We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Nearby Hotels
US$1,018
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oia's Sunset Apartments(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1,151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caldera Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
VIP Suites(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Laokasti Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,883
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,539
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$983
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$764
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$923
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$578
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveller rating
719
37
7
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
719
37
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsikies staffhot tubsteam roomcook's houseour honeymoonevery morningthe room service menuprivate terracesmallest roomchampagne breakfastother hotelscaptain's suitetraditional housewalk into towndinner reservationsbeautiful villageplunge pool
Filter
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 767 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights for a wedding anniversary at Ikies traditional Guest houses in Oia - based on trip advisor ratings - and must agree with the comments made by others: it is a truely wonderful, magical experience.

We stayed at the smallest unit (house of the gardener). Ikies warned us that the room is really small - and it is - but who wants to be inside if the outside is glorious? We looked at some other "houses" while there and they are at least double the size and really spacious - so it comes down to availability and cost. The benefit of the house of the gardener was the best seat for breakfast and enjoying the breathtaking view of the Caldera- it is the foremost point of the unit with a 180 degree view. We didn't think the 10 meters from the house to the terrace were bad and it still felt almost private to us. Most units have their own seating area, pools, lounge chairs etc., so there was little traffic in the "common" area near the pool.

The staff was very friendly, quiet, flawless and every detail was attended to within minutes (late at night, staff is on call, but not on premise). Arrangements for pickup, restaurant reservations, sightseeing all were on the spot. They did little "extras" as surprises for us - starting with an email ahead of tine to offer assistance with transport to the hotel, continued with a personal, hand written note on arrival and ending with a surprise drik short of departure. The warmth and smiles will make you feel special.

The location of Ikies is at the quiet end of Oia - but a pleasant, maybe 15 minute walk along the Caldera rim with georgious views all along will get you into Oia to restaurants, shops and amusements. A minimart for daily needs is max 5 minutes away

For us, it was a truely magical experience and we highly recommend it to all that are interested to adapt to this wonderful enviroment and who do not expect a "standard 4* hotel chain" experience: the place is more like a private luxury "bed and breakfast".

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juergen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

After reading reviews and extensive internet research I was very excited to stay at Ikies for my honeymoon. After a delay due to a hurricane in the states, we finally arrived and were not disappointed. The staff could not have been more accommodating to our delay and did not charge us for the night we lost. Before we even left for Santorini, the staff had already sent us information on transportation, places to eat, things to do, etc and had set up a few excursions. In person they were even nicer and gave us recommendations for our second half of the trip to Santorini in Kamari. One of the best parts of staying in Ikies was the breakfast on our private patio every morning. The view is amazing and the food was perfect. The only minor downside was that Ikies is at the start of Oia so it was a little bit of a walk to some restaurants and Ammoudi Bay but we didn't mind the exercise and the location gave Ikies more privacy than we would have received at another hotel. The accommodations are top notch and I would highly recommend Ikies to anyone visiting Oia.
I hope we will be able to visit again someday!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Captain's House which was beautiful and private.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our stay at Ikies truly surpassed our expectations.

From the moment that we arrived everything was taken care of by the extremely friendly staff.

The views from the room were spectacular, the breakfast delicious and the rooms extremely comfortable.

While Ikies is certainly not the cheapest, your money is definitely well spent and you will never forget the experience!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linds_t_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

IKIES was the most expensive accomodation we booked on our two week trip through the Greek Islands in July 2011. It was worth it. We have fondest memories of this place, the tranquility, the charme of the caves, views of the caldera, chilled atmosphere.. we could not help but walking around with a smile on our faces all the time.

We stayed one night at the Captain's House and two nights at the Collectors. The Captain was great with the jacuzzi accessible from the bedroom and outside. Staff was happy to regulate temperatures anytime, so we used it to cool off during the day and have it warmer in the evening.

Sunsets are just as great to watch from here, so we did not bother finding a better spot and instead had MIchael serve us complimentary sunset cocktails on our terrace instead. Life is tough.

I always enjoy reading the extremes of reviews on this sites, here is my take on some of the things mentioned, hope it helps: Privacy - the Collector's is the top pick if you like privacy, captain's is in my view the best of the houses, but be aware this is a small property with terraces and walkways everywhere in between rooms. You will have people looking on to your terrace. Inside it is private. Cleanliness - We did not have any problems. The only thing I noticed is that annoyed me a little was the bugs in the water in the jacuzzi. Not a big deal, though. Amenities, robes, towels, all good. Steamroom in the collector's house was also very clean. Location and Taxis - ok, this property is at the beginning of town. This means a long walk towards the tip where the old castle is where everybody rushes to towards sunset. Well, we like walking and this was not a problem for us, if you are dependent on taxis, there are only about 30 on the whole island! Don't hold your breath. We have been advised by the helpful staff. Food - plenty of options in walking distance. the room menu was small, yes ,but sufficient for us for three days - and we are foodies! Breakfast was unreal and sooo relaxing to have on the private terrace, really this was the best part of this. Waking up seeing the view, feeling the weather and having breakfast served to you while you are sporting the comfy robes adn a grin on your face....
Price - IKIES is not cheap, but if you can afford it take the bigger larger rooms. It is worth it.
Mattresses - I was not a big fan of the seagrass mattresses, too hard for my liking.

Room Tip: Collectors has the largest and most private terrace with a larger jajuzzi as well.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJ130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Really helpful and friendly stuff, heated private jacuzzi, well-stocked complimentary minibar, world-class stunning view....what can i ask for more?

If the heating hadn't hummed all night, it was perfect.

Room Tip: Everyone knows, get the Boatman's House!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews