We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Much of the charm of this bed & breakfast is the location. The views can't be beat. The room faces the caldera side of Santorini, meaning the views while lounging in the spa are breathtaking. The rooms are right on the main path that takes you to Oia, meaning you can walk there in 10 minutes. But its far enough away where there isn't much foot traffic and you can be undisturbed. The hotel has no amenities at all, but my wife and I found the staff extremely nice and helpful. They let us borrow a computer to check email and gave great restaurant recommendations. The room itself is pretty basic and small, but if you've made it all the way to Santorini, there's no point in locking yourself in your room! Would absolutely come back (if I could afford it!).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanibatutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
543
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My Wife and I went to Oia and stayed at the Ikies for our honeymoon. Planning the trip, we were cautious about which hotel to pick but after reading the reviews, we decided on the Ikies and were not disappointed!!

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and split our stay between the House of the Boatman (first 2 nights) and The Carpenter's house (4 nights). Between the two, we actually liked the House of the Boatman just a little better. True the Carpenter's house is much bigger with nicer decor, a steam room, bigger bathroom, a whirlpool tub and seperate living room, but the house of the boatman is just cozier, more intimate, has a better view (if that's even possible) and more importantly, more secluded. The amenities in both rooms were just fine with the carpenter's house being a little better, and the beds gave us some of the best sleep of our lives! The best thing about all of the rooms are the patios where they deliver breakfast fresh, every morning.

The breakfast every morning was beyond words. The greek yogurt, fruit, pastries and meats were out of this world!! Everything was so fresh and they even go to the local bakery every morning to pick most of it up! The other food was good as well, though we only tried it once as we were much happier taking the staff up on their recommendations.

The staff was SO friendly and accomodating and were genuinely concerned with our comfort and experience. Every recommendation they had was amazing and their knownledge of the Island was second to none. The airline actually lost our luggage and, not knowing we had to make a claim at the airport, we made our way to the hotel. The staff was nice enough to call the airline for us, and drive us back to the airport to make a claim. Talk about service! Everytime we saw them, everyone had a smile on their face and made us feel welcome. They truly made the stay incredible!

The only thing we would say to watch out for, as many have mentioned, are the stray cats. While it definitely wasn't a problem for us since we're animal lovers (shout out to Strato!), those who aren't, especially those who are allergic, may have an issue. All of the cats were really sweet though and better than some domesticated cats we know!

We hope to make it back to Santorini someday soon and if we do, we'll definitely be staying at the Ikies. A special thank you goes out to all of the ladies at the front who made our trip so enjoyable and truly went out of their way to make us feel welcome. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGCharlotte17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This was a wonderful Birthday surprise booked by my Husband, and he could not have picked a more beautiful hotel. All the staff are wonderful from Katrina, Maria and Loella in reception to all the other staff who make this hotel a fantastic experience. Four nights in the Cooks House and we did not want to leave, and we are already planning our return. The views of Oia change constantly throughout the day with the changing light and it is a perfect place to just chill.

Room Tip: All rooms are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SukeeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We went there to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. From the very beginning, Katerina and her team made the Ikies experience incredible. We initially looked into this place because of their #1 rating on trip advisor. That rating did not disappoint. We stayed in the Gardners Boat room, which is the smallest room in the hotel. However, the intimate setting and private balcony overlooking the caldera far exceeded any expectations. Upon arrival, we had complimentary bottle of wine, assorted fruits, and cheeses for our anniversary. The location of the hotel was a short walking distance to Oia, no more than 10 minutes, depending how quickly you walk. The rooms and grounds are kept immaculate and breakfast is served to your private balcony every morning. The hotel was very accommodating right down to letting us borrow an electric plug adaptor and a lap top computer! All recommendations from Katerina and her team are highly recommended. All of them were top notch in our books. We highly recommend the half day excursion to the volcano and lunch on the sister island of Therassia. We ate at such places as Animomalos, Scala, Ambrosio and 1800. All were recommendations of the hotel. The last two are considered the most expensive restaurants in Oia but were well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Ikies is the kind of place everyone should "get" stay once in their life. Located on the island of Santorini, the Ikies - Traditional Houses sits atop the caldera of the island and affords a view that is not only breathtaking, but one of the most romantic I've seen in recent memory. The staff are gracious and EXTREMELY accommodating and the rooms are clean and well-appointed. Can you imagine the shear luxury of being served breakfast on your own terrace each morning? Our private jacuzzi was perfect for relaxing and watching the stars. The property is steps away from the main town of Oia and well worth the walk to explore this magnificent place. I would HIGHLY recommend to anyone wanting a special place to relax!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

It was our second staying in Santorini but the first time in Ikies. We spent 3 days relaxing and trust me, Santorini is the place you never regret being there for relaxation.
The hotel was nice, clean and simple and the room was nicely furnished in a traditional style. The view of our private balcony was astonishing and it's my first time having the breakfast served at our private balcony!!!!

The staff and the manager of the hotel were super and very helpful and I vote them 5/5

One of my concerns was the lack of privacy and actually as I understood this is a point for all hotels around, despite they all promote the privacy of the rooms/hotels.
Maybe the value for money is a bit low since the hotel in fact is not really luxury, but this also concerns all nearby hotels and not only Ikies, which in fact offered us a good price.

The area is very nice and Oia is another settlement on the caldera rim and from first sight looks like a colored Fyra. There is a main pedestrian street which runs along its length among small shops and restaurants.

The volcano from here is much less imposing than from Fyra and indeed looks somewhat flatter but in general Oia is like a dream.

A lot of cruise ships were arriving every day and the small streets of Fyra were mostly crowded, however Oia was much better since the main pedestrian is not as narrow as the small back-alleys of Fyra. According to the locals, a great time to visit Santorini is May-Early June or early September.

I highly recommend Santorini, Oia and Ikies is one of the best hotels in this town. If you manage though to get a good price would be great. Attention! If you want to have full privacy it's not the best hotel and you have to make clear before book in Santorini because all hotels mention "full privacy" but this privacy is not the same you may know in Caribbean or in Spain, France etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gkluciano77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We found heaven on earth. Ikies is one of the best hotel we ever stayed in. We stayed a week in mid may. The weather was still cool not too hot.. and soaking in the collectors house Jacuzzi is the best... wow.. watching the sunset in Jacuzzi is worth a million Buck!! Amazing sunset. Ikies is just perfect. From booking the reservation to checking out-it is all perfect. It took about 20 minutes from airport to hotel. The ride there is breathtaking. The cliffs.. and excitement and the traffic. So much fun. Finally arrive at the hotel which is about a ten minutes walk to oia the town with all restaurant. It is in the beginning of the town so it is more quiet and more relaxing.

The room: collector house is one word wow..... the pictures on their website is exactly what u will experience. It is amazing. Love It.

The service: flawless.

The food: love the orange juice every Morning. Simple breakfast with cheese and bread. Cereal etc.. we can cook our own eggs. It is different from large hotel buffet breakfast. But it is still quite enjoyable. Oh.. watch those cats.. they will jump on the table and eat your left over if u forget to cover the cheese and meat plate. Our collector house cat was so cute. So entertaining. .. miss her..

All in all... great hotel.. relaxing stay.
Worth every penny. Yes it is expensive. But u get what u pay for! Simply the best!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lammylammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#6 of 56 in Oia
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing