We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pearl of Oia,Santorini”
Review of Chelidonia Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelidonia Villas
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The pearl of Oia,Santorini”
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed here a week and did not want to leave. Clean, spacious and perfectly located in a private haven. We stayed in the XL Cavehouse with 2 teenages and could not fault the beds, lounges, period furniture and the cushioned courtyard seating where we soaked up the most amazing view never getting tired of just relaxing. The welcome bottle of wine was appreciated and the hosts more than helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    24
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
173
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Chelidonia Villas for 3 nights before getting a ferry to Crete. We stayed in the Appollon cave house and absolutely loved it. We hired a car from the airport and drove to Oia- there is free parking behind the school which is a short walk away from the reception area. Rose was there to check us in and make sure we had everything we needed. The photos already on tripadvisor show how amazing the views are from the villas, you want to take photos constantly as every time you turn a corner there is another breathtaking view that you have to capture! We travelled round the island, went to the volcano and hot springs, watched the sunset each night (of course) and also visited Red beach. We completely fell in love with Santorini and cannot wait to return to Chelidonia Villas. We generally dont return to places we have visited as there are so many places to see in the world..but this is an exeption.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshire_UKJackdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Having used the internet to find our honeymoon hotel, we were thrilled with the Cheledonia! Rose greeted us (his wife Erika handledo ur email correspondence) and was wonderful about providing tips and suggestions for the best restaurants in Oia. You'll be thankful the porter brings your bags to your villa - just a taste of the "steps" to come. The room we stayed in was perfect, a large terrace with an umbrella, built in stone seating and two chairs to enjoy the views and the incredible stars at night.

The kitchen was a great amenity as we stored breads and treats from our favorite bakery (Rose recommended!) and wine which we enjoyed during our stay. Rose and Erika presented us with a bouquet of roses to celebrate our honeymoon and a wonderful bottle of white wine.

We took ample advantage of the two twin beds in the living room for napping and reading and found the bathroom to be extremely large and accomodating.

We met a great couple from Switzerland and shared conversations, food and wine between the terraces.

The ladies who cleaned our room each day were also delightful and accomodating.

An added benefit - internet access and free internet calling in the small office under Rose's main office.

We particularly liked the location of the Cheledonia - situated right in the middle of Oia and easy walking distance to the sites, restaurants and shops.

We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnct092410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly RI
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We just returned from a 2 week trip to Greece and would have to say that Oia and Chelidonia were the highlights of our vacation. With really neat and well appointed cave houses, terraces with the greatest views and owners that go above and beyond to make sure your stay is a memorable one, if anyone is considering a visit to Santorini, stay in Oia and Chelidonia. Rose and Erika... we will never forget your beautiful place, the quiet nites on the terrace with the unbelievable caldera view, my wife's new friend "Mitzi", your hospitality and Rose.... that fantastic homemade wine and conversation. Thank you both!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkeeMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

First of all, drop everything and book the Paris room at the Chelidonia. All the other overpriced hotels around the area is not worth the price because you are sharing balconies overlooking the caldera...it's not personable....it's like having a shared moment with a group....But not at the Chelidonia....the Paris room gets you an INCREDIBLE room with handcarved detailed rooms with a gorgeous kitchen and a private balcony with a view to die for....the caldera and all the surrounding towns are in the distance. You cannot believe the size of this balcony.....While other hotels has more stars due to a swimming pool...this hotel ( with no swimming pool ) makes up for it with its private balconies.....Who wants to splash around with a bunch of strangers on this romantic getaway in the first place..... A perfect day was.....hiking to nearby towns for 3 hours...then, sunbathing on the balcony with a book ( listening to the Never of Sunday soundtrack...I know...cliche but it works )....picking up dinner and wine and ouzo. Having it on our balcony. Afterwards, walking around Oia at night. The host is a great character with wonderful suggestions. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE. STAY AT THE PARIS ROOM.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByeByeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at Chelidonia in September 2010 for 3 nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Oia, it's a beautiful place on a beautiful island! Oia itself is a little too overrun with tour groups and on the overpriced side but this shouldn't put you off too much.

Our room at Chelidonia was a traditional cave room and, as promised, the decor and furnishings were traditional rather than modern or luxurious. Our room had plenty of character with arched stone ceilings built into the cliffside. The room had an enormous bathroom and a small but reasonably well equipped kitchen. The view from our private terrace was fantastic and I think this is what Chelidonia does best with its cliffside location.

The room itself was good but not excellent. The traditional style was nice but a few extra touches could have made quite a difference. For example, the towels were hard as rocks, there was no soap, shampoo etc in the bathroom and there was no shower screen or curtain, these few little touches would have probably made this feel more like a 3 star rather than 2 star type of hotel but weren't enough to spoil the stay.

Another slight negative was our arrival, there was no one at reception when we arrived but after 10 minutes the owner came to check us in. He was a little grumpy because we'd interrupted his meal and hadn't told him in advance what time we'd be arriving, I had actually emailed about 6 hours earlier but he obviously hadn't checked his email recently.16:30 doesn't seem like an anti-social arrival time to me but I guess he was enjoying his food. He also informed us in a round about way that, as he didn't know when we were arriving, he hadn't arranged a porter to carry our bags down the stairs to our room, not a big deal but these little things make a difference.

Overall, I'd recommend a stay at Chelidonia, the rooms were clean and comfortable, although not luxurious, the traditional cave style was charming and, most importantly, the views of the Caldera from the cliffside terraces were fantastic. By Greek Island standards this hotel is expensive for what you get but I think the €150 a night price is pretty much the going rate in Oia.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at Chelidonia Villas in early September for 4 nights. We planned our trip last minute and stumbled upon this hotel.....Thank God we did! From the moment we arrived, Rose took us under his wing and pointed us in the right direction. He arranged a wonderful dinner for us at Sunset Taverna where we were able to witness the beautiful Santorini sunset while enjoying a fish dinner. He showed us around the grounds and gave us some background on island and the villas.

LOCATION:
Chelidonia Villas, in my opinion, is located in the best part of the island. The village of Oia offers all that you would ever want in a Santorini vacation. There is a wonderful selection of restaurants and shops. The sunset view is amazing from multiple spots in the village. The people who live and work in Oia are very friendly. All of the rooms/villas that make up Chelidonia provide an amazing caldera view....the view that makes Santorini so famous. The villa is located in the pedestrian portion of Oia. Now understanding the village layout, this is the only area where I would stay. You can walk to all.

VILLA:
There are multiple villas to pick from. All offer fantastic views. I believe that all provide balconies....some larger than others. The rooms are considered "cave rooms"....build into the cliff side. This made for a very unique experience. The individual villas are spread out along the hillside. Some villas require you to walk down many steps. This was not a problem for me and my wife, but could be a problem for others so I wanted to mention. The room provided everything that we need and more. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a small kitchen with fridge, sink, hot plate, and coffee maker. Also, a nice bottle of Santorini white wine was waiting for us in the fridge.

SERVICE:
Rooms were cleaned everyday by friendly staff. Bags were taken down to our room upon arrival, and brought to our car upon check-out. Rose made himself available for anything that we needed. I also found it quite enjoyable just spending some time chatting with Rose. He has many interesting stories.

For sure, my wife and I will return here. He found tremendous value by staying here and have wonderful memories to last a lifetime!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelJohn1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
0.1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#37 of 56 in Oia
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.6 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.0 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelidonia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelidonia Villas

Property: Chelidonia Villas
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#9 Family Hotel in Oia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelidonia is a family run set of carefully restaurated traditional dwellings on the caldera cliffs in the heart of Oia, Santorini. We offer panorama and privacy for individual travellers who contact us directly. We are proud to have been recommended by the New York Times as the preferable accommodation to stay on Santorini island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelidonia Villas Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing