We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ikies - A wonderful hotel in Oia, Santoroni”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We loved the ambience of this hotel. Rooms are very homey and very Greek and all have private balconies overlooking the caldera. Outstanding! The atmosphere was truly a wonderful Santorini experience. The staff, Luella, Maria and Katerina, were the most gracious and helpful hosts, and offered excellent advise. The amenities the hotel offers are quite generous. The white tablecloths and wonderful breakfasts topped it off to being an excellent overall experience. A local restaurant, Santorini Mou, recommended by the staff and within walking distance to he hotel is not to be missed. The owner who played the guitar, and two friends who played the mandolin and sang Greek folk songs throughout dinner was so enjoyable.
Thanks to Trip Advisor for the high recommendations on this hotel which led us to make reservations there. It was a fantastic stay. Thank you everyone at Ikies! Hopefully we will be back again someday. John & Carole from Chicago

Room Tip: Cook's House was exceptional in our opinion .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SugarGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear John and Carole,
Thank you for the kind words!
It is always a pleasure hosting great people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ikies fo a second time in May, this time bringing my mother and aunt with us for the visit. The hotel upgraded us to the House of the Antiquarian, which was phenomenal. There is a private bedroom and full bath downstairs and a private bedroom and full bath upstairs, along with two twin beds and a small kitchen. The service here is stellar -- just as outstanding as we remembered. The staff met our cab on arrival from the airport, organized excursions and transportation for us on the island, and catered to our every whim while there. We ordered room service once and the food was delicious, freshly prepared, and served promptly. And, finally, the views and location are just amazing. Stay here on Santorini -- you will be blown away.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get a room with a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you Michele for your kind words.
It is always a pleasure to welcome back our guests and to try our best to spoil them!
We are delighted you had another memorable stay at Ikies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed here last week in the House of Cook. Wow, the view from the front porch where our breakfast was served was worthy of a post card. We had a two-level room with plenty of space, small kitchen and two separate relaxing areas. Hotel was willing to take care of every need we had. Our hotel arranged private car that didn't show at the airport but they offered a full refund on our taxi or a free car during our stay. They obviously felt awful even though it wasn't a big deal to us. Was 5 min walk to mini-market store and 10 mins to shopping and restaurants. The hotel was very eager to please. Very clean, very accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review!
You are correct – we did feel pretty awful as the transfer to the hotel should normally be flawless.
Our guests’ first experience on Santorini should be a positive one as it is the beginning of their vacation on the island.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ikies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

From the very beginning, the staff at Ikies were very helpful and professional. They helped arrange a car, we were greeted with drinks (of our choosing beforehand), our room was ready early, and when our checkout wasn't until 6pm, they let us stay as late as we wanted--- in our room!

The room itself (Winemaker's Suite), was beautiful. The bedroom was very cave-like, quiet and cool (a plus, as Oia is very hot, even in May). The bathroom was phenomenol-- a steam room, jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. The room and bathroom were impeccably cleaned, lots of fresh towels throughout the day. We had a small mini-bar too.

Breakfast was great-- they served us champagne every morning (with fresh OJ-- to make our own mimosas). Also, included is cocktails every night on the beautiful terrace. The hot tub is set to luke warm during the day and hotter at night. If you wanted it hotter you could have them increase the temperature.

The hotel is at the far end of Oia (opposite end of the windmill). The sun sets over the town (the church) rather than the ocean, but the views are still spectacular. It is about a 10 minute walk (on a footpath, in the blistering sun) to the center of town. The good side of this is that the hotel is very quiet and tranquil and it is a pleasant walk.

Our room/terrace was so nice, we cancelled all of our plans to see anything else! Would definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a relaxing and romantic place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pc_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you pc_seattle for the wonderful review!
We are so glad you enjoyed the Winemaker’s House so much – it is ideal for a relaxing holiday taking in the sun and views.
A midday walk into town (in the blistering sun as you yourselves noticed!) can be hot but the views along the footpath and just above Oia’s cave houses is truly rewarding.
Great photos too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ikies in June of 2012. This was our last leg of our two week Santorini vacation. Ikies was absolutely fantastic. The staff was wonderful and courteous. They speak english and were always ready to assist when needed. When we arrived at Ikies it was not busy so we were lucky enough to get a tour of the many different rooms. Each room had it's own unique style and all were extremely clean. We stayed in Boatsman room. It had the most fantastic view of Oia and the caldera. Our first day at Ikies we ordered room service for lunch to be served on our patio. We had a fantastic fresh pizza and sandwich. They were both fresh and delicious. On our last evening in Oia we wanted to watch the sunset from room and decided to order room service again. The staff was so wonderful they even surprised us with a desert as a good-bye. Since we had a very early departure, we asked the staff if there was a possibility we could have something for breakfast in our room. We had to leave by 5:00 AM. The Ikies staff informed us that the kitchen would be closed but would deliver breakfast the evening before so we would have something for the morning. They delivered, fresh bread, cereal, fruit, meats, cheeses, milk and juice. We had so much that we made sandwiches to take on the plain. I can't say enough about our stay at Ikies except when we return to Oia we will stay at Ikies. Thank you to the staff for making our stay a dream come true.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CSheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is a place I will never forget! Santorini is amazing and this hotel too. The view is one of the most beautiful views I've ever seem. The hotel staff was really nice, everybody was helpful. Breakfast was great, try the Greek yogurt!!! We had the smaller room they got, but it was very comfortable and beautiful. I hope one day I can be back to this lovely place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romeriboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is how Santorini is meant to be experienced.....traditional cave-like houses, built along the cliff overlooking the sea, whitewashed with blue windows and doors typifying Greece. Picture postcard perfect. Arguably one of the best sunsets on the island. We were at the Captians which was wonderful, though never ended up using the outdoor jacuzzi. Ikeas is a must for couples who desire a Santorini experience to cherish for a lifetime. Though we were there a couple of years back, it's still a vivid and haunting memory. Will surely go back there someday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Avijit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#7 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £231 - £804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing