We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I'm sure you would be hard pressed to find a negative review of Ikies. The hotel is beautiful all around -- the views, the rooms, the service, the food, the staff, the location. I stayed in the Sailors House, which was probably one of the least private rooms, technically. But even still, my view, the room itself, the little touches of sailing decor (maps, books, etc) all made for a relaxing and breathtaking stay. My room was not uber-luxurious, but it had a stylish traditional-rustic minimalism to it. The rooms are very clean, quiet and beds are so comfortable. Ikies is far enough away from the center of Oia, but close enough to walk. The sunset (and nighttime) views over Oia are to die for, as are the views of the Caldera. The pool, while tiny, is lovely. Breakfast service is something to look forward to, and honestly most things I ordered from the kitchen were pretty fabulous. And there is the staff: Loella and Katerina go above and beyond. They are all truly outstanding, but these two in particular stuck with me. I was traveling solo so was constantly asking for advice, etc, and the whole staff could not have been any friendlier or accommodating. I miss them! I was there in August, in the height of tourist season, and still felt like I was a million miles away. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    32
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
513
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We went for our honeymoon back in October and were so excited to stay in a gorgeous suite in the caldera. We saw the most amazing sunsets I've ever seen in my life right on our private balcony while laying on a cushy futon. Bunches or tourists walk down to the tip of the caldera to watch the sunset, and we tried it once only to realize we had an even more amazing view right from the comfort of our room.

The staff was very nice, friendly and accommodating. We ordered champagne and fruit every afternoon. They also serve a very delicious breakfast included. We would walk into Oia every night for dinner and the staff gave us excellent recommendations for what restaurants to try. We went to 1800 because of the great reviews in our travel guides, but I thought the best meals were at Floga and Ambrosia.

The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful, but the other furnishings were a little lacking considering the price. That would be my only complaint and there was not enough room to unpack all our belongings due to the small closet and minimal drawer space.

Room Tip: We loved the Captains Room because it was slightly cheaper than the larger suites, but it still had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jms71424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I travelled to Santorini last October and chose IKIES for our hotel. The hotel is simply amazing. Amazing location with view over the caldera and walking distance to Oia but far enough to have parking available, and far enough to get away from all the tourists. The staff was fantastic, our room - the gardener's house - was the smallest but definetely with the best view, since from our private balcony we didn't see anyone else - it was us and the sea...! It gave us the most amazing sunsets and we would often come back to the hotel in time to have "dinner with sunset". By the way, the cuisine - especially the greek dips - is very good!! I would definetely recomend it, and if one day we ever go back to Santorini, this will definetely be our place to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seatt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We could have stayed here until they kicked us out. Our honeymoon had many highlights, but our 3 nights here surpassed our wildest expectations. From the welcoming package to the full spread at breakfast, the views, the hot tub and fantastic jacuzzi and steam room in the bathroom, the initiative of the front desk (I asked where the best place to rent a car was, and they had the car waiting for us in 30 minutes), their recommendations, all the amenities, this place is top notch. We've raved about it to our friends, and would recommend it to anyone planning on coming to Santorini with their special someone. We were there just before tourist season started, in the Winemaker's Suite, and felt that the island was ours for the week. Sunset here, out at the end of town, is life affirming. Ikies is perfect.

Room Tip: I think the Winemaker's Suite, with its isolated patio, was the best option for us. Call the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiwa2fast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I meant to write this review ages ago but better late than never. My husband and I had a wonderful honeymoon at Ikies. The location is beautiful, it's on the very end of the hotel strip. The views are stunning and it's a short walk into the main part of Oia. We stayed in the Carpenter's house and liked that it was on the very end so it felt more secluded than some of the other rooms. We picked this hotel because of the trip advisor reviews and because we thought it was nice that each room has it's own hot tub. The hotel pool is small but was never crowded. The staff was always very friendly and helpful, if needed. I loved the breakfast that came to your room each morning. What a beautiful thing to wake up to breakfast served to your room each day. I did find it funny that in Greece cats and dogs roam free. Don't be surprised if a cat or two or three come and visit you, especially during breakfast. They were never bothersome, just funny. We ate at the restaurants in Oia most of the evenings and I had gelato every night. Overall, I have wonderful memories of this place and don't have a negative comment to say. I would highly recommend staying at Ikies if you are in Santorini.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna8109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights - 2 in Boatman's studio and 1 in the Winemaker's suite. We had originally booked 3 in the Boatman's studio, but I had wanted to check out the honeymoon suite. It was booked for the first 2 nights of our trip, which is why we went with Boatman. We were looking at trip advisor and noticed that Ikies was offering 10% off for stays in October. We had already booked, but we were still far enough away that we could cancel and rebook. I emailed Ikies and asked if we could take advantage of the deal, and while we were at it, if we could change our reservation so that our last night was in the Winemaker's suite. They had absolutely no issue with this and changed the reservation as soon as we confirmed. They were very helpful even before we got to the hotel. We received emails with information about the hotel and with different excursions we could take advantage of while we were on the island.

We were absolutely blown away when we arrived at Ikies. The view from the Boatman studio was breathtaking. We got there just before sunset, so we immediately ordered some delicious Greek snacks and drank the wine that came with our room. We relaxed in the hot tub and enjoyed the views. For breakfast, you get a sheet and choose what you would like them to bring. We had meats, cheeses, bread, fruit, yogurt, orange juice, tea and chocolate drinks. Everyone that worked there was so attentive and the service was very great.

We moved to the Winemaker's suite for the last night. The room is very large and the bathroom is huge - two sinks, separate toilet, separate shower and bathtub, and a steam room! The balcony was very large, also with a hot tub. We definitely enjoyed this room as well, but the views weren't as good. The Winemaker's suite is down lower in the hotel and it felt less private than the Boatman's studio. Also, the hot tub wasn't right up against the edge of the balcony.

Next time we will stay in Boatman's, but I'm glad we also got to stay in the Winemaker's suite. If you like more space in your room and a larger (and much nicer) bathroom, Winemaker's might be for you! It seems like you can't really go wrong at this hotel! They have wifi, fantastic breakfast and snacks that you can order from 1pm-9pm, very helpful staff, great location, gorgeous views and more! This was such a romantic and relaxing 3 night stay on our honeymoon. Thank you!

Room Tip: Get a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vinhoverde7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted
Level Contributor
231 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We've visited IKIES twice and have booked for our next trip already. It is an absolute haven from the world and a real bolt hole away from life's stress. The staff are friendly and greet you by name. They are there when you need them but never intrude and are keen to do anything to help.

The views from the rooms are among the best on the islands and we think sunset here is better than anywhere else in Oia. Ikies really is perfection!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingPlatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing