We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very Best we have been to”
Review of Amoudi Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amoudi Villas
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the very Best we have been to”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is a very small property only a 10 minute walk from Oia but there are lots of steps to walk to the town. Being a little out of Oia means you don't have people walking past you all the time while you are swimming. The rooms are excellent and only a few steps from the road and carpark. The outlook is just sensational and the pool perfectly situated to watch the best sunset in the world. The service is just brilliant. The most perfect breakfasts with fresh fruit and yogourt and lots of local produce. Of course while you are staying there you need to cross the road to eat at the best local place on the island in our opinion. Sensational local food and live music. We would not hesitate to go there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room lower down with a semi private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    22
    17
    4
    12
See reviews for
13
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My Fiance and I came to Santorini to attend a wedding of a good friend of mine.
My friend and a few very affluent friends of hers would be staying in villa's in the heart of Oia, which they gave recommendations for. All of which looked incredible, and where. We later got to visit each one in their suites, each apartment seemingly very worthily of their 1,000.00 per night rate, with constant service provided in beautiful luxury, in the heart of and on the cliffs of Oia.
My Fiance and I still feel so fortunate to have somehow stumbles upon a treasure like the Amoudi Villa's. Compared to the 1,000.00 per night top rated apartments and villa in Oia, I believe our private, quant little apartment over looking the gorgeous bay of amoudi ( at a fraction of the price ) was so much more.
The restaurant owners at the base of the villa's were so warm and friendly. Offering us wine glasses if we needed, specially made meals off menu each day if we liked, and a seat and a drink and a chat each night before we retired to our apartment. ( We grew especially fond of our favorite chief Paris :)
Each morning we awoke to a gloriously beautiful sunrise on our private balcony right on the water.
You will need transportation to get to Amoudi bay. Walking the stairs is a very literal hike even if you are in shape and not carrying luggage. Renting a high horse power scooter is highly recommended for getting anywhere on Santorini, and very well worth it.
I'm glad we decided to stay in Santorini on Amoudi Bay for the full week and not Island hop. Compared to the shared experiences of our friends, I believe ours was the sweetest. We tazzed around all day from beach to beach, or winery, shopped. Eat beautiful food, and met beautifully wonderful people.
We plan to do the same thing again one day, and we will once again book our stay in Amoudi Villa's.
Amoudi Villa's is very much like your own apartment. You stock your own frig, there is no room service, and they come to change the sheets and towels twice a week. There is a grocery at the top of Oia where you check in, and the best restaurants in all of Santorini right at your feet in Amoudi bay.
Our host and greeter to Amoudi Villa's was Yoni, who was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful and sat with us on our balcony to explain the history and sites and personal recommendations of all of Santorini. We had done quite a bit of research ahead of time, but he provided much more insite and useful information.
I recommend booking your return to the airport far in advance, as in an hour or two well before you would normally have booked your shutter or "taxi". You'll likely be sharing it with many others you didn't know you would be.
There where many people super stressed out about making their flights. Luckily we where not, but only because we took the much earlier transfer time. Even the time at the airport takes extra long... or maybe just seems so because it seems a bit disorganized.
Other then that, it was a glorious place to stay, we will be back. And I highly recommend the chartered sailing tripes!!

Room Tip: make sure you have a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank alyssainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

August 2011 - the hotel is 350 stairs under the main street of Oia (the stairs are the only way to the hotel if you don't rent means of transport). The bay is very beautiful and traditionally greek (not sophisticated as the Oia village). Upon arrival from our journey, we were taken to a central point by cab and then had to wait for a man taking us to the rooms. The villas (with very small but nice terraces) overlook the beautiful bay. At first we were shocked at the state of the building and the rooms, that you don't expect to be so "bohemienne". There was no reception, no phone in the rooms and no hotel services, save for a little man you could contact by your mobile. in the end we had good time and we would suggest the hotel for a very few days. The location is great if you are young and you don't have great expectations on services comforts.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Searching for Atlantis



Since we are fascinated about the lost civilization of Atlantis, we decided to spend our summer vacation in the island that is most connected with the place.

The legend of Atlantis has long been discussed, researched, and even actively sought. It is a grand tale of a continent sinking into the ocean, wiping out a great civilization.

The Greek philosopher Plato mentions that once upon a time the Atlantis island was a vast empire which disappeared in one single night of destruction and mayhem caused by a terrible earthquake followed by a deluge.
Geological as well as archeological explorations have revealed a fascinating likelihood and that is the vanishing of Atlantis which might be linked to the Bronze Age calamity courtesy of the massive explosion in the Aegean Sea. The catastrophe was so devastating that it inundated the caldera and completely ruined the highly civilized Minoan civilization which used to be an integral part of Santorini island.

If you want to be close to the place that Greeks think it is the sinking place of the lost civilization, Amoudi is the place to be.

You will find this small cozy hotel, with great welcoming people ready to give you many information about the place. The rooms are rustic furnished, all of them with living room, bathroom with shower and kitchenette completely utilated. Everything is kept clean by the daily service provided by a nice couple. The view is fantastic and the access to the city of Oia it can be easily made by the stairs or by car. Just a couple of minutes and you are up. But in the evening it is a blessing to come back in the hotel, where everything is so quiet and you can enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace of your room overlooking the sea, Thirassia island and the place where once Atlantis was.

For us was magic, so charged with strong, good energy. Definitely we will come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maneaandreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slobozia, Ialomita
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We had the chance last summer to spend a few days in Santorini, the most beautiful island in all Aegean Sea. After finding out that Oia is the right place to stay if you decide for this island and since we wanted to avoid the crowded streets but still to have the great view of the sea we found out about a small hotel called Amoudi Villas which is located in the old port of Oia, that now is just a picturesque fisherman village with white little cave houses and with the three best fish taverns on the island with fresh fish caught by fishermen every day.
The place is on my opinion the perfect place to spend the vacations. If you want to be in the most famous place of the island but still to be away from the crowded places that can be disturbing in summer, Amoudi is the place to be. Just around 250 stairs that can be easily accessible by foot or on the back of a donkey and in 10 minutes you are on the sea level.
Amoudi Villas is the only hotel located on the cliff, with caldera and sunset view and with proper access to the sea. Next to the hotel there are a few spots to swim and to snorkel, you can jump from the cliff, you can watch the sunset from the lighthouse and in the evening you can enjoy a traditional greek dinner in one of the taverns.
The hotel is great, the staff is great. You get cleaning service every day; the staff is very friendly and ready to accomplish your demands. The hotel is furnished in a rustic style that is extremely charming. It is not a big hotel, it has a total of six rooms, and each one has its own terrace or balcony from where you can enjoy the fantastic view or you can just lie down on the sun chairs and listen to the sound of the waves. The place is just perfect for romantic escapades or for a trip with friends like we did. At the check in you will get many tips on what to do on the island and which places are a must. Even if the whole island is beautiful, Amoudi is magic.
Thank you for a great stay and for an unforgettable experience. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinker1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilouchat
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We arrived in Santorini and had already made a reservation there.
The arrival was a bit hectic, we didn't have enough cash to pay, the ATM was empty, so we had to walk 10 minutes into the city of Oia to finally find the other one (yeah, only 2...).
Then we had already checked in, just needed to pay, but a whole lot of people had arrived and we had to wait one hour to be able to pay...
But in the end, a very nice guy took us with his car to the port of Amoudi, and so we arrived.
Once you're there, it's really nice, a lot of restaurants dow there (though expensive), there's a place to go swimming 5 minutes by foot, except the second day we couldn't go back because there was so high waves...
Then the only problem is, if you want to go to Oia, you need to climb 234 stairs, which isn't impossible to do, you just have to take your time and wear a hat because with so much sun it's more tricky than in the winter, but definitely cool to do with friends to tease you when you're trailing behind (yeah, well, I'm not that good at sports...)
So in general, I would say yes, except we had to find our own way back up to the bus, the agency didn't really care... so we took a taxi and it ended up all right.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilouchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Amoudi Villas is a very small hotel in traditional style of Santorini (cave houses) simple, but elegant apartments.There are everything you need for comfort. Life in Amoudi bay is perfect for relaxation and rest, to feel the atmosphere of old Oia.The great advantage of place â013 the greatest taverns of Amoudi bay with huge assortment of freshest fishes and seafood.Also,was nice to wake up in the morning and go for swim around the rock ,to have a cup of good wine in the night and watch the sunset.I'd recommend to everyone ho is romantic.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank deneslaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#34 of 56 in Oia
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.0 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#44 of 56 in Oia
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 56 in Oia
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoudi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoudi Villas

Property: Amoudi Villas
Address: Amoudi, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amoudi Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amoudi Villas is a small traditional suites complex built with the traditional Santorini cave house style located on the little Bay of Amoudi, the old port of Oia (exactly below the ruins of the famous sunset castle). Which is on the narrow north gate of the Caldera lagoon of Santorini with caldera view and view on the little port, that gives the privilege to enjoy the view of beautiful sailing boats and big cruise ships passing silently in and out, quite close of the bay, like if they were doing a parade just for the guests of Amoudi Villas before there balcony, with Thirassia Island as a back ground. It is maybe the only hotel on the island located on the cliff with caldera view that gives access to the sea without needing transportation (the sea is just a few metres from the entrance of the hotel), which gives you the possibility to swim in two spots (one of them is in the green waters around the famous little island of St. Nicholas, arr. 300 metres from the hotel), to enjoy the sunset from the edge of the bay (after mid September sunset can be seen from some rooms balcony of Amoudi Villas), it has some of the best fish taverns of the island, the area provides big parking capacity (which is rear for hotels with caldera view) and from there starts every day many cruises to the volcano islands etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amoudi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amoudi Villas Hotel Oia
Amoudi Hotel Oia
Amoudi Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing