and local jewellers. It is so peaceful that you can actually hear the clinking of glasses and murmuring of guests at restaurants from the private terrace. We noticed our terrace which was filled with gorgeous bougainvilleas was the biggest terrace around!

Other practical tips:
- Contact the owners for pickup from the Airport (25 euros for 2 persons)
- There are no pools at the Villas because swimming pools are not traditional to the area and Oia does not have access to fresh water.
- Wifi can only be accessed on the terrace (the villas are caves, hence no transmission)
- Credit cards are not yet accepted (but payment via Paypal fine)

We would very highly recommend Chelidonia Villas for its romantic atmosphere and exceptional service. The owner Triantafyllos Pitsikalis (aka "Rose") is a very fatherly and takes great responsibility for his guests. Ask him about the local history and you'll be fascinated by his personal story. All in all, a magical stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notregardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Nestled into the side of a cliff, this villa, with its breathtaking caldera view, was everything we hoped for when we planned our trip to Santorini. We got to stay days where cruiseship passengers only got to stay hours. We spent almost all of our time out on the balcony sipping wine, eating cheese, watching ships come in and out, and donkeys travel up and down the face of a cliff. We didn't want to leave -- there was plenty of entertainment right outside our door. The owner was friendly, helpful, and spoke very good English. He's the kind of man you want to give your business to. We highly recommend these villas.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyforth207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here in May. Our cave-house suite was perfect, spacious, meticulously clean and beautifully decorated. It had a little kitchen so we could do some self-catering. Our outside patio area was great, overlooking one side of Oia and the caldera. We couldn't have asked for anything better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60YOworldcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I never pay too much attention to the place where I have to sleep during sightseeing trips - it must be quiet, clean and have a good matrass. However, both my son and I stayed for almost a whole day during our last day of stay inside our villa - it is a remarkable place, full of life, history, charm of the view and surroundings and kind attention of the owners. Funny, but the young pair from China staying next to us did the same the next day:) I could only wish I come there again - perfect place for any age and any sort!

Room Tip: you will most probably share the feedback from those who say that Santorini is a nightmare - unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I travelled to Santorini, Greece August 2012. On recommendation from our family friend we stayed at Chelidonia Villas, Oia. As quite the apt travellers our experience was second to none. The villas/rooms were an absolute treat. We stayed in a one bedroom villa that had what we believe to be the best views on the island, absolutely stunning to wake up to each morning. It was very clean and the up-keep of the rooms was impressive. The service was very easy going from Leandros, our very charismatic go to man who was helpful from everything to handling all of our luggage to giving us fantastic advice for the best activities, to the very professional Erika and Rose who made our booking so easy! They were kind and friendly and went out of their way to cater to anything we wanted or needed. Their hard work certainly pays off as they were a big part of the success of our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My friend and I were travelling for two weeks in Greece and Santorini was top on our list to see. Chelidonia Villas was recommended to me from a good friend that travels to Greece almost every other year so we decided it was a must. The second we arrived we felt like family. Rose and his family take such amazing care of their guests while they stay in their private villas. Their villas are unique and absolutely beautiful. They pay attentiont to every detail and it shows. I am in the hospitality industry and can be a tough critic but I was blown away but their place. We even were upgraded to a larger villa that happened to be the home that he grew up in. They had excellent customer service while also making you feel like part of their family. The views from their villas are absolutely astonishing!! Couldn't have picked a better location and we got to enjoy the beauty right outside our villa every morning and evening.

Thank you, Rose, for making our stay unforgettable! We will be back!! Yia Mas!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#37 of 56 in Oia
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.6 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.0 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelidonia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelidonia Villas

Property: Chelidonia Villas
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#9 Family Hotel in Oia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelidonia is a family run set of carefully restaurated traditional dwellings on the caldera cliffs in the heart of Oia, Santorini. We offer panorama and privacy for individual travellers who contact us directly. We are proud to have been recommended by the New York Times as the preferable accommodation to stay on Santorini island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelidonia Villas Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing