We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of this world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finikia Memories

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Finikia Memories
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at the Finikia for the first week of June. This hotel is THE best hotel we have ever stayed in in any Greek resort...in my opinion when you consider the view, the staff, the food, the location and last but not least the cost, this hotel beats even the 5* mega bucks hotels in the centre of Oia.
The menu in the restaurant is well considered and offers something for every taste, and we didn't have a bad meal during our stay.
The staff are fantastic, especially Joanna, who looked after us so well during our stay; even making us some home made lemon jam to bring home with us on our last day! A lovely touch.
If you want authentic Greek hospitality in a truly magical setting, with great service and wonderful food then the Finikia is the hotel to stay at.
Thank you Theo, Daniella, Joanna and all of the staff at Finikia for making our week in Oia absolutely perfect!
See you next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    131
    38
    13
    15
See reviews for
32
215
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We liked this hotel very much, but it had some drawbacks. One reason we chose this hotel was for the jacuzzi. We were coming from a big hike (Samaria Gorge in Crete), and planned to do the ridge walk from Fira to Oia on Santorini. So the jacuzzi was to be our treat. Not so fast. The water in the tub was only tepid at best; the owner just shrugged it off, saying "that's the hottest it gets." The swimming pool was a bit cool, and clean.

It was really hard to find the owner, or ANYONE, at the front desk. There was NEVER anyone at the front desk. The waitress, showed us to our room, and answered questions as best she could.

Other than this disappointment, the hotel was clean and convenient to a bus stop, or for walking into Oia. It is just off the coast path on the caldera side, and about a 30 minute walk to Parideso Beach on the Aegean side. It's easy from the website to think that this hotel is IN OIA, with the famous view. It is not.

Breakfast was nice, especially for the rooftop location. We chose not to eat dinners here because it was pricey, and there are good tavernas in walking distance, like Santorini Mou. The nearest "supermarket" is about a 10 minute walk toward Oia. The supermarkets all sell wine and beer as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kelly053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at Finikia's Place for four nights in early October 2012. Let me start with the pros.

1. Stunning property. Stunning view. Very tastefully done rooms. We were given one right in front of the pool.

2. Restaurant. The food and service was decent. The menu has been given some thought and does not comprise the regular Greek fare.

3. Location. Good proximity to Oia. About ten minutes walk. We had rented a car so did not affect us anyway but even for those who don't, the hotel is close to Oia without being in the middle of the bustle.

Now the Cons.

1. Service was non existent. Nobody to help us with the luggage when we arrived and when we left. Nobody at the reception! Throughout our stay, we came across not a soul at the reception at any point in time. The waitress at the restaurant would double up as receptionist when queried but she was terribly ill equipped to do so. In other words, this is a do it yourself accommodation.

2. The room though tastefully decorated always gave one a feeling of lack of hygiene. This culminated into quite a situation when we faced bed bugs (shudder!) which led to a few sleepless nights and was quite a dampener. As always, nobody at the reception to consult for a change of room.

3. Breakfast was horrible (personally). A croissant, one slice of cheese, one slice of ham, a glass of orange juice, coffee, not fresh breads and the same preserve everyday. You could call it a typical European breakfast but it doesn't work for me.

All in all, could have been a great stay spoiled by the lack of service and help not to mention the bed bugs. Personally, would not stay here again.

Cheers

Sahil Taneja
New Delhi, India

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahiltaneja52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I can't even imagine that any place could be better than Finikia! The location was amazing, the rooms are amazing and the restaurant is the best. As you cant tell, I liked this place a lot.
The location is great because you can walk to Oia or take the bus (which stops right in front of the hotel) to Fira really easily. It is also set off the beaten path just enough that you feel like the place is yours and you can star gaze at night.
The room was really funky and special. The bathroom was big and they give you the greatest Olive shampoo and lotion.
Breakfast is included and nothing beats sitting on their patio enjoying warm croissants. We ate dinner at the restaurant TWICE. The food is very reasonably priced and is definitely the best on the island. We ate their the 1st night and by the 3rd night my husband insisted we go back. we laughed because every time we passed the place on the bus everyone was saying, "I heard the food there is really good." Daniella took great care of us and was informative and kind.
Usually, a hotel is just a bed for me this place was way more than that!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devsline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

What more can I say other than a brilliant visit yet again - for the ninth time. Warm welcome, good accomodation, and excellent food ensures this one remains a firm favourite. Already planning the next visit.

Santorini is becoming much more popular so don't leave it too late to visit. This end of the island is probably quieter and still maintains a more "typical" atmosphere and is well away from the more popular resorts.

Oia - down the road - is definately on the day trip circuit most of the time but especially at sunset times and then they all leave. Hang around after the sun has gone down to see the best effects in the sky. The actual setting of the sun is just the start - but everyone rushes away and misses the best bit. Oia also takes on a different atmosphere once the crowds have gone and is very beautiful for evening shopping, drinks, or a leisurely meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyinyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkdale, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I could not recommend more highly. Fabulous "cave like" rooms with excellent food sitting watching the Oia famous sunset from the comfort of the rooftop restaurant. Danielle was a delight with her great sense of humour and assistance during our 3 days stay.

Room Tip: Nearer to the swimming pool is a must if you wish to swim or laze by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

During our week in Santorini, we went to Finikias place 3 times. The menu card is huge, and that is normally not a good sign, in my book. But the food was good and well prepared.

The terrace have an excellent view towards Oia.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionsanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
1.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#40 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
1.0 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#39 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#32 of 54 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finikia Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finikia Memories

Property: Finikia Memories
Address: | Finikia, Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Finikia's Place)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Oia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Finikia Memories 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finikia Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finikia`s Place Hotel Oia
Finikias Place Oia
Finikias Place Hotel Oia
Finikia Memories Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing