We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and accomodations--would go back in an instant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chelidonia Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelidonia Villas
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing location and accomodations--would go back in an instant!”
Reviewed 14 December 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in November. From lthe moment we arrived, we were entranced. We had booked a room with a kitchenette, bathroom, and patio but were upgraded to a room that also had a living room. The patio overlooked the caldera which was amazingly beautiful and was a wonderful place to sit and relax. We felt like we were the only ones around, even when there were tourists on the walkway in the village. It was simply incredible. We were very sad when it came time to leave.

The bed was comfortable and the kitchenette was great for our needs. The owners, Erika and Rose were extremely helpful when it came to giving us information about the area or historical background.

The town of Oia itself is very charming. We were lucky to witness a wedding party exiting the church in the town square after their wedding ceremony. There were serenaded by local musicians playing traditional Greek instruments while fireworks were shot into the sky. It was incredible and one of the high points of our trip.

I highly recommend this lodging! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownBalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    24
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
171
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This was a great location overlooking the caldera, with no sunset view. Be wary of the 'private balcony' comment as it is not so true, the one we had was a shared balcony with a potplant and lattice in between which does not afford any privacy particularly if you have someone who sits out there from 8am to dark as we did. The bed was like a cement slab and the pillow a bag of cement. There is no TV in the villas but there is wi-fi. The place was very clean and serviced everyday. We had a kitchenette with toaster/kettle/fridge/hotplate. There are several steps down to all the villas, there are 10 villas in total and I feel a little overpriced. They do not take credit card at all so make sure you have enough cash to pay your final bill, only a couple of atm's around. Good idea to hire a car and visit other parts of island, driving is easy. We used Vazeos and hired for 24 hours so we were able to drive ourselves and to the airport and leave the car there at no extra cost, it was 30 Euro which is cheaper than a taxi and it was our days entertainment as well.

Don't leave anything on the balcony that you don't want a cat to eat or sit on, cats are everywhere, and I mean everywhere purring around your legs in a restaurant and any wonder when they get fed from the table by tourists.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BTS_29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed in cave house number four, facing East with a beautiful sunrise view. The apartment is 98 steps down from the main walkway in Oia. The apartment included a kitchen, sitting area with dining table, bedroom with large closet and bathroom with no shower curtain. We had a beautiful terrace with an additional sitting/sunning area. It included air conditioning and excellent wifi. At first the cave house seemed a bit primitive and old, but within a few hours it became our home in Oia. It was in a great location with beautiful views of the caldera and Oia. The proprietor, Rose, is a native of Oia and an interesting conversationalist. This was an excellent traditional cave house experience and recommend it highly, especially if you expect to spend a week relaxing in Oia. When in Oia definitely dine at the Sunset Taverna in Amoudi. The Lobster spaghetti is extraordinary and worth the price. Get there in time to get a table harborside and in time for the outstanding sunset.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed here a week and did not want to leave. Clean, spacious and perfectly located in a private haven. We stayed in the XL Cavehouse with 2 teenages and could not fault the beds, lounges, period furniture and the cushioned courtyard seating where we soaked up the most amazing view never getting tired of just relaxing. The welcome bottle of wine was appreciated and the hosts more than helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Chelidonia Villas for 3 nights before getting a ferry to Crete. We stayed in the Appollon cave house and absolutely loved it. We hired a car from the airport and drove to Oia- there is free parking behind the school which is a short walk away from the reception area. Rose was there to check us in and make sure we had everything we needed. The photos already on tripadvisor show how amazing the views are from the villas, you want to take photos constantly as every time you turn a corner there is another breathtaking view that you have to capture! We travelled round the island, went to the volcano and hot springs, watched the sunset each night (of course) and also visited Red beach. We completely fell in love with Santorini and cannot wait to return to Chelidonia Villas. We generally dont return to places we have visited as there are so many places to see in the world..but this is an exeption.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshire_UKJackdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Having used the internet to find our honeymoon hotel, we were thrilled with the Cheledonia! Rose greeted us (his wife Erika handledo ur email correspondence) and was wonderful about providing tips and suggestions for the best restaurants in Oia. You'll be thankful the porter brings your bags to your villa - just a taste of the "steps" to come. The room we stayed in was perfect, a large terrace with an umbrella, built in stone seating and two chairs to enjoy the views and the incredible stars at night.

The kitchen was a great amenity as we stored breads and treats from our favorite bakery (Rose recommended!) and wine which we enjoyed during our stay. Rose and Erika presented us with a bouquet of roses to celebrate our honeymoon and a wonderful bottle of white wine.

We took ample advantage of the two twin beds in the living room for napping and reading and found the bathroom to be extremely large and accomodating.

We met a great couple from Switzerland and shared conversations, food and wine between the terraces.

The ladies who cleaned our room each day were also delightful and accomodating.

An added benefit - internet access and free internet calling in the small office under Rose's main office.

We particularly liked the location of the Cheledonia - situated right in the middle of Oia and easy walking distance to the sites, restaurants and shops.

We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnct092410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly RI
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We just returned from a 2 week trip to Greece and would have to say that Oia and Chelidonia were the highlights of our vacation. With really neat and well appointed cave houses, terraces with the greatest views and owners that go above and beyond to make sure your stay is a memorable one, if anyone is considering a visit to Santorini, stay in Oia and Chelidonia. Rose and Erika... we will never forget your beautiful place, the quiet nites on the terrace with the unbelievable caldera view, my wife's new friend "Mitzi", your hospitality and Rose.... that fantastic homemade wine and conversation. Thank you both!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkeeMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.6 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.5 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#39 of 54 in Oia
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 54 in Oia
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#37 of 54 in Oia
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelidonia Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelidonia Villas

Property: Chelidonia Villas
Address: Nikolaou Nomikou, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Oia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelidonia is a family run set of carefully restaurated traditional dwellings on the caldera cliffs in the heart of Oia, Santorini. We offer panorama and privacy for individual travellers who contact us directly. We are proud to have been recommended by the New York Times as the preferable accommodation to stay on Santorini island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelidonia Villas Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Hotel Oia
Chelidonia Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing