We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 50th Birthday Present!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“My 50th Birthday Present!”
Reviewed 13 November 2007

What a way to spend my 50th Birthday.!! Ikies was the last stay of our 10 day trip to Greece. We stayed 4 days in Mykonos, 2 days in Firastefani, Santorini and 4 days in Oia. We loved the hotel and loved being in Santorini during the quiet time. The only issue was that a lot of the resorts and restaurants had already closed down for the season - but the trade-off for no crowds was well worth it! The staff and the hotel were top-notch. We stayed in the Artisan House and it was lovely. When we had issues with our spa...they offered to upgrade us to another suite for the evening. The breakfasts were large and good (no hot food, however). It was extremely relaxing and very, very private. We enjoyed the small kitchenette with refrigerator - so we could have wine and cheese with the wonderful sunset views. We were on the far end from center of Oia - but enjoyed the walk into town twoice a day. We rented a car for the last two days and toured the rest of the island and some wineries. It was a wonderful trip and I would highly recommend Ikies Traditional Houses for a stay in Santorini. I did miss a hot breakfast after four days - but other than that the food was very good. Oia was our favorite destination of the trip.

Randy and Joni

  • Liked — the private setting and deck with spa...and the sunsets
  • Disliked — Missed being able to order hot food for breakfast or lunch
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diablo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
534
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida
Level Contributor
254 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

It would be difficult to say much more than has already been said, so I will just say that all ther great reviews you have read are "spot on." The place is charming quiet, perfectly located and the staff is fantastic. It is Heaven.

So there we are in Santorini at the end of October, and having great weather. The last night we decided to drive to a restaurant in Fira... well , we are on the mountain road, and the wind picked up the road is curvy and has cliffs to the sea.... then the fog hit..... winding mountain roads - no visiblity and the wind buffeting the car.... pretty uncomfortable...
After taking about 40min to drive what should have been about 10, we make it to the restaurant Soafra(sp?) - have a fantastic meal and then dirve back on the more visible less windy, less terrifying coast road...
The next morning we go to check out and we see Eleni, Katerina and Loella who are preparing themselves to shut the place down for the season... we are talking about how the wind hit the night before etc etc and Eleni said - oh yeas here is your credit card - you left it at the restaurant last night!!!

Eleni - in the middle of the night - in less than ideal conditions - drove to the restaurant and picked up our CC - and said nothing until this next morning.

THAT my fellow travellers is unbelievable service!!!!


PS - the place next door - the Paravola looks nice -- curious there are no reviews here.

  • Liked — Location, privacy, service and space
  • Disliked — I felt like I was in little USA in Santorini...
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mdbasile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gentbrugge
Level Contributor
282 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Ikies is a great place to stay. Beautiful setting. Wonderful rooms, very friendly staff, great food.
We enjoyed the most beautiful sunset from our terrace every evening.
Ikies is just a few steps out of Oia and therefore very quiet and peacefull.
Breakfast is brought to your room every morning, who wouldn't enjoy that.
Ikies is definitely worth recommending and worth of every "Euro".
Our sincere thanks to the staff for making our stay so wonderful.
We will come back one day.

  • Liked — quiet, location
  • Disliked — steps
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

My husband and I have just recently returned from Ikies, Oia, Santorini, where we spent 10 incredible, beautiful days.
We stayed in the House of the Cook upon our arrival, and the next day moved to the House of the Winemaker. The staff looked after moving everything from one suite to the other, we didn't lift a finger.
I cannot say enough about the service and staff at Ikies. From our initial email enquiry to Eleni and finally getting to meet her in person, to being met in the parking lot upon our arrival by Katarina to getting excellent recommendations for dinners from Loella, nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff. They even made arrangements for Stavros to come in very early on the day of our departure to carry our suitcases to the parking lot for us. Now that is service!!!!!
The House of the Winemaker was truly a luxurious suite; from the recessed bedroom with the oh, so comfortable bed; spacious living room with CD player & CD's, plasma TV, DVD player and DVD's, laptop computer with Internet access and the kitchenette with stocked refrigerator to the incredible bathroom; totally tiled from sinks to amazing shower to steam room; we couldn't get over the size of this room. But the best part of this suite was our private terrace. We had an incredible view of the caldera and Oia, which we never got tired of looking at from our marble table and deck chairs or from the lounge chairs or from the 2 man futon.
We eagerly awaited the discreet knock on the door in the mornings, as this signalled breakfast had arrived. We enjoyed our champagne breakfat every day on the terrace, overlooking this incredible view. What a perfect way to start each day!
The water in our hot tub was changed every day; during the day, it was cooled so we could use it as a plunge pool, and in the early evenings, it was warmed and we could hot tub in the evenings after dinner; with a cool glass of wine, lanterns lit and looking up to the sky and feeling that we were amongst the stars. A beautiful way to end each day.
We would absolutely recommend Ikies!
We booked Ikies based on the reviews of this site; the property from their website; the location of Oia, a quieter area of Santorini and only a 10 minute walk from our location; but the best were the staff and the customer service. You will definitely not be disappointed if you choose Ikies!!!
Thank you for making our vacation so enjoyable!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank WoodstockFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem,Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We had a fantastic experience in Ikies...

No, it is not one of the "Leading Hotels of the World", actually it is much better! (No, dont get me wrong ,you wont find $ 1000 gold faucets!!)

Rustic elegance , chic simplicity , and service that is friendly and unobtrusive , quick and efficient

You really must "experience" it, pictures and reviews wont do it. And then, if you let it ,the place will do magic...


Bon Voyage!

Helpful?
Thank Berr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

The day we were to arrive at Ikies from Crete by ferry, ended up being so stormy that none of the ferries were running for the next 2 days, so we ended up catching a flight back to Athens instead and then waited to see if we could get a flight out to Santorini. We wondered if it was worth it now that we had missed a whole day or should we just stay in Athens. We decided to give it a shot anyway. We texted Eleni with our new arrival details and asked to have a taxi meet us. We arrived at the airport which was extremely busy due to the number of flights that were finally able to arrive because of the wind, so it was nice to have someone waiting to pick us up, otherwise we would have been waiting a while for a cab. When we finally arrived at Ikies they were waiting for us to welcome us and bring our bags down to our room. We stayed in the Captain's House. What a great room. As it was very rainy and stormy we decided to order in. The food and service were great. Then to the hot tub. Even though the weather was bad the outside air was still very warm and your hot tub is tucked away out of the wind and you can get to it from the french doors in your bedroom, how relaxing after a rather trying day. I would have to say that the bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. As we arrived in the dark it was a treat to wake up the next morning to look out from our bed at the wonderful view that awaits you. Breakfast was great, but unfortunately it was always too windy to eat outside, but we took our coffees outside anyway because the view is just too nice to miss. By the end of October most of the tourists have gone and some shops have closed but it's beautiful all the same and with no crowds you can eat where ever you like with no reservations and take pictures to your hearts content with no one in the way. We went to Fira for a nice afternoon, it is still quite busy and all the shops are open, but we were glad that we had decided to stay in Oia as it is much nicer. So was it worth the extra hassle of getting there -- absolutely!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Philly413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamaica77
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

My wife and I just returned from a 10 day honeymoon in Greece where we spent 3 nights in Santorini at Ikies (10/9 to 10/12). The reviews on this site are absolutely correct - the property, location, staff, and service at Ikies are some of the best you'll find anywhere in the world.

I booked our stay at Ikies based purely on the reviews and rankings from TripAdvisor and from browsing the Ikies website - which is also very accurate in its depiction of the amazing views from its suites and 'houses'. We were not let down.

Here is a summary review:

Location - Excellent. The property is a short (10 min) walk along a picturesque pathway into the romantic village of Oia. Like many of the resorts/villas in Santorini, Ikies is virtually carved into the side of a cliff, overlooking the Santorini Caldera. There is also a nice market (with everything you need), car rental agency, and bus stop along the pathway less than 1000 feet from the Ikies entrance. Lastly, the property has ample (free) parking for those renting cars or mopeds.

Staff & Service - The friendly, multi-lingual staff at Ikies (especially Katerina, Loella, and Eleni) are the hallmark of the resort and better than you'd find at the most prestigious hotels (I worked at a 5 star resort throughout high school and college). From my first email inquiring about availability to our early morning departure - where the Ikies staff brought us breakfast the night before so we wouldn't leave on an empty stomach - these folks know what good customer service is all about. Furthermore, the service is truly personal as they remember your names, are genuine in their interest and commitment to making your stay comfortable, and have fantastic attention to detail - you don't feel like someone is just doing something because their boss just asked them or because they want a tip.

Room/Accomodations - Again, just perfect. Since each 'room' is essentially a small suite with a kitchenette and balcony with arguably the most beautiful view of a sunset in the world, its tough to find a flaw. Beds are spacious and comfortable; bathrooms have excellent showers and first-rate toiletries; our suite even had a laptop with wireless access in the room - free of charge. Rooms also had flat panel televisions with DVD players and complimentary CDs with relaxing, romantic music. Combine all of this with the setting and service and you have a perfect vacation.

Food/Dining - Since they are not a formal 'hotel', Ikies does not have a restaurant or full room service providing hot meals 24/7 - which is not a problem at all, as they have GREAT light fare that is served to your room - in quite an elegant fashion. You'll wake up each morning to a fully set table on your balcony over the caldera with a choice of fresh juice and coffee as well as a host of other breakfast items. My wife and I ordered dinner one night and had one of the best (and truly) greek salads during our entire stay. The staff are happy to recommend you to several of the restaurants in Oia as well; we took them up on their suggestions and were not disappointed (recommend trying Ambrosia and Nectar if you get a chance)

Negatives - Honestly, I can't think of anything. Perhaps the pool could be a little larger? Then again, with each suite having its own hot tub, one can't really complain about a pool. Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay there longer;)

I encourage you to look into Ikies when considering a stay in Santorini - you won't be disappointed!

- Jon

  • Liked — Outstanding staff and service, amazing views, comfortable, cozy rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing. We loved the place.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#6 of 56 in Oia
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#9 of 56 in Oia
916 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing