We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!”
Review of Amoudi Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amoudi Villas
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Kozani, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Settled above the little harbour of Amoudi, literally inside the red and black volcanic rocks of Santorini, Amoudi Villas is an excellent choice if you prefer to avoid the fuss of busy Oia
On the harbour below are many taverns where you can eat fresh fish and if you like you can walk up the stairs that lead to Oia to watch the most famous sunset in the world.
The rooms are nice offering all you need for a pleasant stay in very good prices
and the host Yiannis is very friendly and sociable.
He will give you all the information you will need about Santorini and not only!
All in all Amoudi Villas are real value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Demetris_Ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    22
    17
    4
    12
See reviews for
13
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Having just come back from a very difficult motorbike journey in Central Asia, a fourthnight to the endless deep blue colour of the Aegean Sea was absolutely necessary. Our staying in Amoudi Villas was a very happy surprise. The hotelkeepers John and Dina offered us from the very first moment their best hospitality. Settled just a few minutes away from Oia, you can certainly say that this is its biggest advantage. You can very easily find the way to the village and at the same time you can find your peace and quiet and have some rest. The breathtaking view of caldera, the picturesque sunset and the numerous tavernas and cafes in the area, are some very important characteristics of the hotel, in addition to the cleanliness and the facilities that the room offered us, which are the most significant points. In our next visit to Santorini Island we'll be quite lucky if we have the chance to stay again in Amoudi Villas.

Nick & Nicole

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NICK_NIC0LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed in July and our stay was very enjoyable. The man who collected us at the central office (I can't remember his name!), was extremely helpful. He cleaned the room daily with his wife and was always on hand for advice. The room was nice if a little tired so don't expect luxury, it is very rustic but perfectly adequate. It is reasonably priced compared to what some places charge in Oia. I found the restaurants on the sea front extremely expensive - there's certinaly no recession in this part of Greece! I would highly recommend a lovely restaurant at Paradise beach, food was amazaing in a lovely setting, can't remember name though. It's on the road up to Oia down a dirt track.The view was amazing from the room, and it was lovely to have breakfast on the balcony. I enjoyed the walk up to Oia but I would not recommend doing it during the day. I thought the donkeys were treated quite badly, they did not seem to have a drink all day so I did not use them to get up the steps.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rootwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is a very small property only a 10 minute walk from Oia but there are lots of steps to walk to the town. Being a little out of Oia means you don't have people walking past you all the time while you are swimming. The rooms are excellent and only a few steps from the road and carpark. The outlook is just sensational and the pool perfectly situated to watch the best sunset in the world. The service is just brilliant. The most perfect breakfasts with fresh fruit and yogourt and lots of local produce. Of course while you are staying there you need to cross the road to eat at the best local place on the island in our opinion. Sensational local food and live music. We would not hesitate to go there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room lower down with a semi private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cosmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My Fiance and I came to Santorini to attend a wedding of a good friend of mine.
My friend and a few very affluent friends of hers would be staying in villa's in the heart of Oia, which they gave recommendations for. All of which looked incredible, and where. We later got to visit each one in their suites, each apartment seemingly very worthily of their 1,000.00 per night rate, with constant service provided in beautiful luxury, in the heart of and on the cliffs of Oia.
My Fiance and I still feel so fortunate to have somehow stumbles upon a treasure like the Amoudi Villa's. Compared to the 1,000.00 per night top rated apartments and villa in Oia, I believe our private, quant little apartment over looking the gorgeous bay of amoudi ( at a fraction of the price ) was so much more.
The restaurant owners at the base of the villa's were so warm and friendly. Offering us wine glasses if we needed, specially made meals off menu each day if we liked, and a seat and a drink and a chat each night before we retired to our apartment. ( We grew especially fond of our favorite chief Paris :)
Each morning we awoke to a gloriously beautiful sunrise on our private balcony right on the water.
You will need transportation to get to Amoudi bay. Walking the stairs is a very literal hike even if you are in shape and not carrying luggage. Renting a high horse power scooter is highly recommended for getting anywhere on Santorini, and very well worth it.
I'm glad we decided to stay in Santorini on Amoudi Bay for the full week and not Island hop. Compared to the shared experiences of our friends, I believe ours was the sweetest. We tazzed around all day from beach to beach, or winery, shopped. Eat beautiful food, and met beautifully wonderful people.
We plan to do the same thing again one day, and we will once again book our stay in Amoudi Villa's.
Amoudi Villa's is very much like your own apartment. You stock your own frig, there is no room service, and they come to change the sheets and towels twice a week. There is a grocery at the top of Oia where you check in, and the best restaurants in all of Santorini right at your feet in Amoudi bay.
Our host and greeter to Amoudi Villa's was Yoni, who was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful and sat with us on our balcony to explain the history and sites and personal recommendations of all of Santorini. We had done quite a bit of research ahead of time, but he provided much more insite and useful information.
I recommend booking your return to the airport far in advance, as in an hour or two well before you would normally have booked your shutter or "taxi". You'll likely be sharing it with many others you didn't know you would be.
There where many people super stressed out about making their flights. Luckily we where not, but only because we took the much earlier transfer time. Even the time at the airport takes extra long... or maybe just seems so because it seems a bit disorganized.
Other then that, it was a glorious place to stay, we will be back. And I highly recommend the chartered sailing tripes!!

Room Tip: make sure you have a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank alyssainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

August 2011 - the hotel is 350 stairs under the main street of Oia (the stairs are the only way to the hotel if you don't rent means of transport). The bay is very beautiful and traditionally greek (not sophisticated as the Oia village). Upon arrival from our journey, we were taken to a central point by cab and then had to wait for a man taking us to the rooms. The villas (with very small but nice terraces) overlook the beautiful bay. At first we were shocked at the state of the building and the rooms, that you don't expect to be so "bohemienne". There was no reception, no phone in the rooms and no hotel services, save for a little man you could contact by your mobile. in the end we had good time and we would suggest the hotel for a very few days. The location is great if you are young and you don't have great expectations on services comforts.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Searching for Atlantis



Since we are fascinated about the lost civilization of Atlantis, we decided to spend our summer vacation in the island that is most connected with the place.

The legend of Atlantis has long been discussed, researched, and even actively sought. It is a grand tale of a continent sinking into the ocean, wiping out a great civilization.

The Greek philosopher Plato mentions that once upon a time the Atlantis island was a vast empire which disappeared in one single night of destruction and mayhem caused by a terrible earthquake followed by a deluge.
Geological as well as archeological explorations have revealed a fascinating likelihood and that is the vanishing of Atlantis which might be linked to the Bronze Age calamity courtesy of the massive explosion in the Aegean Sea. The catastrophe was so devastating that it inundated the caldera and completely ruined the highly civilized Minoan civilization which used to be an integral part of Santorini island.

If you want to be close to the place that Greeks think it is the sinking place of the lost civilization, Amoudi is the place to be.

You will find this small cozy hotel, with great welcoming people ready to give you many information about the place. The rooms are rustic furnished, all of them with living room, bathroom with shower and kitchenette completely utilated. Everything is kept clean by the daily service provided by a nice couple. The view is fantastic and the access to the city of Oia it can be easily made by the stairs or by car. Just a couple of minutes and you are up. But in the evening it is a blessing to come back in the hotel, where everything is so quiet and you can enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace of your room overlooking the sea, Thirassia island and the place where once Atlantis was.

For us was magic, so charged with strong, good energy. Definitely we will come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maneaandreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#34 of 56 in Oia
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.0 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#44 of 56 in Oia
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 56 in Oia
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoudi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoudi Villas

Property: Amoudi Villas
Address: Amoudi, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amoudi Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amoudi Villas is a small traditional suites complex built with the traditional Santorini cave house style located on the little Bay of Amoudi, the old port of Oia (exactly below the ruins of the famous sunset castle). Which is on the narrow north gate of the Caldera lagoon of Santorini with caldera view and view on the little port, that gives the privilege to enjoy the view of beautiful sailing boats and big cruise ships passing silently in and out, quite close of the bay, like if they were doing a parade just for the guests of Amoudi Villas before there balcony, with Thirassia Island as a back ground. It is maybe the only hotel on the island located on the cliff with caldera view that gives access to the sea without needing transportation (the sea is just a few metres from the entrance of the hotel), which gives you the possibility to swim in two spots (one of them is in the green waters around the famous little island of St. Nicholas, arr. 300 metres from the hotel), to enjoy the sunset from the edge of the bay (after mid September sunset can be seen from some rooms balcony of Amoudi Villas), it has some of the best fish taverns of the island, the area provides big parking capacity (which is rear for hotels with caldera view) and from there starts every day many cruises to the volcano islands etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amoudi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amoudi Villas Hotel Oia
Amoudi Hotel Oia
Amoudi Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing