We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things are not always as they appear”
Review of Amoudi Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amoudi Villas
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 8 February 2010

May 2009 my sister and I went on a dream holiday, including Oia Greece expecting the luxurious room with a fantanstic view of Amoudi Bay. Upon arrival from our long journey, early evening, we were taken to a central point by cab and then requested to exit. We were then in the middle of town with luggage and told to check in at main tourist station and told to wait until drivers could take us to the room. After a lengthy wait we got in a very small vehicle and were transported to the apartment style villas. The villas overlook the beautiful bay so we were excited, however once we exited the small car, and packed all our items to the top of the stairs, we were shocked at the state that both the building and the room. We were hastily left saying if we have problems, please call and given a number. There was no phone,no toilet paper , windows didn't close, bed was a board, very very dirty ~ infact we had to go up the 300 broken stairs the next morning to lay our complaints and ask for Toilet paper. We bought cleaners to clean the kitchen area ourselves and used paper plates as the state of the cupboards we did not feel safe to use the utensils etc...the bathroom was dirty and mold all over.We had no hot water, even tho there was a tank on the roof that was suppose to provide us with hot water and the inside switch didn't work. We did ask them to change the shower curtain of which they did. We were left on the hill, no other people were at the villa at the same time, all the restaurants close, so you do not have access to any medical services etc.....if required. You must be able bodied to climb the broken stairs daily, as well as the stairs to get to your rooms. Throughout our time in Greece, this was the only place that we were concerned about our health and safety. The rest of our trip was great in other location and on other islands.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank c0mpassi0nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

I got married in Santorini in July. I booked 5 apartments at Amoudi Villas for our family and friends to stay at for a week. We had the most amazing time. The villas are the only place for tourists to stay in the Amoudi Bay fishing village. There are plenty of other places to stay at the top of the hill in Oia, but I am so glad that we chose this place. This is where everyone comes to get away from the busy town above. The villas consist of 6 apartments - and we rented 5 of them, 2 studios, 2 2-bedroom apartments and the honeymoon suite. Each had it's own bedroom, day bed in living room (for sitting or for extra guest), kitchenette, bathroom and balcony with the most amazing views you'll ever see. There are about 30 steps to get up to the Villas so you can work off all the fabulous food you eat. The bay consists of a cute little bar (sometimes w/live music) and then 4 restaurants in a row all serving the freshest seafood that you can actually see come right off the fisherman's boat. The best restaurant is the first one called Pandora's - Yannis is the owner. He'll make you feel so welcome and the food is literally some of the best on the island. Make sure to try the Orange Pie! Amoudi Villas was the perfect place for all 13 of us - we had our own rooms to retreat to (w/ air conditioning!) but otherwise we all hung out on our balconies and drank wine, laughed and enjoyed each other's companies. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which is special because one of the walls is actually the exposed island wall itself. The only issue we had was with a leaky toilet, but you'll find there are plumbing issues all over the island because of the steep terrains and lack of industrial plumbing. The water here is amazing. You can jump of the dock at the bottom of the stairs or walk around the corner with the lighthouse and swim out to a small island with a quaint church that has an excellent cliff to jump off of back into the water. The water is so salty that you don't even need to tread water - you simply just float. The view from Amoudi is of the entire fishing village where all the fisherman park their boats and majestic sailboats and cruise ships are constantly sailing by in front of the volcanic island w/ hot springs. The people at the office will help you with any excursion or request you might have. Since there were 13 of us, we decided to charter a sail boat (w/ Captain George) and he took us wherever we wanted to explore and swim. I can't say enough about our experience at Amoudi. It was a week full of enjoying life - swimming, eating, drinking and relaxing! Also the wine is Santorini has a lesser alcohol content than most so you can drink and drink and stay euphoric - never getting too drunk. Yannis is the villa's go to guide and he will sit down with you to tell you the history of the island and let you know what not to miss while you're there. The group rented a couple cars, ATVs and a dune buggy and you can park on the road - plenty of parking except around sunset when people come from above to witness some of the most beautiful sunsets you'll ever see - and don't get me started about the fantastic moon lit waters at night! Amoudi Villas is for people who want to experience the real Santorini - it is definitely not a 5 star luxury hotel, but the experience is and the people on the island are truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdubinthrhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed 12 days in Amoudi Villas, a place located in a small port just under Oia. Although the place does not have a reception on site, there is a moving reception called Yiannis. His presence and his services does not make you feel like missing the reception. When we arrived he informed us in 15 minutes all about Santorini. Which places to visit, where to eat, where to swim. We must confess that his choises were excellent. The first couple of days the appartment was not very clean and smelly due to the site which was builted, however Yannis responded fast and change the cleaning lady where we could immediately notice the difference. Bottomline, one of the best views in Santorini, affortable with high quality of services.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank npapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We were very disappointed, at least we just stayed for 2 nights. The air was smelly, the air conditioning was not working – just flowing hot air, which is terrible in a superior apartment where the bedroom has no window. The sheets were not in good quality and the bathroom was very very old… Not a place where you want to spend time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spearos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

My husband, myself and several other family members visited Amoudi Villas at the end of June 2009- the first week in July. Amoudi is nestled in a little fishing village about 5 stories up a mountain. The people from the Agency were great to deal with, especially Yannis. He has such a love for the Island and it spills out as he tells you all about the island and it's history. Yannis gave us many insites of places to visit and sites to see. Amoudi Villas is secluded yet right in the mist of activity. At the Villas you have the upmost privacy, and anything you need for the comforts of home & one of the most beautiful views in the world to awaken to every morning. There is a wonderful Restaurant at the foot of the stairway that serves the most delicious orange pie ever! The owner is a wonderful gentleman that our entire family fell in love with. If your choice of foods is fish visit the restaurants just a few steps away following the dock pathway of Amoudi Bay for the fresh catch of the day! This was the most Awesome Vacation I have ever taken and the people of Santorini are wonderful! When we arrived home I have often felt homesick for Santorini and Amoudi Bay. I look forward to our next visit!
Connie Griffin

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Amoudi Villa is in realy bad condition. The pictures have to be realy old. It smells like an old wet rotten celler in the rooms! The place realy need to be renovated. Forget the place. A tent is better!


Visitor july this year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flekkeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Located in the little fishing "town" of Amoudi Bay at the northern-most tip of Santorini (past Oia at the water's edge) which consists of 3 restaurants and a bar, a very-mini market and 4-6 villas, Amoudi Villas (managed by Ecorama Holidays) are minimalist accomodations with some of the most fantastic views in Santorini. The villas are certainly not designed for more than sleeping and early mornings/late evenings relaxing on the private balconies, so don't expect luxurious immenities where you can spend all day relaxing pool-side here. However, if you're looking to spend your days exploring Santorini, then come home in the evenings to the sea-side, freshest fish restaurants on the island (Katina Taverna with the orange chairs is our favorite in all of Santorini by far) and cap the evening with local wine and music, then Amoudi Villas is an excellent choice. Ecorama Holidays goes out of their way to ensure patrons have a memorable stay, which, for us, started when Yannis drove us down to the villa and proceeded to spend the next hour talking us through all of the well known (and less known) sites of Santorini, and kept pace the entire trip, from booking day cruises to making honest food and entertainment recommendations.

A few quick notes. First, Amoudi Bay is NOT in Oia. It is located on the water, as opposed to Oia, which is located a few hundred feet directly above. I prefer Amoudi Bay to Oia because, despite Oia's picturesque architecture, it is crowded every day in high season, very commercial, and doesn't have restaurants that can match Amoudi Bay. Second, as Amoudi Bay is approximately 250 stairs away from Oia, and more than a stone's throw from the other towns, I recommend renting a car (even though there are 2 public busses per day that connect Amoudi Bay and Oia). This doesn't need to be done ahead of time, and costs, per day, the same as the price of one taxi ride!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonah_M_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#31 of 56 in Oia
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#44 of 56 in Oia
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
#21 of 56 in Oia
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.0 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#36 of 56 in Oia
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoudi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoudi Villas

Address: Amoudi, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Price Range: £113 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amoudi Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amoudi Villas is a small traditional suites complex built with the traditional Santorini cave house style located on the little Bay of Amoudi, the old port of Oia (exactly below the ruins of the famous sunset castle). Which is on the narrow north gate of the Caldera lagoon of Santorini with caldera view and view on the little port, that gives the privilege to enjoy the view of beautiful sailing boats and big cruise ships passing silently in and out, quite close of the bay, like if they were doing a parade just for the guests of Amoudi Villas before there balcony, with Thirassia Island as a back ground. It is maybe the only hotel on the island located on the cliff with caldera view that gives access to the sea without needing transportation (the sea is just a few metres from the entrance of the hotel), which gives you the possibility to swim in two spots (one of them is in the green waters around the famous little island of St. Nicholas, arr. 300 metres from the hotel), to enjoy the sunset from the edge of the bay (after mid September sunset can be seen from some rooms balcony of Amoudi Villas), it has some of the best fish taverns of the island, the area provides big parking capacity (which is rear for hotels with caldera view) and from there starts every day many cruises to the volcano islands etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Amoudi Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amoudi Villas Hotel Oia
Amoudi Hotel Oia
Amoudi Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing