We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing and relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“An amazing and relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our stay at Ikies truly surpassed our expectations.

From the moment that we arrived everything was taken care of by the extremely friendly staff.

The views from the room were spectacular, the breakfast delicious and the rooms extremely comfortable.

While Ikies is certainly not the cheapest, your money is definitely well spent and you will never forget the experience!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linds_t_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    32
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
513
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

IKIES was the most expensive accomodation we booked on our two week trip through the Greek Islands in July 2011. It was worth it. We have fondest memories of this place, the tranquility, the charme of the caves, views of the caldera, chilled atmosphere.. we could not help but walking around with a smile on our faces all the time.

We stayed one night at the Captain's House and two nights at the Collectors. The Captain was great with the jacuzzi accessible from the bedroom and outside. Staff was happy to regulate temperatures anytime, so we used it to cool off during the day and have it warmer in the evening.

Sunsets are just as great to watch from here, so we did not bother finding a better spot and instead had MIchael serve us complimentary sunset cocktails on our terrace instead. Life is tough.

I always enjoy reading the extremes of reviews on this sites, here is my take on some of the things mentioned, hope it helps: Privacy - the Collector's is the top pick if you like privacy, captain's is in my view the best of the houses, but be aware this is a small property with terraces and walkways everywhere in between rooms. You will have people looking on to your terrace. Inside it is private. Cleanliness - We did not have any problems. The only thing I noticed is that annoyed me a little was the bugs in the water in the jacuzzi. Not a big deal, though. Amenities, robes, towels, all good. Steamroom in the collector's house was also very clean. Location and Taxis - ok, this property is at the beginning of town. This means a long walk towards the tip where the old castle is where everybody rushes to towards sunset. Well, we like walking and this was not a problem for us, if you are dependent on taxis, there are only about 30 on the whole island! Don't hold your breath. We have been advised by the helpful staff. Food - plenty of options in walking distance. the room menu was small, yes ,but sufficient for us for three days - and we are foodies! Breakfast was unreal and sooo relaxing to have on the private terrace, really this was the best part of this. Waking up seeing the view, feeling the weather and having breakfast served to you while you are sporting the comfy robes adn a grin on your face....
Price - IKIES is not cheap, but if you can afford it take the bigger larger rooms. It is worth it.
Mattresses - I was not a big fan of the seagrass mattresses, too hard for my liking.

Room Tip: Collectors has the largest and most private terrace with a larger jajuzzi as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChuangLi, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Really helpful and friendly stuff, heated private jacuzzi, well-stocked complimentary minibar, world-class stunning view....what can i ask for more?

If the heating hadn't hummed all night, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Everyone knows, get the Boatman's House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday in the Greek islands with the last 4 days spent in Ikies, Santorini.
I cannot say enough good words about the fantastic experience we had at Ikies. It was truly a WOW moment.
Ikies will always remain very close to my heart because of the exquisiteness of its setting, the beautiful and cozy houses (we stayed in the Antiquarian suite which is absolutely superb), the attentive and caring service, meant to pamper you without intruding in any way or form and last but not least the privacy that surrounds you at this hotel. We felt that we could enjoy the beauty of the view over Caldera while sipping our drinks as if we were completely alone and things somehow magically happened around us. The manager of this amazing boutique hotel, Katerina, is the perfect host, always ready to help and provide all the necessary information or service to make your stay a perfect experience. And her caring attitude is shared by all the rest of the staff to the point that you recognize the hospitality culture of this place.
Breakfast served on the terrace on white linens and with plenty of choices while enjoying the morning sun and the view over Caldera makes you feel you wouldn’t like to leave this place. We will surely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogdan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I can't say enough good things about Ikies. We stayed here in May 2011 for 7 nights on our honeymoon and loved everything about the hotel, our room, the amazing staff and Oia.

Before we arrived we had been in contact with some of the staff (unfortunately do not remember everyone's name but Loella and Katerina were particularly helpful throughout our stay) and they booked a taxi to meet us at the airport. When we arrived Loella met us at the top of the road and helped us carry our bags down the many, many sets of stairs! We stayed in the Gardener's room our first night and loved it, the room is cute and cozy with a little balcony at the edge of the hotel pool. We were given a small bottle of local wine and were told all of the drinks in our mini-fridge were complimentary.

The next day we moved to the Artisan's room and it was AMAZING. The room was huge with a private deck overlooking the calderra that had a private hot tub, a lounge chair, a futon and a table with an umbrella. Inside the room we had a full kitchen, comfortable bed, a big closet and an enormous, gorgeous bathroom carved into the rock wall. Once again we had a complimentary bottle of wine and all items in the refrigertator were free.

Breakfast was included in the room price and was served every morning on our deck. We had greek yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee (you could order the coffee any number of ways - cappuccino, rrench press, latte, etc.), tea and fresh breads and pastries. You could also order meats and cheeses but we live in Japan where greek yogurt is hard to find and very expensive so we wanted to eat as much of it as we could each day!

We ordered drinks and snacks off the room service menu a few times and every time we ordered something it arrived quickly and was delicious. The staff took such fantastic care of us and were always available to answer questions and offer suggestions. They made some great restaurant recommendations (Ambrosia and Skala are phenomenal, must be visited), booked us a car for a couple days and arranged a ride to the ferry on our last day there.

Ikies is such a beautiful hotel in an enchanting setting, definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was the most unusual, beautiful and special hotel we have ever stayed. Also the most expensive... Was it worth it? Yes, it was - we had simply an amazing time. Our unit, the pool, the privacy, our own private breakfast with white table linens… Maria, Katerina and Louella welcomed us as though we were in their own home and they helped us plan all aspects of our trip months before our arrival, by e-mail. Their recommendations for restaurants and things to do were spot on. My only wish is that the cost (both airline and accommodations) was not so prohibitive - we would definitely make it an annual trip. F-haristo (Thank you in Greek).

Room Tip: Just describe your needs and the hosts will "fit" you with a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Ikies, our first 3 nights of honeymoon after our wedding in Santorini. The first of those nights, which we spent with 9 friends remaining from our wedding, was turned into a nightmare as a direct result of the receptionist underestimating the time it takes to travel by taxi from Ikies to the port of Oia for a seafood dinner: she allowed 15 minutes for the drive whereas the traffic in mid-August in Oia clearly cannot possibly make it in fewer than 30 minutes (nothing exceptional: traffic in the evening was awful in each of our 3 nights there). This resulted in my group of 11-people to be left with no solution whatsoever to have dinner after the restaurant gave our reserved table to another group because we turned up late.

What really upset me is the reaction of both the receptionist and the Oia manager. The receptionist's best offer to compensate for the chaos she caused was to bake us some cookies, which I found surreal . The Ikies manager simply denied any responsibility by Ikies in what happened. I was not looking for much, but at least a sign to show responsibility, even the offering of a cheese platter I had ordered for the next day could have done, but nothing. I foudn that reaction totally offensive and irresponsible. For €290 a night, we could have expected a receptionist who has a minimal knowledge of the Oia traffic in a mid-August evening, and a manager who takes responsibility.

Dubious standards of cleaning have to be added to imcompetence and irresponsibility: the swimming pool is always covered by dead bugs and empty bottles of soda are left several days between long chairs without being binned.
Overall, a very disappointing experience.

My advice: try any other local nearby Ikies, it'll be cheaper and better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank reizouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, General Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your experience on Santorini and IKIES.
At Ikies, our goal is to offer our guests an unforgettable experience based on genuine hospitality and impeccable service. We are dismayed that you feel that your entire experience at IKIES was ruined by the fact that the restaurant that you asked the receptionist to book for you took the initiative to give away your table without giving any notice to anyone.
As this has never happened to us in the past (restaurants will double check with us before cancelling a reservation) and hopefully will never happen again in the future, it not only embarrassed us but also put us in the awkward position of being asked to explain ourselves for something that we were not responsible for.
When on the morning after the unfortunate and, in our opinion unprofessional, cancellation of your reservation by the restaurant, you blamed the receptionist of being ignorant and incompetent (as well as the entire Greek nation of being irresponsible) we immediately tried to find ways of correcting, to the degree possible, your negative experience. We called the restaurant to clarify the issue and to ask whether they were willing to compensate for their action just as you requested, but you found their offer (drinks on the house were you to return) insulting and therefore did not accept it.
We believe strongly in offering honest and heartfelt hospitality which is clear from quite a few of the posts on this website. We obviously sympathized with you for having this negative experience during such an important time for you and accordingly pressured the restaurant to try to make up for the negative experience. At the same time, we were very polite in expressing our opinion that none of the staff at the hotel could be held answerable for the lack of responsibility of another business on the island neither for the unusual traffic conditions on that specific night.
It is a shame that you are willing to “punish” us with your negative comments and what we feel is an unfair rating only because we stood by our opinion that we could not be held responsible for someone else’s actions.
IKIES Traditional Houses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing