We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best spot on the whole island!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pori House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Oia, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frogslide
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best spot on the whole island!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were 2 couples and loved it here! The service was great, the buses are super easy and save you lots of money, you just get a bus to Fira then change buses at the last (main) stop to Oia and get off at that last stop, each bus ride is 1.60 in euro per person, was less than a taxi, and it would take close to the same time. The place is right in the heart of everything but down far enough it's not loud from everyone coming to look at the view this house is included in :)

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellasala...
Guam, Mariana Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The Pori house was a perfect getaway! We visited during the first week of June when the weather was cool and not too hot. The terrace has a wonderful view and we spent a lot of time in the afternoon sitting outside enjoying everything. Maria made our visit very stress free. She set up our arrangements, such as transfers and tours. Vasilis helped with our luggage and made sure everything was on time.

We stayed for a week, so we bought food from the markets nearby. We found that the prices were cheaper at the markets past the main bus station and off of the main village path. All of the markets were within a five minute walk.

The buses were a good way to get around. It was only 1.60 euro per person each way to Fira.

We would definitely recommend any of Maria’s properties. We had such a good time and we really look forward to coming back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: No cons
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suethomas...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Experience Oia like the locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This house is situated just under some of the iconic blue domed buildings and though only a few dozen (steep) steps from the main street it still feels peaceful. Be prepared to climb a lot in Oia but it's worth it. Every corner is a photo opportunity. We went in October and again in April when it's much quieter. It is manic in high season and busy around 11.00-12.00 when the coach tours arrive. My husband less commercial than Fira and with better quality shops, Oia is a delight. Pori house has fabulous views of the Aegean and the old castle. Basic design for an authentic living experience. Had a washing machine which impressed me. Help with your luggage on arrival and departure which is a great help. Maria organised a taxi from the airport too. Reasonable cost for a truly unique experience.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 3 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALocke
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place was fantastic. The views are breathtaking. My 20 year old daughter went with me and loved it. This is the best place we have ever stayed. Maria was phenomenal. It is a steep hike up and down so get in shape - it will be worth it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
Thank you for such a great review !!
Best Regards
Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbrown080...
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dreaming of Oia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I see that the Pori House secret is getting out! We visited in June and there were only 2 reviews at the time. I am so glad we took the chance on this unique gem. We only stayed 4 nights and wish it was so much longer. We fell in love with Oia, and were so glad we weren't visiting for just a day. Like others have said, it is very hard to pull yourself from the veranda and that amazing view. The moon reflecting off the water each night, with the town aglow around me took my breath away. We had our children with us, 5, 9, and 11 and they loved it too. Just keep on eye on some of the ledges. I wouldn't want a toddler with me in Oia b/c I wouldn't be able to relax.
Maria was lovely and quick to help in any way. We had a problem with the air conditioner and they were out right away to get it fixed. We didn't mind not having air for a bit b/c the cave houses stay pretty cool. The only negative of our stay was the very rude couple staying behind us. All of Oia is in close proximity so when our air conditioner was running louder than they liked at night, they rudely asked us to shut it off. I told them we would ask to have it checked, and they asked when we were checking out and leaving the island. So, being in close proximity and having to see them while I was on my veranda was a bit awkward. But, a bottle of wine and that view helped drowned them out. :) Anyways, the apartment is yes, down some steps, but that is the charm of Oia! You need the work out to enjoy the amazing food. Right up the steps and you are in the heart of Oia. Perfect location. I would go back in a heartbeat, and we usually never stay/visit the same place twice.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorieAnnG...
Sumner, Washington
1 review
“All you hope for from Oia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Maria's home is exceptional. From Vasilli who helps port down your luggage 100 steps, to the efficient cleaning service, to the thoughtful decor, to the VIEW! As the breeze sweeps through the house, you feel renewed, looking down the red cliff at the cobalt sea. Pori House was a highlight of our trip to Greece.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: The mattresses.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d a
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staring at the Caldera all day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
8
people found this review helpful

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. We stayed two weeks and we scouted the villas and hotels on the Caldera in Oia looking for other places for friends who are honeymooning in Santorini next summer, and we realized that we had lucked out on the best place to stay in our range. The views from the bedrooms were incredible, eating breakfast on the veranda was great, we shared spirits with the nice people in the villas next door (we were there 2 weeks while most pass through over 4 days or so). My two daughters 4 and 7 were allowed to roam freely because the village below the Caldera is quiet (the main street at the rim above is sometimes packed 2 or 3 times a day as daytrippers pop in). We were comfortable with having our children roam (the acoustics of the Caldera made it easy to hear them). And, oddly, we found the stray cats and dogs to be calm and friendly toward children while, weirdly, the leashed dogs (of tourists? islanders?) we unfriendly. We also took advantage of a pool/cafe (the Lioyerma) in the late afternoons that was 10-15 minutes walk through pedestrian streets.

Maria stopped by often to ask after our needs, helped us with bookings (we took the Dreamcatcher catamaran around the island), and Billy helped bring bags up and down the steps. The cleaning service was excellent, as a very nice lady looked after us.

The thing with the Pori House is that you sit there and want to look at that view all day rather than do a fly-by as so many do above the rim. The highlight to exploring Santorini was always returning home. Honestly, if I lived there, I don't think I'd ever get tired of the view. It was so distracting I would try to read a book and after every page I'd look up and say, "Wow." It never gets old.

We were there 2 weeks and found plenty to do (we hit everything, I think). We recommend a day at Perissa Beach (especially the Magic Bus beach & cabana near the giant rock), an afternoon at Pyrgos, a morning at Akrotiri Archaeological dig, the Dolphin restaurant below Akrotiri, the Red Beach and water was just OK but the cliff formations behind you are very worth seeing (amazing cliffs), the Dreamcatcher catamaran to tour the entire coast, Roka restaurant in Oia, the great cafe at Katharos Beach for good light food before swimming, and for great fresh fish hit Dimitris at Ammoudi (the port just below Oia), then follow the path around the rock if you'd like to go diving off a 10 meter flat platform (not for kids).

Thanks Maria and Billy

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: iPad picked up the wi-fi, but new Apple Macbook did not because they use wireless H (like a lot of Europe) and in the USA, H is reserved. Our laptop couldn't pick it up.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2013
Hello ,

I am really glad that you had a nice time in Santorini!!
Thank you for your exclellent reviews !!
I would like to thank you once more for your preference in PORI HOUSE.

We will be in contact !
Maria Fouka

Greetings for Vasilis and Nilda .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$492
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing