We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely honeymoon”
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We stayed at Ikies for our honeymoon in June 2008 on the basis of all the fantastic reviews on this site. We booked more than nine months in advance but the popularity of the hotel meant that we had to book two different rooms for our stay. We started in the Artisans room for the first three nights. Our first impressions of the room were that it was large and spacious and beautifully furnished. It also had a really lovely bathroom with the shower set back into the wall and mosaic tiles from floor to ceiling.

On arrival because we had booked the honeymoon package, we received a bottle of sparkling wine and were reminded that the current contents of the mini-bar were complimentary. Each morning we woke to a champagne breakfast served on the terrace and cocktails in the evening.

Outside was a beautiful terrace with a large hot-tub overlooking the coast-line. The only small down-side for the terrace was the fact that to get to it, you had to walk across the terrace for the adjacent room and vice versa for the room on the other side. This did not matter though and was not intrusive.

After three nights, we moved to the Boatman's. The room is smaller than the Artisans but also beautifully furnished. The terrace was differently laid out with a corner hot-tub with an amazing view. The terrace is probably one of the most private of the whole hotel apart from the Collectors which is directly above it.

The staff in the hotel, as has been mentioned numerous times before, are superb. On arrival we had a luggage disaster with dye from a bag in our suitcase leaking all over our clothes. The hotel staff didn't think twice about driving into Fira to take them to a dry cleaners which was above and beyond the call of duty.

The staff were also happy to recommend restaurants and trips and give you advice about your stay as well as helping organise trips and restaurant bookings. On seeing members of the staff on our excursions into Oia (a ten minute walk from the hotel) they were always friendly and greeted us by name.

Our only minor niggles about the hotel were to do with the fact that maintenance on the terraces/hot-tubs was carried out early each morning in both rooms (7/7.30ish) and woke us several times during our stay. Also, we didn't find the beds the most comfortable we've slept in as they are very soft but that's probably a matter of personal preference.

Overall though we had a fantastic time and we wouldn't hesitate to return if we got the opportunity.

  • Liked — The views and the service
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    35
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
547
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We have travelled extensively throughout Europe over the past few years and we found Ikies to be the best accomodation package we have ever stayed at.
We stayed in May 2008 for 4 nights after 7 weeks in north Italy and Greece and it was just wonderful. It was a relaxing end to a great holiday.
Santorini is every thing they say and more. Ikies is spectacularly positioned over looking the Caldera with views that belong on postcards.
The House of the Boatman was excellent with a private patio and hot tub to soak in while you watch the famous Santorini sunsets.
The breakfasts where both delicious and substantial and the service was 1st class. Great location, great accomodation and great service! you can't ask for more than that. The hotel Manager Elani and her staff where extremely helpful and friendly and they made the difference between a good stay and a great stay Thanks everyone, we shall return!
If you want a holiday you will remember for the rest of your life stay at Ikies you won't regret it!
David & Gail W
Cairns QLD
Australia

  • Liked — Everthing was perfect
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wallytheworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We spent two nights at Ikies in May of 2008. We spent the first night in the House of the Sailor, and the second night in the House of the Captain. Because of this, we got a little broader perspective on the property. We had an excellent time, and would certainly stay here again. The rooms have dozens of little touches and extras that make you feel more like the guest of a friend in a comfortable home than a customer at a hotel!

Praises

(1) The views are spectacular. Ikies is at the edge of the row of traditional houses in Oia, and is at a bend in the island. Therefore, you get a little better view of the village and the sunset than other hotels that are closer to or inside the village.

(2) The staff was exceptional. Everyone we encountered was extremely helpful, and the level of service was on-par with any luxury hotel that we've ever visited.

(3) Although the rooms were pricey (about 300+ euro), the hotel does not try to nickel-and-dime you once you're there. The contents of the refrigerator (including a bottle of Santorini wine) are free with your room. Also, the food delivered for breakfast and room service always exceeded our expectations.

Complaints

(1) The walk to town was a little longer than expected. But, we were less than 2 minutes away from a bus stop, so I guess we got the benefit of being a little farther away.

(2) We had some ants that got into our room. It might have been our fault, so I can't really complain about Ikies for that.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ahugh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

There have just been an endless stream of glowing and informative reviews on Ikies already...tat kinda made me wonder what else I can possibly add here that haven't already been mentioned. But me and my wife had such a memorable stay at Ikies, that we think the least we can do is to credit the folks at Ikies here so the world knows how wonderful they are.

Firstly, I'll have to thank Eleni, Loella, and Katerina for making our stay at Ikies such a memorable experience, and for making our wedding in Santorini such a breeze.

Yeah...we got married at Ikies...and we did it without engaging any wedding planners there. How we were able to accomplish such a feat? Well...alot of the credit has to go to Eleni! Right from the very beginning, more than a year before we headed to Santorini, Eleni had been helping us out with various information, advice and recommendations for flowers, photographers, cake etc. Any queries we have, any advice we need, if she didn't already have the answers, she'll find it out for us. One perfect example: I'd faxed documents necessary for my wedding registration in Oia...but need assurance from the wedding office there that everything had been received, and all documents are ok. I sent emails to the wedding department but failed to get a reply. I tried calling, but was greeted by answering machine tat speaks greek. As our departure loomed, our last nagging worry was whether all our documents are ok. We sent one email to Eleni seeking her help...and within 12hrs....we got the assurance we need.

They also have a wonderful knack of anticipating what we might possibly need, even before our arrival....and do constant checks with us to ensure our stay with them, from arrival to departure, goes without a hitch.

The list goes on....but i'll tink i'll juz end it with this. As awestruck as I was with the view at Ikies, as impressive as the Gardener and Collector was, as delicious as the breakfast was...and as cliche as this may sound...it is the people at Ikies that makes our stay in Santorini magical.

We can hardly say the same about the hotels we stayed in in Mykonos and Athens.

  • Liked — People, View, well maintained
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mikechng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

we returned yesterday from Ikies and are busy planning our next trip. The hotel and staff are exceptional, I knew this was a place that valued service by the quick response and helpfulness that was shown to me in my numerous questions and requests over the last 6 months from Eleni, Katerina and Louella, when we arrived Katerina and Nikos were waiting at the taxi for us and welcomed us with open arms and first names. We were led to our first room artisans which is exactly like the pictures and shown the amenties from the fridge that had several complimentary drinks in it including a small bottle of delicious wine, given worry beads to hang on our door for a do not disturb code, shown how to work the air con and advised of the selection of dvds available in reception. each room has a cd player, with a couple of cd's lovely walk in bathrooms with pwer showers, we were then given the breakfast menu and had lots of options to choose from along with times to have breakfast delivered we changed these a few times during the week with no problem at all. There is also a small room service menu for snacks, salads , cocktails etc, if you need something more filling there is a small supermarket within a 2 minute walk with bakery items or 3 proper bakeries in the village, we often walked into the village, got some goodies to go and ordered a greek salad at Ikies to go with it, there was a full range of pots/pans/crockery and cutlery to use in each apartment. The thing that makes this place so special apart from the view which is Magnificent is the little extras like candles being lit and placed on the terrace at night, the hot tub being cooled in the day and warmed at night, the twice daily room service and the fantastic warmth and hospitality of Eleni, Katerina, Louella, Nikos, Nikos, Stavros and the housekeeping team. I would not hesitate to recommend the Ikies for anyone who is in need of rest and recupperation, time out or celebrating anything special . This is a true gem of a find and anyone who gets to stay here is lucky. Any questions on Ikies, or the beautiful village of Oia please feel free to mail me. All the pictures i've attached were taken from our terrace so you get an idea of how hard it was to actually get dressed and leave the terrace, it was quite normal and acceptable to be in the complimentary dressing gown and slippers until mid afternoon

  • Liked — the privacy and view
  • Disliked — that i had to come home
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank traycie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2008

I stayed here for my honeymoon. It is in a good location on the far side of Oia. The rooms were very nice, although they are not my style. I prefer a more modern, fresh, clean look. We stayed in the Sailor's room, and it was nice, but I think some of the other rooms may be better. All in all, I would recommend this place, but I stayed at another hotel in Santorini that I would recommend more highly (Sun Rocks in Firostefani). I think that some of the reviews of this place are a little bit overstated. I only say that because I stayed here based on reading those reviews and Ikies did not live up to my expectations. But I don't want to be too harsh, Ikies is very nice, and I would definitely recommend it for those who want to stay in Oia only.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaizee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

This was the most amazing place that my husband and I have ever stayed. The staff was excellent, the people of Santorini were very friendly and the food was great. We would go again and again!

  • Liked — The privacy of the facility
  • Disliked — No onsite restaurant
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#5 of 56 in Oia
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing