We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, spectacular view!”
Review of Amoudi Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amoudi Villas
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Amoudi Villas is perfectly located at the foot of Oia, with stunning views out of the bay of Amoudi. It was easy to get up to Oia to watch the sunset either by donkey, or on foot up the stairs carved into the cliff. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the apartment was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Amoudi Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This property is marketed as being in the village of Oia on the island of Santorini. Oia is a spectacular village, perched on the edge of the caldera overlooking the Mediterranean and the island. Good shopping, restaurants, and incredible views of the legendary Oia sunsets.

Reserved this room on Booking.com. Check in was very very odd, email told us that Oia had no street addresses and to check in at the bus station travel agent. Ok. The agent called a cab to take us to the mysterious address. After a 10 minute ride, we were dropped of with the keys at Amoudi beach, there is no reception.

Amoudi Beach is at the bottom of the caldera, on the beach or rather in a tiny port. It is remote, has no stores or amenities, a couple cafes and no views of the ocean or sunsets. Oia village is only accessible by a $20 cab ride (according to the driver), by donkey (fee), or straight up a 1200 foot, feces strewn, rather treacherous, path. The path is not lighted at night and therefore dangerous and inaccessible, and don't even think about carrying luggage up and down safely. Nowhere to shop or buy groceries, we felt absolutely stranded. There was no staff to complaint to we had to hike up the path back to the travel agent, who told us '. . .everyone knows Amoudi is part of Oia. . . '. Because we were only staying the night, we ate and trundled back down the path before it got dark.

The 'villa' is basic accommodation, a room with a 2-burner stove, a small fridge and no outdoor seating. An ok value if we had only known the real situation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were offered an upgrade to a better and bigger room for an small extra charge. The view was much better and it had a day bed and a small dining table in the extra room as well as a well equipped kitchenette. We used it extensively for the 2 mornings we were there for breakfasts as going up the stairs to Oia wasn't an inviting proposition on an empty stomach. We thought it best to rent a car to be able to explore the island easily and to avoid the steps up to Oia. Yiannis was very helpful. He give us all the relevant information about the history of Santorini as well as places to visit. he helped us with the car rental and also got them to allow us to drop off the car at the port which made it so convenient.

Loved looking the sea and the boats/ ships passing by.

The decor and the look of the room was simple and rustic.

Found the pillows lumpy and missed having a person around/ reception ( though Yiannis was just a phone call away.) It isn't very well lit at night and one could need help at odd hours in a quiet place such as this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VinitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

People come from all over the world to see the sunset in oia. They crowd like suckers on top of the hill, but not us, as we had our private jaccuzi on private terrace.

Seriously, what an amazing bargain. For 150eur/night in peak season, we had a honeymoon suite with a sunset view!!! Couldnt find a better deal than this in oia. Plus if u want to be away from the hustle and bustle of tourists and crowds then this place is located right at the end of the cliff in amoulda bay, with awesome swimming and cliff jumping just walking distance from the suite and fresh seafood a stones throw away.

The place was great, large enough to sleep 3 comfortablly. With balcon/terrace which fits 30 people.

The only downfall is that the room is very dusty, but I hope after owners read this comment will ensure to clean , mop and dust the room before the guests arrive. Also the kitchen needs a big cutting knife to cut meat an fruit :)


Anyway, this place is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kejonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I went to Santorini last summer with my boyfriend. The location is also absolutely wonderful. A little bit away from most of the tourists as they stay at the top of Oia to watch the sunset.

The manager was very nice and helpful and he even drove us to the top of Oia a couple of times. He also informed about different things to do, excursions and gave us a couple of recommendations. It is not a very fashionable hotel but I would absolutely recommend it if the trip is about seeing Santorini and experiencing Greece. The fish restaurants in the bay are also highly recommended and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SynneArlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at Amoudi Villas for 2 nights in late September 2012. We had arranged a transfer to Oia to pick us up from the ferry port on Santorini when we arrived from Piraeus. There was initially some confusion about which car rental place we were supposed to be picked up from, but in the end it all worked out.

Arriving at Amoudi Villas, we found that it was fairly basic accommodation and our room was on the highest level, up several flights of stairs that were not particularly well-lit or equipped with handrails. We are reasonably fit so it wasn't that big of a deal. Also one of the guys associated with the place carried our bags up the stairs for us.

The apartment had a great view over Amoudi Bay from the balcony, a small fridge and a kitchenette, but a hairdryer that didn't work. As others have said, there was not really a reception desk as such for Amoudi Villas.They had some relationship with Ecorama (you have to pronounce it 'a-corrima' rather than 'eco-rama' if you want to be understood) and I have to say Diana at Ecorama was really helpful. Among other things, she arranged for us to get our laundry done. Ecorama has an office in the town of Oia, right near the bus station. Also near a small supermarket.

The main thing to be aware of is that the Amoudi Bay area is down a steep cliff from the town of Oia and it is not really practical to walk up and down the stairs. Or take the donkeys up the path during daylight hours. We decided that it was necessary to rent either a scooter or an ATV to get between the town of Oia and the waterfront where Amoudi Villas are located. Fortunately we met the young woman who staffs the 'boat tours' desk at the dock just down from the villas. I can't remember her name, but she arranged for the scooter rental people to drop a Vespa to us for the period of our stay. Later on we booked a 'Sunset Tour' through her which goes on the big red catamaran from Amoudi Bay. This was a really good boat trip, with snorkelling and free booze.

At Amoudi Bay there are several good restaurants/bars. Both the Sunset and Katina were very nice, and we had a good time with the staff and other guests at these places. In conclusion, this accommodation is OK as long as you understand that it is pretty basic and that you may need to rent a vehicle if you want to travel the few kilometres up the hill between Amoudi Bay and the town of Oia.

.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank djk_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

A peaceful bay with the best fish restaurants, swim access, great sunset and day cruises around the island. Yiannis was helpful and friendly. He told me all the informations I needed to know in order not to miss anything of the island, the history of the island, what to see, where to go and how . I would miss seeing the very important ruins of the ancient city of Akrotiri without his tour on the map.
The view from room was amazing, additionally with the typical Caldera view, I had the view on that magic little port, day and night.
There is no reception on the spot but the staff is so helping. The check in in Oia is not easy because there are no addresses but in that case it was so easy, I just had to ask about Amoudi Villas to the Information center right where the bus dropped me, then they called Yiannis who came and pickup me to my apartment.
It is October and the weather is good, people are still swimming, Not me... I'm taking pictures all day long... Santorini is amazing... I wish I had some more time. But I'll come back for sure!

这家旅馆位于圣特里尼岛Oia镇最北端的Amoudi海湾边上,紧邻小码头和鱼餐厅,高兴的话可以直接下海游泳,看海湾看日落都风光无敌。
旅馆是Apart类的,没有接待处,坐车到了Oia镇在Info中心问一下,打个电话老板Yiannis开车来接。Yiannis详细跟我讲了岛上情况,知道我喜欢看古迹特别介绍岛南端有座五千年前古城遗迹Akrotiri,据说是Atlantis姊妹城,后都毁于海中火山爆发。
我本来订单人间,到达后Yiannis给我升成了套间,房间足够大,设施不新但都齐全,屋里还有不少老旧物品做装饰摆设,别拿大城市星级酒店标准要求,毕竟这是家收费不贵的Villas,如果住过福建土楼那感觉有点像,当然卫生条件要更完善...:)
圣岛我是乱打乱撞来的,来了发现国人特别热衷圣岛(据说有人到了希腊不待雅典直接来此)也有道理,风光建筑随手一拍就是张明信片,看过各种日落,这里的日落还是让我印象尤其深刻。决定了,以后想再发呆就来这里••••••

Room Tip: Email Amoudi Villas, and ask them the different room options, and they will help you to choose the b...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pikemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#34 of 56 in Oia
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.0 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#45 of 56 in Oia
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#44 of 56 in Oia
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.0 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoudi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoudi Villas

Address: Amoudi, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Price Range: £97 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amoudi Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amoudi Villas is a small traditional suites complex built with the traditional Santorini cave house style located on the little Bay of Amoudi, the old port of Oia (exactly below the ruins of the famous sunset castle). Which is on the narrow north gate of the Caldera lagoon of Santorini with caldera view and view on the little port, that gives the privilege to enjoy the view of beautiful sailing boats and big cruise ships passing silently in and out, quite close of the bay, like if they were doing a parade just for the guests of Amoudi Villas before there balcony, with Thirassia Island as a back ground. It is maybe the only hotel on the island located on the cliff with caldera view that gives access to the sea without needing transportation (the sea is just a few metres from the entrance of the hotel), which gives you the possibility to swim in two spots (one of them is in the green waters around the famous little island of St. Nicholas, arr. 300 metres from the hotel), to enjoy the sunset from the edge of the bay (after mid September sunset can be seen from some rooms balcony of Amoudi Villas), it has some of the best fish taverns of the island, the area provides big parking capacity (which is rear for hotels with caldera view) and from there starts every day many cruises to the volcano islands etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amoudi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amoudi Villas Hotel Oia
Amoudi Hotel Oia
Amoudi Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing