We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek perfection, amazing views, tranquil setting, great value for oia”
Review of Finikia Memories

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finikia Memories
Ranked #36 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We've just spent a week in a studio (room 19) at Finikia's place and could not have asked for more. Our room was simple but lovely, the bed comfortable, the views from our terrace/the pool were inspiring, the pool area - clean and fresh (and we had it to ourselves all week). Breakfast were good but simple (toast / eggs / cheese / ham / crossiants), the service from the family was friendly, polite and without fuss. Others have written negative comments about the bathrooms and the dogs. The bathrooms are great by Greek standards - most Greek showers do not have a wall hook (it's meant to ensure you wash properly). The two small dogs (west highland terriers) did not bark once and were mostly away from the public areas. I would recommend this place to anyone. Oia was a 15 mimute walk along a reasonably well lit road. This is where the prices are really expensive but there are more reasonable places around. The food in the restaurant was great, although certainly not cheap. Book it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buster044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2009

My friend and I spent a few days in Santorini before our Sailboat Adventure last September 2008. We found Hotel Finikia in one of our guide books under "Value" Hotel. We definitely thought we got a deal at this B&B for the price we paid. This is located outside of Oia, which is a nice stroll to enjoy the view and see the surroundings. The service was excellent, rooms very clean, restaurant food excellent, and by far one of the best views of the sunset you will get in Oia. Because it's not right in town, the hotel is quiet. And the pool is a nice retreat. There is a bus stop to and from Fira a few feet away. We enjoyed our stay very much and wish we could have stayed there longer instead of going on the GAP Sailboat Adventure, which is another story.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpvbc808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

you must confirm your reservation here. our vacation was ruined because they messed up our reservation and they neglected to even book our rooms!!! they were very unresponsive and the service is horrible! owners have 2 little dogs that are noisy and will ruin your getaway!! the place is affordable but its very far from anything! its like a 20 minute walk from oia and like a 20 mins. bus ride from fira...

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aloha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip to Europe. The hotel was ok, very basic. The room included a half fridge and sink as well as a table and bed. THe bathroom was the biggest disappointment with a very odd shower... the shower head was affixed to the wall at knee level and there was no curtain so it made for a very wet bathroom and a very awkward shower. My husband had to hold the shower head above my head in order for me to wash my hair. Our room looked over their pool which was great. The location was nice if you had a rental car, but was very isolated if you didn't. And there were no caldera views which in hind sight we would have liked to have. The breakfast served was more than adequate and we were provided with toast for the first time during our 3 week stay in Europe. The food at the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Also, the hotel had a computer with free internet which was a nice touch. If it weren't for the bathrooms, we would probably go back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chelenjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Traveling to Oia, Santorini during high season isn't exactly budget-friendly... so we decided to book at Finikia's because it was a great price and had the amenities we wanted (pool, restaurant). We were not disappointed!

The room was simple and spare, but true to the feeling of Santorini. It was a good size, but the bathroom was a little frustrating... always a pool of water throughout due to the shower. However, we didn't spend much time in the room so it wasn't an issue.

We really loved the pool - what a treat! Even during high season, this place felt very intimate, and the pool area never had more than 6 people at any time. **Tip: During the afternoon in the summer, Oia is insanely hot, and a lot of shops are closed. I would recommend only doing that once, and otherwise relaxing by the pool (or travelling to the wineries) during the day, and going to town for the evening, when Oia comes alive.

The restaurant at the hotel was really surprising -- great quality of food, service, and ambiance. The large terrace is a beautiful spot to enjoy coffee and breakfast, or a romantic dinner. A good option if you want a great experience without the crowds.

Overall, we had a great stay and would certainly go back. The trip in to Oia wasn't our favorite (walking along the narrow busy highway seemed a little scary), so we ended up renting a car. The rooms aren't luxurious, but they have character. The pool and restaurant make this a GREAT find.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank design_snob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday in Santorini. We stayed at Finikia's place for the whole week - it was perfect. We stayed in room 21 which is located next to the swimming pool. The room was simple and clean. Outside there was a seating area for guests of room 21 and the pool was just a couple of meters from our door. From our seating area there was a lovely sea view.

The pool area was always very quiet (this may be because we visited the hotel out of season) and we often had the place to ourselves.

We used the restaurant on a few occasions, which was also very good. The service was excellent - everyone was very friendly and the tasty homecooked food was delicious.

Breakfast was served on the terrace which has fantastic views to Oia. The food was simple (toast, jam, cheese, tea/coffee) but more than adequate. It was also possible to order a hot breakfast, e.g. fried egg, omelette.

The hotel is situated outside Oia. It is possible to walk into the town along the road or along the very picturesque coastal path. In the evenings when it was dark, we chose to drive in as we didn't feel comfortable walking along the roadside at night. However, it is only a 15 min walk (if that).

All in all I would highly recommend Finikia's place. It is a very relaxing place to stay with great food, a lovely pool and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank YorkshireIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

The Hotel is in Finikia, which is about 5 Minutes outside Oia. It's a really nice hotel with a great pool area and a nice restaurant. The rooms are not luxurious, but they are very nice! You'll probably spend most of you time at the pool, out on the patio in front of your room or exploring the island anyway.

The reception was very friendly. To improve, the restaurant personnel could also smile once in a while.

I would go back, because I loved Oia and found that this hotel had a great price for what you get. It's a bit of a walk into Oia, but if you rent transportation you're fine, and there is also a bust that stops not far away.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EverywhereLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
1.3 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#31 of 58 in Oia
39 reviews
1.3 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#48 of 58 in Oia
270 reviews
1 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finikia Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finikia Memories

Address: | Finikia, Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Finikia's Place)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Oia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £74 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Finikia Memories 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Finikia Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finikia`s Place Hotel Oia
Finikias Place Oia
Finikias Place Hotel Oia
Finikia Memories Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing