We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hideaway...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stumbled on this romantic, stunning little gem of a hideway by accident. It was our last day in Santorini to leave the island & board our yacht to sail off into sunset. Instead we popped in just for curiosity to see what the rates were like & to see what the place looked like to justify if we should extend our stay. It's exactly what all the reviewers say it is & won't dissapoint. We loved it so much we stayed put & didn't leave the hotel once, so as not to miss one second of it. Yes it's true, the accom, views & breakfast are wonderful & the reception girls really are down to earth, relaxed, friendly, helpful & lovely. All the while service was attentive without being obtrusive so you always have privacy. Other guests were couples too, so no noisy families with passion-killers (ooops i meant kids). Can't think of anything that needs improving, it was just perfect!
Mrs K. Pitt

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all little surprise gems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

We just experienced the holiday of a lifetime at Ikies in Santorini. We stayed in the Captain's House which was absolutely wonderful. Lounge and kitchenette plus a separate bedroom with doors that opened onto our own private outdoor jacuzzi (candlelit at night) which was totally private. The views from our terrace were just breathtaking. Although the stairs to some of the rooms further down were just to the side, hardly anyone went past and it still felt virtually completely private. The double outdoor futon was the height of luxury.

Loella, Katherina and Maria and all the Ikies team looked after us to perfection - we've never experienced such warm yet unintrusive service. They have got it down to a 'T' - booking us tables at restaurants, silently serving the most delicious greek breakfast on our terrace and just giving us a knock to announce it was all ready for us. We just couldn't fault it and are very grateful to them for giving us such a wonderful stay.

Oia is just the most beautiful little town full of amazing restaurants and little shops that are all open until midnight. The walk there and back from the hotel is blissful along a little cobbled path. From other reviews we thought it was going to be quite a steep climb but we found it to be a very pleasant stroll largely on the flat - it's really only getting up the steps from the room to the main path which are steep (all hotels there have that as they are set lower down on the cliff).

Yes it was very expensive and we were a little worried about pushing the boat out to this degree but we honestly felt it was worth every penny. This really was the holiday of a lifetime and felt like a 2nd honeymoon.

Room Tip: We highly recommend getting a room with its own outdoor jacuzzi. There is a swimming pool but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed at Ikies on August, 2011 with my family of four: husband, 17 yr. old son, 20 yr. old daughter. We had been here four years ago. It left such an impression, particularly on my children, that we decided to return.

Ikies did not disappoint. It is unusual. Built in cave-like dwellings, carved into the side of the mountain, jetting out & overlooking the crater-waters below. It's other-worldly up at Oia.
& Ikies only adds to the romance & serenity.

We stayed in the Collector's House, which is two bedroom/two bath, plus a large living room & kitchenette, a huge stunning patio which overlooks the waters & cliffs, & a small spa room, with a steam & an indoor-outdoor plunge pool.

As traditional as this housing is, the cave-like architecture keeps you quite cool, it is very modern. The bathrooms have gorgeous glass tiling. The furnishings are simple, yet chic & airy.
There is a smallish pool on the property.

But what truly sets Ikies apart is the service. It is warm, prompt, quick, & unassuming. The two young female managers are just superb. They had gluten free/dairy free foods for our daughter who has celiac. They remembered I love sparkling wine. They made excellent food recommendations but also helped us steer clear of places that may be popular but with food not up to snuff.

I had originally booked Ikies those four years ago because I had read about it on TA & wrote to them, & a few other hotels--but Ikies was prompt & gracious too.

There is a lot to do throughout Santorini. We traveled around to several different beaches, fun on the water cafe/restaurants. Even took in the water park. But, there is nothing quite so spiritually uplifting as sitting on our gorgeous deck, watching the sun go down in Oia.
It is magical!

Mornings, we had a huge breakfast delivered to us, set up under umbrellas, at our big table on the patio. Simple fruits & breads & yogurts & ...just pure luxury. That is how it felt.

I cannot recommend this property more highly. The accomodation is so unusual, but it is the service which makes Ikies so very special.

I hope this helps.

Kate/Boston

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

When we arrived and stepped into the guest check-in area and saw the view for the first time, we were blown away. Our experience at Ikies and in Santorini was almost magical. I think it is one of those things that you just have to go there to find out for yourself because no descriptions or pictures will do it justice. Its an experience I will never forget. Its in a perfect location and the views are stunning.

The service is excellent. They stay out of your way, but are there if you need anything. We did the same thing every day. Woke up to a light tapping on our door, letting us know breakfast was served. Then we spent the next hour having breakfast, coffee, espresso and all the things we had picked out when we checked in. After that we would spend the next few hours reading on our terrace, swimming in the pool and laying in the sun. We would usually have lunch in town and then on our way home stop at the little market and buy appetizers and wine for watching the sunset. Sunset was by far my favorite time of day. They would bring around little lanterns and set them on all the patios and we would just relax in our Jacuzzi, drink wine and watch the amazing sun set. It was sooo romantic.

I know we laid around a ton, but there are activities you can do and beaches to visit if you want. We were just so content with our routine, we never wanted to leave. Greek life is so laid back, you cant help but get sucked in. The food in Santorini was really good and cheap! We loved the little kitchen in our room and we used it ALL the time. I highly recommend Ikies. We can't wait to go back. You will fall in love with it, I promise….

Room Tip: Splurge and get a room with a private jacuzzi...its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cricket84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

If you are traveling to Santorini and looking for the perfect place to spend a few nights....Ikies is the spot. The service, the view, the rooms, the location - everything is top shelf! Even before arriving we knew we were in for a special Bday holiday with the attention to detail the staff showed in all email exchanges. Upon arrival we were blown away by the incredible view / large room and proximity to Oia for our nightly walk in to find a new dinner spot. You really won't want to leave your deck once breakfast arrives - so easy to just chill out / read your book / take in the sounds and sites of the caldera / wait to order a greek salad mid afternoon.......meats/cheese and local white wine a few hours later. The staff act like they themselves are the owner(s) and take great care to make your stay the best it can be. You know you are in a great spot when the service is perfect yet you often don't even know they were just there to put up your deck umbrella's / drop off breakfast etc. There is a reason half the island it seems comes up to Oia every night to watch the sunset - it is the best spot on the island and Ikies is for us the best hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonnyR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We just stayed at ikies for our honeymoon on the island. It's such a wonderful experience. Besides having one of the best view or maybe the best view in oia. The hotel is super cute and staff very warm and nice. They have emailed us in details beforehand about our arrival and making sure we would be picked up properly. Breakfast is great as we can have it right at our terrace with the best view in the world. We love it and certainly hope to make it back in future. This hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Beijingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The room amenities and tranquil setting are certainly an added touch to the breathtaking views from Ikies but what makes this a wonderful destination is the attention to detail. The incredible staff at Ikies was always attentive and willing to accommodate all requests. the entire staff was always respectful of our time and in more than in one occasion intuitive of our needs. The delightful breakfast and added amenities in the in-room mini bar at no extra charge were carefully selected and tailored to our profile. Loella's warm welcome and guidance is what made this destination a "moment of truth" and a place that we will never forget. After all is the people that "make or break" a destination and Ikies management has made every effort to make sure that the legacy will continue on.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WillyAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.6 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#6 of 56 in Oia
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £246 - £845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing