We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic cave with fabulous views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chelidonia Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelidonia Villas
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
2 reviews
“Authentic cave with fabulous views”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Views are absolutely amazing! Very private with individual balconies. The price is exceptional in comparison to other hotels. The authentic caves make you feel as if you are a true local, not just in a hotel. Very clean, but bathroom and kitchen are average. The owner and son were very helpful and accommodating. Great convenient location. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    24
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
171
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Really special place to stay. Views are wonderful. Rooms quite spacious and comfy. Everything you need. Nice patios. Great price. Easy accessibility to everything in Ia and the great bus station is only a few steps away. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diksmuide, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Chelidonia Villas for 3 nights in September. We had an excellent time!

The location is the best you can get in Santorini. You have a very good view of the caldera and sea. A few steps up and you can see the sunset. You also have a large and private balcony. It's very romantic to sit on the balcony, have a drink and see the lights on the caldera at night.

The manager of the hotel is also a very nice man. He helped us in so many ways. He arranged a transfer for us and said where were the best places to eat etc.

When you're planning a holiday, stay in Oia and stay at Chelidonia Villas. You definitely won't regret it!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 57DMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I cannot recommend Chelidonia Villas highly enough. The beauty of the cave houses and the hospitality of the owners is unparalleled. It is rare to feel both enveloped in the traditional island lifestyle but also luxuriously pampered but somehow Chelidonia manages both. I started coming to Oia 30 years ago even before Chelidonia existed as a hotel and have stayed in enough places there to have an informed opinion. Once I discovered Chelidonia I never stayed anywhere else. Oia is still a magical place and Chelidonia the best way to experience it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tao Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We have visited Chelidonia again after 14 years, this time with our kids. The major part of the houses are digged into earth in the traditional style. This keeps the interior cool. We did not use the A/C at all and enjoyed the wool sheets at night . The interior is designed simple and in fully traditional Greek style. Here you will not find any Ikea furniture. The kitchen is equipped with all the necessities for breakfast or a simple meal. In the spacious terrace you have full view to caldera and your privacy in the same time. At around 16 hours the terrace is in full shadow, quite cool for a sun downer drink. The View is simply Great. Oia is a bid crowded, however we were again very much surprised about the silence of our place, although just 2 minutes away from down town. The houses are cleaned every day and all towels were changed. The owners are extremely friendly and gave us very useful recommendation where to eat. For us Chelidonia is the right place to go in Oia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerinDeniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here the last week of a 5 week vacation in Greece. It was the BEST way to end our trip. We loved the hospitality and the charm of this place. The views are just amazing! I know everyone talks about the sunset and, yes, you have to see it BUT my favorite time of the day was 5-7am. I would wake up, make a frappe in our kitchen and sit on the balcony to let it all soak in. The village is so quiet at that time!
About the rooms, we loved them. We had the bigger or biggest of the rooms which had two balconies and two bedrooms. We didn't need the extra space but it was nice to have. They were very clean and the owners are just amazing.
The owners, They arranged everything for us! We are not typically that couple but since we were unfamiliar and they were so gracious we took their advice and let them book all our dinners, day trips, airport travel, etc! I believe they made all the right choices too!
The island. Our favorite sunset view was from the lighthouse on the other side of the island. Our favorite sunset experience was at the Sunset Tavern in Ammoudi Bay. It was a hike to get there but our dinner table was literally right on the edge of the water and we watched the fisherman haul in their catches for the day all while the sun went down so beautifully. The food was great but it was really about the experience of it all.
We found a tip on some message board about a private enclave almost directly below the villas. I wish I remembered exactly what restaurant you made the turn at! Anyways, head towards Armeni Bay. It was a very long hike, down pathways that had donkeys available to ride. We got down to the port and continued walking along a very rocky (as in boulders- you need sneakers or real great water shoes) coastline. We passed a taverna and I think we walked through two or three private properties (the owners were polite and pointed us in the right direction)! Well we finally made it and were completely alone. Two other couples eventually made their way to the spot and that was it! Six people on a tiny secluded beach. It was perfect! We made our way back and ate at the taverna, amazing! It felt like we were eating out of someone's kitchen!
We did the red and black beaches after we found this place. While it was nice to see the other beaches we would have preferred to go to our private beach everyday! The other beaches are crowded and filled with tourists.
Santorini... It is one of the most amazing places I've ever been. I LOVE it. It is a MUST take trip!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelPie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We arrived in Santorini at the end of our vacation in Greece, ready for a rest from traipsing around cities, stumbling around ruins, and viewing reclaimed artifacts from said ruins in endless museums. Santorini is spectacular place and a perfect antidote to the aforementioned vacation madness. We’d arranged for a transfer from the airport, and upon our arrival in town we were met by Chelidonia Suite’s luggage porter who showed us to the office for check-in and carried our bags down the steep lane to our cave suite. Our hosts, Rose & Erika, proprietors of Chelidonia Villas, made sure our stay was wonderful. On arrival, Rose oriented us to town and gave a few restaurant recommendations. He showed us around our suite, which was the house he was born in. Rose said his family could be traced back in Santorini to the early 1600’s.

The suite was an authentic Santorini cave house, with a living room, kitchen, large bedroom, and a very large bath with a shower. The decor is simple but elegant. The fridge was stocked with and a bottle of Santorini wine and chilled water. The kitchen had coffee, tea, sugar and milk with drip coffee maker, as well as electric hot water pot, as well as other cooking equipment such as a hot plate for cooking, along with an assortment of pots, dishes and glassware. A decent grocery is located out by the main road (a short walk), and a to-die-for bakery is next to the grocery.

The villa was in the perfect location for viewing gorgeous cliff views, the caldera, and the cruise ships docked at the port town while relaxing on the patio. This place is lovingly managed by the owners and it was a pleasure to stay in their home. Chelidonia Suites is exactly where we would stay should we ever visit Santorini again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfcafqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.6 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#39 of 54 in Oia
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 54 in Oia
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#37 of 54 in Oia
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelidonia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelidonia Villas

Property: Chelidonia Villas
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Oia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelidonia is a family run set of carefully restaurated traditional dwellings on the caldera cliffs in the heart of Oia, Santorini. We offer panorama and privacy for individual travellers who contact us directly. We are proud to have been recommended by the New York Times as the preferable accommodation to stay on Santorini island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelidonia Villas Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing