We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Love It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Really helpful and friendly stuff, heated private jacuzzi, well-stocked complimentary minibar, world-class stunning view....what can i ask for more?

If the heating hadn't hummed all night, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Everyone knows, get the Boatman's House!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
There are newer reviews for Ikies - Traditional Houses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday in the Greek islands with the last 4 days spent in Ikies, Santorini.
I cannot say enough good words about the fantastic experience we had at Ikies. It was truly a WOW moment.
Ikies will always remain very close to my heart because of the exquisiteness of its setting, the beautiful and cozy houses (we stayed in the Antiquarian suite which is absolutely superb), the attentive and caring service, meant to pamper you without intruding in any way or form and last but not least the privacy that surrounds you at this hotel. We felt that we could enjoy the beauty of the view over Caldera while sipping our drinks as if we were completely alone and things somehow magically happened around us. The manager of this amazing boutique hotel, Katerina, is the perfect host, always ready to help and provide all the necessary information or service to make your stay a perfect experience. And her caring attitude is shared by all the rest of the staff to the point that you recognize the hospitality culture of this place.
Breakfast served on the terrace on white linens and with plenty of choices while enjoying the morning sun and the view over Caldera makes you feel you wouldn’t like to leave this place. We will surely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bogdan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I can't say enough good things about Ikies. We stayed here in May 2011 for 7 nights on our honeymoon and loved everything about the hotel, our room, the amazing staff and Oia.

Before we arrived we had been in contact with some of the staff (unfortunately do not remember everyone's name but Loella and Katerina were particularly helpful throughout our stay) and they booked a taxi to meet us at the airport. When we arrived Loella met us at the top of the road and helped us carry our bags down the many, many sets of stairs! We stayed in the Gardener's room our first night and loved it, the room is cute and cozy with a little balcony at the edge of the hotel pool. We were given a small bottle of local wine and were told all of the drinks in our mini-fridge were complimentary.

The next day we moved to the Artisan's room and it was AMAZING. The room was huge with a private deck overlooking the calderra that had a private hot tub, a lounge chair, a futon and a table with an umbrella. Inside the room we had a full kitchen, comfortable bed, a big closet and an enormous, gorgeous bathroom carved into the rock wall. Once again we had a complimentary bottle of wine and all items in the refrigertator were free.

Breakfast was included in the room price and was served every morning on our deck. We had greek yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee (you could order the coffee any number of ways - cappuccino, rrench press, latte, etc.), tea and fresh breads and pastries. You could also order meats and cheeses but we live in Japan where greek yogurt is hard to find and very expensive so we wanted to eat as much of it as we could each day!

We ordered drinks and snacks off the room service menu a few times and every time we ordered something it arrived quickly and was delicious. The staff took such fantastic care of us and were always available to answer questions and offer suggestions. They made some great restaurant recommendations (Ambrosia and Skala are phenomenal, must be visited), booked us a car for a couple days and arranged a ride to the ferry on our last day there.

Ikies is such a beautiful hotel in an enchanting setting, definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was the most unusual, beautiful and special hotel we have ever stayed. Also the most expensive... Was it worth it? Yes, it was - we had simply an amazing time. Our unit, the pool, the privacy, our own private breakfast with white table linens… Maria, Katerina and Louella welcomed us as though we were in their own home and they helped us plan all aspects of our trip months before our arrival, by e-mail. Their recommendations for restaurants and things to do were spot on. My only wish is that the cost (both airline and accommodations) was not so prohibitive - we would definitely make it an annual trip. F-haristo (Thank you in Greek).

Room Tip: Just describe your needs and the hosts will "fit" you with a room.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Ikies, our first 3 nights of honeymoon after our wedding in Santorini. The first of those nights, which we spent with 9 friends remaining from our wedding, was turned into a nightmare as a direct result of the receptionist underestimating the time it takes to travel by taxi from Ikies to the port of Oia for a seafood dinner: she allowed 15 minutes for the drive whereas the traffic in mid-August in Oia clearly cannot possibly make it in fewer than 30 minutes (nothing exceptional: traffic in the evening was awful in each of our 3 nights there). This resulted in my group of 11-people to be left with no solution whatsoever to have dinner after the restaurant gave our reserved table to another group because we turned up late.

What really upset me is the reaction of both the receptionist and the Oia manager. The receptionist's best offer to compensate for the chaos she caused was to bake us some cookies, which I found surreal . The Ikies manager simply denied any responsibility by Ikies in what happened. I was not looking for much, but at least a sign to show responsibility, even the offering of a cheese platter I had ordered for the next day could have done, but nothing. I foudn that reaction totally offensive and irresponsible. For €290 a night, we could have expected a receptionist who has a minimal knowledge of the Oia traffic in a mid-August evening, and a manager who takes responsibility.

Dubious standards of cleaning have to be added to imcompetence and irresponsibility: the swimming pool is always covered by dead bugs and empty bottles of soda are left several days between long chairs without being binned.
Overall, a very disappointing experience.

My advice: try any other local nearby Ikies, it'll be cheaper and better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank reizouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, General Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your experience on Santorini and IKIES.
At Ikies, our goal is to offer our guests an unforgettable experience based on genuine hospitality and impeccable service. We are dismayed that you feel that your entire experience at IKIES was ruined by the fact that the restaurant that you asked the receptionist to book for you took the initiative to give away your table without giving any notice to anyone.
As this has never happened to us in the past (restaurants will double check with us before cancelling a reservation) and hopefully will never happen again in the future, it not only embarrassed us but also put us in the awkward position of being asked to explain ourselves for something that we were not responsible for.
When on the morning after the unfortunate and, in our opinion unprofessional, cancellation of your reservation by the restaurant, you blamed the receptionist of being ignorant and incompetent (as well as the entire Greek nation of being irresponsible) we immediately tried to find ways of correcting, to the degree possible, your negative experience. We called the restaurant to clarify the issue and to ask whether they were willing to compensate for their action just as you requested, but you found their offer (drinks on the house were you to return) insulting and therefore did not accept it.
We believe strongly in offering honest and heartfelt hospitality which is clear from quite a few of the posts on this website. We obviously sympathized with you for having this negative experience during such an important time for you and accordingly pressured the restaurant to try to make up for the negative experience. At the same time, we were very polite in expressing our opinion that none of the staff at the hotel could be held answerable for the lack of responsibility of another business on the island neither for the unusual traffic conditions on that specific night.
It is a shame that you are willing to “punish” us with your negative comments and what we feel is an unfair rating only because we stood by our opinion that we could not be held responsible for someone else’s actions.
IKIES Traditional Houses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I dream about going back here nearly every day, or at least every day when it is raining here in Scotland. Santorini is the most beautiful place I have every been and Ikies Hotel, the best place I have every stayed. We stayed in the Collectors suite, and it was fabulous, no big telly’s and mod cons, it is traditional and it is amazing! The veranda area and the pool/hot tub leading outside really was the best part of the suite!! Eating a champagne breakfast every morning with that view, priceless! It really is a vacation as you feel like you are cut off the world in your own wee paradise, staff are there for your every need as well. I have never has such a relaxing, peaceful holiday and enjoyed it so much, I am 25 and used to holidays with the girls so was unsure if a week here with my family would be a bit much, but it was the best holiday I have been on, and the accommodation was one of the main reasons for it! Oia is beautiful it is like something out of a film, cobbled streets, lovely wee restaurants and tavernas, and the has the best views of sunset in the worlds, but if you stay at the Collectors suite you can watch it all from your hot tub with a cocktail in hand bliss!

You won’t regret a trip here, I am already thinking about our next visit, and I would definitely consider coming here to get married, either to tie the knot or for a honeymoon, it's just lovely.

Room Tip: Collectors Suite is Amazing, you need to get a champagne breakfast too!
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were so lucky to have had seven blissful days and nights at this very special hotel! Well - really, we had the same day seven times over...but every one was special. Breakfast has been mentioned many times on this site, but the high rating it receives really is justified; we have stayed in many lovely places in different parts of the world, but this breakfast (enhanced by the wonderful terrace setting, beautiful temperature and views) made it the very best of our lives - plenty to choose from, and all excellent quality. We always had food left over, which we stored in the small fridge and nibbled at during the day.

The rest of our day was spent reading (either in our hot tub - which the staff adjusted in temperature for us, very patiently, many times until we got it just right - or on our double futon), dozing and planning our next delicious meal. They do super light meals at Ikies - we had mezedes, which were enough for two lunches, and club sandwiches, and were very impressed.

Oia itself is a lovely little place, and it was very easy to walk into the village centre after sunset (which we found to the the best time, because the best place to watch it really is from Ikies - for us, on our own terrace). We ate at some super little restaurants - our favourites were Floga in the centre, and Dimitris down at Amoudi Port. Ikies staff were brilliant at booking tables, and always got us great ones.

Although our room (Boatman's) and its terrace were compact, it suited us absolutely perfectly, because it was simply furnished in a seasidey Greek style and was almost completely private. It could be overlooked by anyone staying in the room above, or by anyone out on the edge of the terrace outside reception, but this rarely happened, so we were happy. The view was amazing, out over the sea and the village - and I (nosily) loved watching the to-ings and fro-ings below us at Perivolas, and feeling rather smug about our own location. We looked around the Collector's house when it was vacant for a night, and it was absolutely amazing, with two much more luxurious bedrooms, lovely living accommodation and a fantastic terrace. If size matters to you, please note that there are other bigger rooms with much bigger terraces.

We LOVED Ikies, and Oia, and returned home feeling very relaxed and rested. We will, without doubt, return one day. Thank you to all at Ikies, who from our very first e-mail contact to our final goodbye as we waved goodbye from our taxi, were no less than one hundred percent brilliant without being in the slightest bit stuffy. Ikies - don't change a single thing!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueMason27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#11 of 56 in Oia
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#7 of 56 in Oia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £304 - £795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing