We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic in the Aegean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem,Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magic in the Aegean”
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We had a fantastic experience in Ikies...

No, it is not one of the "Leading Hotels of the World", actually it is much better! (No, dont get me wrong ,you wont find $ 1000 gold faucets!!)

Rustic elegance , chic simplicity , and service that is friendly and unobtrusive , quick and efficient

You really must "experience" it, pictures and reviews wont do it. And then, if you let it ,the place will do magic...


Bon Voyage!

Helpful?
Thank Berr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    35
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
547
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

The day we were to arrive at Ikies from Crete by ferry, ended up being so stormy that none of the ferries were running for the next 2 days, so we ended up catching a flight back to Athens instead and then waited to see if we could get a flight out to Santorini. We wondered if it was worth it now that we had missed a whole day or should we just stay in Athens. We decided to give it a shot anyway. We texted Eleni with our new arrival details and asked to have a taxi meet us. We arrived at the airport which was extremely busy due to the number of flights that were finally able to arrive because of the wind, so it was nice to have someone waiting to pick us up, otherwise we would have been waiting a while for a cab. When we finally arrived at Ikies they were waiting for us to welcome us and bring our bags down to our room. We stayed in the Captain's House. What a great room. As it was very rainy and stormy we decided to order in. The food and service were great. Then to the hot tub. Even though the weather was bad the outside air was still very warm and your hot tub is tucked away out of the wind and you can get to it from the french doors in your bedroom, how relaxing after a rather trying day. I would have to say that the bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. As we arrived in the dark it was a treat to wake up the next morning to look out from our bed at the wonderful view that awaits you. Breakfast was great, but unfortunately it was always too windy to eat outside, but we took our coffees outside anyway because the view is just too nice to miss. By the end of October most of the tourists have gone and some shops have closed but it's beautiful all the same and with no crowds you can eat where ever you like with no reservations and take pictures to your hearts content with no one in the way. We went to Fira for a nice afternoon, it is still quite busy and all the shops are open, but we were glad that we had decided to stay in Oia as it is much nicer. So was it worth the extra hassle of getting there -- absolutely!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Philly413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamaica77
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

My wife and I just returned from a 10 day honeymoon in Greece where we spent 3 nights in Santorini at Ikies (10/9 to 10/12). The reviews on this site are absolutely correct - the property, location, staff, and service at Ikies are some of the best you'll find anywhere in the world.

I booked our stay at Ikies based purely on the reviews and rankings from TripAdvisor and from browsing the Ikies website - which is also very accurate in its depiction of the amazing views from its suites and 'houses'. We were not let down.

Here is a summary review:

Location - Excellent. The property is a short (10 min) walk along a picturesque pathway into the romantic village of Oia. Like many of the resorts/villas in Santorini, Ikies is virtually carved into the side of a cliff, overlooking the Santorini Caldera. There is also a nice market (with everything you need), car rental agency, and bus stop along the pathway less than 1000 feet from the Ikies entrance. Lastly, the property has ample (free) parking for those renting cars or mopeds.

Staff & Service - The friendly, multi-lingual staff at Ikies (especially Katerina, Loella, and Eleni) are the hallmark of the resort and better than you'd find at the most prestigious hotels (I worked at a 5 star resort throughout high school and college). From my first email inquiring about availability to our early morning departure - where the Ikies staff brought us breakfast the night before so we wouldn't leave on an empty stomach - these folks know what good customer service is all about. Furthermore, the service is truly personal as they remember your names, are genuine in their interest and commitment to making your stay comfortable, and have fantastic attention to detail - you don't feel like someone is just doing something because their boss just asked them or because they want a tip.

Room/Accomodations - Again, just perfect. Since each 'room' is essentially a small suite with a kitchenette and balcony with arguably the most beautiful view of a sunset in the world, its tough to find a flaw. Beds are spacious and comfortable; bathrooms have excellent showers and first-rate toiletries; our suite even had a laptop with wireless access in the room - free of charge. Rooms also had flat panel televisions with DVD players and complimentary CDs with relaxing, romantic music. Combine all of this with the setting and service and you have a perfect vacation.

Food/Dining - Since they are not a formal 'hotel', Ikies does not have a restaurant or full room service providing hot meals 24/7 - which is not a problem at all, as they have GREAT light fare that is served to your room - in quite an elegant fashion. You'll wake up each morning to a fully set table on your balcony over the caldera with a choice of fresh juice and coffee as well as a host of other breakfast items. My wife and I ordered dinner one night and had one of the best (and truly) greek salads during our entire stay. The staff are happy to recommend you to several of the restaurants in Oia as well; we took them up on their suggestions and were not disappointed (recommend trying Ambrosia and Nectar if you get a chance)

Negatives - Honestly, I can't think of anything. Perhaps the pool could be a little larger? Then again, with each suite having its own hot tub, one can't really complain about a pool. Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay there longer;)

I encourage you to look into Ikies when considering a stay in Santorini - you won't be disappointed!

- Jon

  • Liked — Outstanding staff and service, amazing views, comfortable, cozy rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing. We loved the place.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2007

We stayed here during our visit to santorinii while on our honeymoon. There's nothing bad to say about this place... We stayed at the fisherman's house--the amenities were so clean. The staff is so very hospitable and accomadating. I loved how they brought a variety of breakfast items (from pastries to fresh fruits to any kind of coffee you want to juice) every morning. best yet, our balcony overlooked the caldera and it was just a short walk away from town. Some houses actually had it's own jacuzzi! Santorini is by far the best place to visit in greece (especially if you're on your honeymoon), but the ikies hotel just made it all the more special for us!!!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ctandsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

My wife and I just returned from 5 days in the Captains house at Ikies. Photos will not do it justice. It was incredibly scenic. Ikies (and Santorini in general) is an excellent place for a couple looking for some time together. The staff would do anything for you without hesitation. The captain’s house is great for privacy. One door from the bedroom opens right into the hot tub.
A quick list of some details:
Weather in October was cool in the early morning and late evening. The rest of the day was hot.
They bring you breakfast every morning on your terrace. (excellent)
The hotel has a computer in the room for you hooked to the internet via wireless, it is free to use.
The electrical hook up is a grounded European outlet.
They have a hair dryer (somewhat weak)
You are going to want a car but beware the main road to Fira is a cliff side road, twisting, no guard rails, very narrow and traveled by large busses. There is another, safer road but it is the long way.
No regrets at all, an excellent place to stay on a beautiful Island.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank elgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

After reading the other reviews, we had high expectations.Where the hotel fell down in our opinion,was the rooms. They are very simple in style and not very cosy to come back to.Yes were comfortable but something "missing". It needed to be updated a bit.The room was not very clean and the floor was nasty. My white socks were brown in no time.
The location is great as other reviewers have mentioned but you can find other hotels less expencive with the same amazing view.
Other than the staff being very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank KatrinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We stayed at Ikies for three nights in mid-September and it was the highlight of our two-week trip to Greece. Something about waking up in the morning, opening the bright blue doors of your cozy room to views of the sparkling Aegean, and being served a wonderful breakfast right on our patio .... it was heavenly!

We stayed in the House of the Fisherman and loved it. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had a great shower and all the amenities we needed, and the overall decor was great. The staff were always so friendly and helpful and gave great tips for exploring the island. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AllieBrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#5 of 56 in Oia
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing