We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic...will be back next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chelidonia Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelidonia Villas
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic...will be back next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at Chelidonia Villas in early September for 4 nights. We planned our trip last minute and stumbled upon this hotel.....Thank God we did! From the moment we arrived, Rose took us under his wing and pointed us in the right direction. He arranged a wonderful dinner for us at Sunset Taverna where we were able to witness the beautiful Santorini sunset while enjoying a fish dinner. He showed us around the grounds and gave us some background on island and the villas.

LOCATION:
Chelidonia Villas, in my opinion, is located in the best part of the island. The village of Oia offers all that you would ever want in a Santorini vacation. There is a wonderful selection of restaurants and shops. The sunset view is amazing from multiple spots in the village. The people who live and work in Oia are very friendly. All of the rooms/villas that make up Chelidonia provide an amazing caldera view....the view that makes Santorini so famous. The villa is located in the pedestrian portion of Oia. Now understanding the village layout, this is the only area where I would stay. You can walk to all.

VILLA:
There are multiple villas to pick from. All offer fantastic views. I believe that all provide balconies....some larger than others. The rooms are considered "cave rooms"....build into the cliff side. This made for a very unique experience. The individual villas are spread out along the hillside. Some villas require you to walk down many steps. This was not a problem for me and my wife, but could be a problem for others so I wanted to mention. The room provided everything that we need and more. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a small kitchen with fridge, sink, hot plate, and coffee maker. Also, a nice bottle of Santorini white wine was waiting for us in the fridge.

SERVICE:
Rooms were cleaned everyday by friendly staff. Bags were taken down to our room upon arrival, and brought to our car upon check-out. Rose made himself available for anything that we needed. I also found it quite enjoyable just spending some time chatting with Rose. He has many interesting stories.

For sure, my wife and I will return here. He found tremendous value by staying here and have wonderful memories to last a lifetime!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelJohn1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    24
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
171
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in May and highly recommend staying here. The caldera view is amazing. Oia is THE place to stay on Santorini. The owners are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The cave house is basic but extremely clean and comfortable with everything you possibly need including free WiFi plus there is a room next to the office with a computer (with free internet access) and printer. Each cave house has a patio with an incredible view.

Chelidonia is located in the middle of town with lots of cafes, restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk.

With the cruise boats there were hundreds of tourists during the day and until after sunset in Oia so it was nice having our own place to escape from the crowds.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Our family spent 3 nights at Chelidonia Villas. It is everything described in the excellent reviews. The view from the terrace was breathtaking. During the day, you can see the leisure boats in the caldera, at night, the stars are beautiful. The hotel is well located, in the center of Oia, but very quiet. The beds were super-comfortable, and the cave room cool even without air conditioning, despite the temperature being over 40 degrees outside. Follow the recommendations of the owner on restaurants and tours. We enjoyed the trip to the volcano/hot spring/Thirasia island. On Thirasia island, we went to the recommended Cedouni restaurant which was excellent instead of the one pushed by the tour guide. In Oia, we really liked Petros--where we tried all the Santorini specialities, like the cherry tomatoes, fava beans, and fried tomatoes--all delicious. Swimming at Ammoudi Bay was great--saw lots of fish with just goggles. The walk there took 20 minutes up/down the more than 250 steps plus another 10 minutes to the swimming spot.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravelor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

This hotel is one of the most memorable we have ever stayed in. The rooms are incredible - our villa had a kitchenette, a dining & living area, a separate bedroom, & a huge bathroom. The king-sized bed was super comfortable & I slept better there than I sleep at home! The villa is built into the side of the cliff so it stays nice & cool with the windows open, but the a/c also works great if you choose to use it. It is decorated so nicely, too, with antique furnishings & paintings that depict scenes from the island. Having a kitchenette was perfect - just a short walk away is a mini-market & an amazing bakery, so we had breakfast & lunch in our room every day. And trust me...you will not want to leave your room. The views are breathtaking! We had a private terrace where we spent most of our time - I truly believe we had some of the best views in Oia. The room does not have a TV or a phone (or even a clock!), but free - strong - WiFi is a nice touch. There is also a room next to the office that has computers & a phone that you can use to call anywhere in the world for free! And the room has other amenities that you might not expect, such as candles (that we took on our terrace our last night there while we ate pizza from the restaurant at the top of the street - just ask the owner about it) & a complimentary mini bottle of Oia wine (which we also enjoyed our last night with the pizza & candles!). The location of the hotel is perfect - right in the middle of the "strip" so you can easily walk anywhere. But if you stay near the bottom of the cliff, either here or at another hotel, be forewarned - there are a LOT of steps to climb to get to & from your room! We were lucky in getting a room near the top, but we watched many a breathless traveler pass by on their way up from their room at the bottom. Overall, Oia is just as beautiful as you could imagine & Chelidonia Villas is just as perfect as you would hope. The owners make you feel right at home, & you will wish this was your home when you have to leave!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

We spent 3 glorious nights at the Chelidonia Villa at the end of June. You can not beat the location, the view, the comfort, and the hospitality from Rose and Erika! They recommended this bakery only a short walk away, it was soooo good that our kids would only go there for breakfast. We highly recommend this villa and will definitely stay here again when we go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010SoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

These villas are AMAZING! We spent 2 weeks at Chelidonia on our Greek island vacation and we will definitely be back here next year. The view was stunning and one of the best on the island. We were so glad we chose Oia after traveling around Santorini. The Chelidonia Villas are a truly amazing value, to get such a beautiful and surprisingly large fully furnished cave that is close to everything including private beaches, the best restaurants on the island and is peaceful all day and night. The internet and air conditioning was also of high quality and with daily maid service, you can't go wrong! The owners, Erika and her husband, Triantaphyllos have been friendly and helpful during our entire stay. This place exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlieDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

This place is cool. For 180 EUR we rented a traditional villa, built cave-like into the middle of the cliff side. It was quite sizable and would be great for a group of 4. It had a small kitchen, living room with two beds/couches, bedroom with king size bed and a roomy bathroom. But really it's all about the terrace was huge with an amazing view and wireless internet!

Cleaning service does the job. The owners are nice. When it comes to Santorini, if you want to party, stay in Fira. If you want to relax and enjoy the beauty of the island, stay in Oia.

One recommendation - rent an ATV at DROSSOS on the corner and travel the island that way. And pay the premium to get a good one that's 250 CC or higher!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TSLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.6 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#39 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#37 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 54 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelidonia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelidonia Villas

Property: Chelidonia Villas
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Oia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelidonia is a family run set of carefully restaurated traditional dwellings on the caldera cliffs in the heart of Oia, Santorini. We offer panorama and privacy for individual travellers who contact us directly. We are proud to have been recommended by the New York Times as the preferable accommodation to stay on Santorini island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelidonia Villas Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing