We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our trip to Santorini”
Review of Chelidonia Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelidonia Villas
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We loved staying in the villas and were so glad we stayed in Oia. Erika and her husband who own the villas are very accommodating. They helped us book transport to and from the airport and gave restaurant recommendations. The view from the villas is amazing and sitting on our balcony in the morning drinking espresso and eating pastries form the local bakery was a highlight. We loved that the villas were authentic and gave a great European feel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Where to begin with a place like this! My wife and I (both with slight mobility issues) were located in one of the villas near the top of the walkway. It was as Rose explained it, his parents home and so even though we were paying guests we felt a little privileged to be in there. Essentially the villa is a cave that is built back under the walkway above that is split into 3 rooms, bath, bed and living with kitchen. All the light comes from the windows at the front which looks out over the caldera and the Aegean Sea. It is a breathtaking vista to wake up to, stare at and go to bed with. Internally everything you need is there. We had a shower, toilet basin that was cleaned daily and quite spacious, a king size bed and a living area that had a sofa bed if we needed it. The kitchen was functional and had complementary tea/coffee and even a bottle of wine in the fridge. Both Rose and Erika were so welcoming and helpful. They gave us advice on where to eat where go and what to do that turned out to be spot on. They had a porter meet us at the bus transport and he carried all our gear to the villa and back again when we left 6 days later. Sitting in the verandah area on deck chairs having a wine and watching the sun set over the caldera is just magical. What a wonderful place for a holiday and I would recommend Chelidonia to everyone who doesn't require a mobility aid to get around, but then again if you do need one then Santorini is going to be tough anyway.

Room Tip: The closer to the walkway the shorter the climb but the views are beautiful from all 10 villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfect view of the Caldera, and close to everything in Oia. The owners were extremely accommodating in all regards. The 2-bedroom dwelling nestled in the side of the cliff was something I will never forget, and can't wait to come back to! A great restaurant is just a few doors down, where we watched the donkeys make their trip to pick up cruisers. The bakery & market minutes away, so we could dine in. Also just minutes from the greatest sunsets on the planet, with wonderful restaurants and stores along the way. I WILL retrun

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greekamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It doesn't get much better than the Chelidonia Villas. Perched in a central location along the gorgeous cliffs of Oia, Santorini, this hotel is straight out of the postcards. The owners (Triantaphyllos and Erika) were exceptionally helpful and accommodating. We arrived on a very early flight to Santorini, and were greeted, by name, by a van that was hired by Erika. Triantaphyllos met us personally to take us to the villas. While we had landed much earlier than the scheduled check-in time, he allowed us to rest in an extra room until ours became available. Chris, the extremely friendly porter, effortlessly transferred our luggage through the winding steps of the town to our villa. The rooms were very clean, and the kitchen was stocked with all of the essentials. The view was breathtaking, and while we did not stay for long, we would book with Chelidonia again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclcmmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed in Chelidonia Villas for 3 nights and the accomodations certainly matched the presentation in their website. Erika was very helpful during the booking process and gave us great advice inrenting a car thru Vazeos. Triantaphyllos and his staff took care of the rest when we arrived.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at Chelidonia Villas for the second time for two weeks starting in September. We love Oia, our villa and of course Rose who could not be more accommodating and friendly. Cheledonia Villas is centrally located with magnificent views. Take it from us....you cannot go wrong staying at Chelidonia Villas in Oia.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank theRices2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 days in October at one of the Traditional Chelidonia Villas rented to us by Erika Moechel. In short it was a wonderful memorable vacation thanks in large part to these accommodations, the picturesque setting of our villa, and the excellent service and sites/dining suggestions, and attention to detail that Erika, her husband, and their team provided. The location is beautiful as advertised, the villa exceptionally charming, and the views from our "double" terraces breathtaking.

Room Tip: We are senior citizens and the villa was down along side the cliff a good way. So it was a good hik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
#21 of 56 in Oia
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#29 of 56 in Oia
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelidonia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelidonia Villas

Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#9 Family Hotel in Oia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £129 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelidonia is a family run set of carefully restaurated traditional dwellings on the caldera cliffs in the heart of Oia, Santorini. We offer panorama and privacy for individual travellers who contact us directly. We are proud to have been recommended by the New York Times as the preferable accommodation to stay on Santorini island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelidonia Villas Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing